We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evandale”

Ingleside Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Evandale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ingleside Bakery Cafe is a licensed cafe and bakery situated in a classically designed former Council Chamber built in 1867 in the beautiful Georgian village of Evandale. We produce our own cakes, pies, quiche and bread. The courtyard is a wonderful place to sit beside the famous wall of Pierre de Ronsard roses in spring and summer or beside the roaring log fire during the colder months. We have excellent Australian art for sale and we have a large range of Tasmanian wines, jams, olive oils etc. We provide free wifi and dogs are welcome to sit in the courtyard! The business has been under continuous ownership for the last 27 years. Open every day except public holidays.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Evandale”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely place for lunch. A visit to Evandale is a must do. Stroll around this picturesque village which has a unique character.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    49
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Called in for a late lunch with my partner and we are so glad we did! Service was very friendly and welcoming :) food was delicious! And the historic building was lovely!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaN120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Ingleside Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much, we are delighted to hear this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yummy brunch...”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stopped in here for a quick brunch before taking off for home and I'm glad we did. The coffee was good and the food tasty and fresh.We had the usual bacon and eggs which was delicious and filling! We had a wander around the cafe buying some last minute gifts before leaving Tasmania. We adore Evandale as it was where some of our ancestors came from. We visited the cafe/bakery a number of times whilst we were in the area and the food and service was great each time. Love the roses in the garden outside they were beautiful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScrapbytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Ingleside Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much, we are delighted you love both Ingleside and Evandale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bakery/cafe in lovely Evandale”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stopped in here for a quick lunch after looking around Evandale and I'm glad we did. The coffee was good and the food tasty and fresh. It was a bit cold and windy to sit outside so we enjoyed the lovely atmosphere of the old council chambers building complete with lovely high ceilings and fire place. But make sure you check out the wonderful wall of roses in the courtyard when they are in bloom - just magnificent and would be a wonderful place to sit when the weather is nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlyn_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Ingleside Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much, we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience ... we are just busy pruning the roses ready for the first flourish in a couple of months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice food, service mediocre, overpriced”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

ok food - some of it pretty standard bakery grub dressed up as gourmet by putting it on a plate beside some chutney, then multiplying standary cost by 250%. A nice fireplace in a pleasant building, which was great in winter, but the prices and surly staff, plus not very competent service let down the overall effect .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart_Ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Ingleside Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, sorry for the late response but we have only just become aware that someone had listed our business on Tripadvisor. I am very sad to hear that you felt our staff were surly, as this is most unusual and for this I apologise. We really do not try to dress our food up as "gourmet". It is all made on the premises in our wood fired oven using local ingredients. The pies are made primarily for takeway but sometimes they are chosen to be eaten in the cafe ... therefore we like to plate it up and serve it with relish, for this there are additional costs compared to putting it in a bag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingleside Bakery Cafe also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Perth (Tasmania), Tasmania
Longford, Tasmania
 

Been to Ingleside Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing