We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and excellent roast of the day.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eaglehawk Neck
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were a bit dubious about stopping here, having read some of the reviews. The view is superb and coffee very good. The roast of the day was excellent. Chicken Parma was fresh but sauce tasted like salsa? Service was friendly and fast.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank jennydunstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 401 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank JillBossinga
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Wow, what a location for a hotel. Yes it's old and dated but it's neat and tidy and the operators are pleasant and happy to see you.

It's located in the perfect location, 5 minutes from the blow hole, devils kitchen, Tasman arch, Doo Town and out the front is the pavement carved out of the sea that looks like tiles!

We had dinner at the restaurant and the $10 continental breakfast which was lovely looking out on the beautiful Pirates bay, really enjoyed our stay at the Lufra.

Room Tip: No fitness centre but hey it's holiday time;-) no kids activities but there is a beach right in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Perfect location right near the beach, beautiful views. We stayed in one of the self-contained studios and it was perfect. Little kitchenette with a washer/dryer and plenty of space to move. Good, hot shower (although the pressure does change regularly). Overall, a really pleasant stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Denver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the new units at the side of the hotel. They are so well equipped and decor is very nice, king bed was great. View is sensational as was the sunset. We found the staff to be exceptional, so friendly and welcoming. Dinner was the best on the Peninsula, Swiss chicken presentation was fabulous and the chocolate self saucing pudding to die for. Our waitress was also delightful. There is always a sunny spot to be found in the hotel or on the grounds and the staff encourage you to enjoy. We hope to be able to return again soon. I love this beautiful old hotel which I agree with their claim to have ' the best views in the world'.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent one night here after visiting Port Arthur for the day. I stayed in one of the newer studio units overlooking the water. The unit was clean, warm and comfortable. I enjoyed a delicious gluten free meal in the restaurant but unfortunately, there were no gluten free options for the continental breakfast. New management is in the process of introducing gf so I suggest you ring first or bring your own. At $10 for a continental breakfast, it seems good value. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrissyGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked for a 1 night stay, as Tasmanian locals in the area for a quick weekend getaway. The location is awesome - overlooking the sea, and a minutes walk to the most visited coastal rock formations in the state. Also perfectly placed to visit the Popular Port Arthur Historic site and all other natural attractions the area is famous for. We stayed in room 107, a ground floor apartment.
Our room was spotless, with good quality facilities which far exceeded our expectations, and a huge comfortable bed. The view (literally from our bed) was overlooking the sea, beach and historically significant Eagle Hawk Neck. Bliss. We watched an early morning storm come in - surfacing long after the breakfast service closed. No problem, the friendly staff were happy to make us some good old bacon and eggs, and which we had in the enormous and stylish dining room (again overlooking the sea).We lingered there over good coffee in front of a roaring fire.
The hotel is a big quite imposing post war modern building - with interesting detail. We ended up chatting to the General Manager (new I think) about the building's history and future. There is the new wing ( where we stayed) and progressive thoughtful renovations are planned to renew the (a bit tired, needing love, but charming) main hotel/reception area's..
I'm looking forward to next time I visit the hotel and can recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing, upstairs or down the views are great, or the renovated old rooms in the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglehawk Neck
9.7 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
590 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
336 reviews
10.3 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
248 reviews
11.0 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
90 reviews
11.8 mi away
Storm Bay Guest House
Storm Bay Guest House
#2 of 2 in White Beach
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lufra Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lufra Hotel and Apartments

Address: 380 Pirates Bay Dr | Port Arthur, Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania 7179, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Eaglehawk Neck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eaglehawk Neck
Price Range: $97 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lufra Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lufra Hotel and Apartments, at Eaglehawk Neck, at the gateway to Port Arthur and the Tasman Peninsula, is a quality character hotel that offers comfortable lodging and meals Our self contained modern 4 Star holiday apartments are your home away from home. We have 3.5 Star waterview rooms in the original hotel building limited budget accommodation for the price conscious traveler. The hotel overlooks spectacular 'Pirates Bay' where surfers are a common sight and whales are often seen on their annual migrations. We serve breakfast and cafe meals daily, dinner and specialty meals for all occasions fashioned from local and quality produce. The Lufra is the ideal place to stage your exploration of the Tasman Peninsula; heritage and convict past and the Port Arthur site your base for the World Class Three Capes Track breathtaking seaside cliff top and nature walks the world first Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park Tasman Island cruises as well as chocolates, whiskey, kayaking, tuna and game fishing Stay for a day or more to make the best out of your visit to this special part of Tasmania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lufra Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eaglehawk Neck
Eaglehawk Neck Best Western
Lufra Hotel And Apartments Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing