We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated”
Review of DOO-Lishus

DOO-Lishus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Best fish and chips in Tasmania, no worries.Homemade scallop, rabbit, venison pies and a berry dream to die for. DEELISCIOUSowned and operated by Phil and Bev Millhouse 0437469412
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We tried the fish and chips from this place after having it highly recommended to us by the Tasman Island cruise company employees. I found the fish, scallops and calamari dry and too salty for my liking. The seafood was tasteless and overpowered by the crumbed coating that was dry and salty. The chips were the same standard as most places - nothing exceptional. However one of our party had the rabbit pie and he said it was the best he'd ever had. The ice cream with berries was really tasty too. My recommendation is if you happen to be close by give them a try but don't bother driving long distances out of your way for this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireBear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    68
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the return trip”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Doo-lishus was recommended to us by our guide from Tasnan Peninsula Eco Cruise. After a wet cold cruise we were really pleased we made the return trip to Eaglehawk Neck. Service was very fast and with a smile. The food was fresh, delicious and plentiful, each served in a large paper cone that made it very easy for us to "picnic" in the car with 3 children. A smaller kids serve would be a good idea.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rayjane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-rated”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Fish was dry, unnamed, and certainly not fresh - but the seagulls liked it. Doo-lishus came highly recommended by locals who when put under scrutiny had never been. We were very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Affordable and beautifully fresh”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Doo-Lishus served up the freshest and best fish, scallops and squid that we have had in Tassie. It was recommended by the owner of our holiday accommodation for freshness, flavour and value for money - he was right on all counts, just drive up to the van in Doo town (check out the variety of Doos in the house names), order and within minutes you have your meal served in a paper cone, fabulous. Located beside the Blow Hole you can take a scenic walk whilst eating or just sit and take in the lovely views and bird life.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_LAW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You gotta try this”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I shared a Berry Dream, mixed berries and cream. Should have got one each as it was delicious. Fantastic Value

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DOO-Lishus also viewed

Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania
Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania
 
Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania
 
Port Arthur, Tasmania
 

Been to DOO-Lishus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing