We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinning & view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eaglehawk Neck
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good dinning & view”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here just one night before an early morning boat trip. The view from the room was great, looking out into the Tasman Sea. The room was basic and small, but clean and well priced. An isolated village with not many alternatives, we had ate in the classic old style dinning room, full of a few bus loads of happy travelers. The meal good and plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    145
    74
    24
    35
See reviews for
76
196
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in one of the new two bedroom self contained apartments that are lined up facing the beach. Apartment was beautifully decked out with spa, gas heater, washing machine/dryer, modern kitchen and a lovely balcony to take in the superb views. Cannot fault the apartment or the location.

When we asked at reception where the local supermarket or general store was, we were advised there wasn't one and that the closest was half an hour away in Port Arthur or Nubeena; we were instead encouraged to eat at their restaurant and she proceeded to attempt to rattle off what might be on the menu tonight as it was "specials night".

We determined the locals at Eaglehawk Neck must buy their milk and bread from somewhere. We drove around and asked a local cafe who advised us there were two general stores; one at the Blowhole and the other 'back over the big hill'. The General Store was well stocked and we were able to purchased ingredients for dinner and to make use of our self contained unit.

Other than this attempt by management to get us to book a table at their restaurant, I would recommend the self contained units. The other part of the hotel looks very run down and suitable for a very budget conscious person; in comparison to the new units which are almost 5 star.

Room Tip: Choose a self contained apartment and steer clear of the older rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent two nights at this property and found the room with washer dryer convenient and the beds very comfortable. The location on the water was great. We came through on a bicycle trip as our original lodging burned in the recent fire. I felt as if we were imposing on the management. As a group we didn't feel welcomed. The restaurant food was mediocre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The views from our room were quite scenic and walks along the waters edge before dinner most enjoyable. The restaurant was a disappointment, with very average service and less than average food. The bottle of wine that we ordered was brought to the table opened,with no screw cap in sight and as we didn't know this particular wine, we wondered if it was really was what we had ordered! The bill was incorrect,and although rectified quickly would probably not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxylady154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaniko, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After spending the last few days camping it was nice to find a comfortable hotel room in the apartment wing of the hotel. The room had a clothes washer that was quickly put to use and a nice shower with plenty of hot water. There was an older section of the hotel that had cheaper rates but a few dollars more for the upgrade saves you from complaining afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Lufra is located conveniently to a lot of great sites, but apart from that it's not worth the $110/night we paid. When I approached the reception to check in, there were 2 women discussing something with their backs to me. One turned round and saw me. I smiled at her. She just looked at me, said nothing and only after she went behind the  reception desk did I realise she was in charge. The room we stayed in was in serious need of an update. The curtains were falling off the rails and there were cracks in the non-mixer sink. A thorough cleaning wouldn't go amiss either. Cobwebs were all over the outside of the window and there were used tissues poking out from under my bed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dekoboko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eaglehawk Neck hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Four out of five of our orders were forgotten by a staff member who wrote the order down, forgot the order, was reminded and then forgot again
!. Virtually no apology for the worst service I've experienced in my memory.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingstonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglehawk Neck
9.7 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
10.3 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
10.5 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
11.0 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lufra Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lufra Hotel and Apartments

Property: Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Address: 380 Pirates Bay Dr, Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania 7179, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Eaglehawk Neck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eaglehawk Neck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lufra Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lufra Hotel and Apartments, at Eaglehawk Neck on the gateway to thew Tasman Peninsula, is a quality character hotel that offers comfortable lodging and meals Our self contained modern 4 Star holiday apartments are your home away from home. We also have 3.5 Star waterview rooms in the original hotel building Budget accommodation for the price conscious traveler. The hotel overlooks spectacular 'Pirates Bay' where surfers are a common sight and whales are often seen on their annual migrations. We serve breakfast and cafe meals daily, dinner and specialty meals for all occasions fashioned from local and quality produce. The Lufra is the ideal place to stage your exploration of the Tasman Peninsula; heritage and convict past and the Port Arthur site breathtaking cliff top walks the world first Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park Tasman Island cruises as well as chocolates, whiskey, kayaking, tuna and game fishing Stay for a day or more to make the best out of your visit to this special part of Tasmania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lufra Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eaglehawk Neck
Eaglehawk Neck Best Western
Lufra Hotel And Apartments Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing