We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romantic getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lufra Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eaglehawk Neck
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Arthur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“romantic getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful views across the beach, comfortable room nicely appointed, dining room and food
great well priced. Hotel well situated for exploring local area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Jen285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    140
    70
    20
    34
See reviews for
69
189
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicheno, Tasmania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed on a 3 night deal in the new apartments. For us they were great value for money for a family of 4. Great views & facilities. Our friends stayed in Room 11 in the older part. This was 2 bedrooms, a lounge & huge bathroom with spa & for the $120 per night for a family of five this also offered great value & views plus it had a really cosy feel. The older part of the hotel is something to be appreciated with many original features & architecture. It would be no mean feat renovating this old beauty without destroying its originality. We had dinner in the restaurant, lucky enough to be a Wednesday with an $18 3 course meal. The food was excellent & also good value for money. Wi-fi worked good in the apartment (after a little persistence). Overall for what we paid we could not have asked for more. I must admit that we had our reservations due to the negative reviews. We also run an accommodation business & I agree with John that it would be nice if people took the time to write more positive reviews or addressed any issues at the time with the owners rather than waiting to bag them out in a public forum. Sometimes the customer is NOT always right!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mongosemporium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LufraKempton, Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you. It is nice to read comments regarding room 11 as this is the same room deemed unsuitable by a previopus guest. It is all a matter of perception and expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sometimes in Sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have now stayed here on a number of occasions, and the last was the best. The managers and staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. and the restaurant serves very nice meals. The Best Western apartments are very good value, with wonderful views to the south, and suitable for families.

The rooms in the hotel building are being progressively renovated - this time I stayed in 25, one of the renovated ones and although quite small, was very comfortable and very good value

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geotraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LufraKempton, Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Good to see a positive review. Most guests who enjoy their stay and/or who are pleased with the property do not consider it necessary to write a review. I seems that only the dissatisfied guests are keen to tell all of their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom unit. The beds in the second bedroom were not made up and the lights did not work, We reported the lights and were promised a lamp, but they forgot it. We had to try and make up the beds in the dark. No apology offered. The Unit was old, smelt and not well Maintained. Even curtains did not meet. The room should not have been rented, I would give this place a miss!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LufraKempton, Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
It's hard to win. The 2-bedroom unit has just been re-painted and re-configured and was only used on Saturday night due to no other 2-bedroom accommodation being available. Regretably the curtains had not yet been replaced. This was explained to the guest at check-in. During the renovations and re-positioning of light switches the lights to the second bedroom were not reconnected. We failed by not ensuring staff had placed a lamp in the second bedroom. No excuses. The double bottom bunk bed had sheets and pillows in place and blankets were folded at the end of the bed ready to be made-up. No excuses. We did apologise to the guest but what can you do after the event?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eaglehawk Neck hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I live in Hobart so we bought a 3-night deal at Lufra. Very relaxing and a great way to recharge batteries. The view from the Best Western apartments are excellent, one of the best views from any hotel in Australia. Warm and with kitchenette. The fire in the lounge area is cosy with a glass of wine. And the little bar is a great spot to have a beer with locals, that too has a nice warm wood-heater. Meals in the dining room are pleasant and good value. Also nearby is the Havealunch cafe in Pirates Bay - they have a great homemade hamburger with the lot. Also make atrip to Nubeena and have lunch on the water's edge at Lucky Ducks, gorgeous local produce and meals. We will come back, enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Apartments have great views but are more expensive then the hotel rooms which have similiar rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights the rooms are clean and tidy. The bathroom was old fashioned and the towels needed an update. The view was wonderful. The resturant food and service was excellent.
The rooms were warm and the water was hot.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strahan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Truth be told I can't even comment on the view because I arrived here in pitch black darkness on a random jaunt to visit Port Arthur after moving to the East Coast of Tassie to start a new job in a few days in a hotel in Hobart. My first impressions have been a very prompt and friendly welcome at 7pm, a fantastic room rate and a beautiful room. Sure, it's not huge but I'm here to sleep, eat and explore my new backyard. I can hear the surf, I had an amazing meal with awesome service and I am super cosy and bound to have a good nights sleep. Yes, there are certainly improvements to be made but aren't there always with any building with historic significance? I applaud whoever now owns the hotel for the efforts that have obviously been made to restore and improve the property. You are doing a great job and I will be extending my stay tomorrow. Can't wait to see the view in the morning!! Well done and keep it up.

Room Tip: Courtesy and being polite will always be to your avail whilst travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglehawk Neck
8.9 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.3 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
9.2 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
10.5 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.2 mi away
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lufra Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lufra Hotel and Apartments

Property: Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Address: 380 Pirates Bay Dr, Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania 7179, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Eaglehawk Neck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eaglehawk Neck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lufra Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lufra Hotel and Apartments, at Eaglehawk Neck on the gateway to thew Tasman Peninsula, is a quality character hotel that offers comfortable lodging and meals Our self contained modern 4 Star holiday apartments are your home away from home. We also have 3.5 Star waterview rooms in the original hotel building Budget accommodation for the price conscious traveler. The hotel overlooks spectacular 'Pirates Bay' where surfers are a common sight and whales are often seen on their annual migrations. We serve breakfast and cafe meals daily, dinner and specialty meals for all occasions fashioned from local and quality produce. The Lufra is the ideal place to stage your exploration of the Tasman Peninsula; heritage and convict past and the Port Arthur site breathtaking cliff top walks the world first Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park Tasman Island cruises as well as chocolates, whiskey, kayaking, tuna and game fishing Stay for a day or more to make the best out of your visit to this special part of Tasmania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lufra Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eaglehawk Neck
Eaglehawk Neck Best Western
Lufra Hotel And Apartments Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing