We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, close to gorgeous beach”
Review of Smugglers Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smugglers Rest
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dover
Reviewed April 14, 2013

You couldn't get a accommodation much closer to a gorgeous, long, beautiful beach such as Smugglers Rest at Dover (Tas). The service is so friendly, always a hello, how are you? and the rooms are large, clean, modern but homely too. Plenty of room for one person or a family or group of friends. Excellent playground in easy walking distance. And the view is priceless! So quiet too, I went for a relaxed 'get away from life' type brief holiday and it was perfect.

Room Tip: The front rooms would have a gorgeous view of the bay. The back garden view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda R, Manager at Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi Sally,

We are so glad you had a pleasant and restful stay at Smugglers. We do really appreciate the feed back, it encourages us to keep up our goal of 100% customer satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit. Wishing you all the best,
Glenda and Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 87 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

A lovely location overlooking the water. Unit has kitchenette with full stove, cutlery, crockery and microwave, small fridge - well appointed, clean and tidy. Bathroom has shower and hair dryer. There is a shared laundry, bikes and golf clubs available free of charge. The local golf club charges 5AUD for a game. IGA supermarket is a short drive away; honour system book exchange, takeaway short order cafe, RSL, pub, and restaurant.
Can walk to the beach from the unit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda R, Manager at Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to review your stay at Smugglers Rest, we really appreciate it. So glad your stay was pleasant and comfortable, We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We first stayed here a couple of years ago as an adult family group. We chose it for it's affordability and relative proximity to many bushwalks and attractions we wanted to visit. The lovely bayside location was a bonus, and this time we made the most of it, exploring the bayside walking path and beaches, visiting the jetty for fishing and wonderful opportunities for sunset photography of spectacular Adamsons Peak.

As on our first visit, we found the family unit immaculate, with everything essential in perfect working order, and two cosy new sofas with cushions and rugs to snuggle into if the weather had changed for the worse. Best of all the windows were open, sunshine coming through, and the unit smelled fresh, natural and clean, an attribute which so many accommodation places fail to achieve.

There is parking close to the door, a spacious backyard and a well-tended seaside garden. My husband loves the big palm tree, and the seating on the deck from where it's easy to chat with the locals walking their dogs, and others heading for the nearby wharf or beach.

Glenda was in touch by phone with us even though not on site when we arrived, so there was no problem with access and keys. She's a pleasant and helpful lady, an asset to the hospitality industry. The cleaning of the unit seems to be done by one of those old-fashioned, houseproud country folk, definitely a person who takes pride in doing a good job.

The bathroom is spacious and well separated from the living/sleeping areas to allow privacy for a mixed group. The shower is easy to adjust and gushes gently, not sucking the shower curtain around one's legs. It's high sides make it a little awkward to access for arthritic people; though the proper handrail beside it is reassuring.

The other little quibble I have is about the oversized bed in the main bedroom. Need to roll over twice to find one's mate in it, and a toe-stubbing exercise to pass by the wardrobe on exiting the far side, though very comfy and well supplied with bedding.

The two adult males who shared the other room (with bunk and two single beds) found them comfortable and slept well, as we did on our previous visit.

We look forward to returning to enjoy it again at the next opportunity.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front of the building have sliding glass doors to let in the sun and sea air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda R, Manager at Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

It certainly is a pleasure to have guests that appreciate our efforts to provide exceptionally comfortable and pleasant accommodation. Our aim is to make your holiday a memorable one. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you next time you visit beautiful Dover.

Glenda and Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice self contained room for the price of a normal motel room, receptionist was nice and helpful in finding groceries. Door to room was a patio door with just the normal lock, didn't feel very secure, but in such a small tourist town probably not a worry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda R, Manager at Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are so glad that your stay was comfortable. We hope you will be able to find time to come and see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited Smugglers Rest with 3 other couples. All the units were very clean, and spacious. We were able to use the BBQ facilities and outdoor setting in the garden, and on the day rain threatened, were encouraged to move it all undercover so we could continue to enjoy it. The views of the beach and ease of access were excellent. It was only a short drive to Duckhole Lake, which I would rate as one of the best short walks I have done. Glenda even brought us a rose from her garden and wished us a happy anniversary - which we'd mentioned some time earlier. Friendly, helpful, spacious, very clean...what more could we want?

Room Tip: The two bedroom and family apartments have water views, the studio apartments have garden views. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana_WHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda R, Manager at Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments Di, it certainly was a pleasure to have you and your group here. We are so glad your experience was pleasant and relaxing. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went touring in Tassie in January and despite bushfires found to still be a great destination. Highlight was Smugglers Rest in the exquisite old fishing port, Dover, on the Huon Trail south of Hobart.

Supurb accommodation including free wi fi at remarkably affordable prices. We could have lived in this appartment for the rest of our lives.

Allen M

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda R, Manager at Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Smugglers Rest. We take a great amount of pride in seeing that our guests are accommodated in comfortable and serene surroundings, and have everything they could need for a relaxing and memorable holiday. Please come and see us again soon.

Glenda and Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a great place to stay in a very quiet and beautiful location. Smugglers Rest overlooks the beautiful bay of Port Esperance which has a nice little beach for the kids. We were lucky to get in at short notice during the Christmas holidays with only a family apartment available. Although lacking the big window bay frontage of the more sought after 2 bedroom apartments, it still had a great view of the bay through the lounge window that we were very happy with. The rooms were spacious and impeccably clean with a full kitchen, Great garden to relax in or sit on the patio and enjoy the serene views of the bay, with small yachts and fishermen ( and women) enjoying this idyllic bay dotted with small islands. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and we would recommend Smugglers Rest to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450TonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda R, Manager at Smugglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

What a fabulous review! thank you so much for your observations and compliments, we certainly do go out of our way to make sure everything is as pleasant and enjoyable for our guests as possible. You taking the time to let us know that you appreciate our efforts, means so much.
We do hope we see you again in the future.

Glenda and Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
11.1 mi away
Hotel Bruny
Hotel Bruny
#1 of 4 in Bruny Island
263 reviews
15.5 mi away
43 Degrees Bruny Island
43 Degrees Bruny Island
#1 of 2 in Adventure Bay
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Park
Captain Cook Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Adventure Bay
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashdowns of Dover Boutique B&B
16.6 mi away
Adventure Bay Retreat
Adventure Bay Retreat
#2 of 10 in Bruny Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Rest

Address: 56 Station Rd, Dover, Tasmania 7117, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Dover
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $95 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Rest is the perfect base for the Huon Valley and all of its activities. We offer spacious, clean & affordable self-contained holiday apartments overlooking the three islands, bays and pristine beaches of Dover Tasmania. Each apartment is fully equipped with kitchen and facilities, heating & electric blankets, TV & DVD player with movies, communal laundry. Bikes, fishing rods all FREE TO USE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Smugglers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Rest Dover, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing