We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful six days”
Review of Driftwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Driftwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I, Victorians on a month's holiday in Tasmania, came to Dover about half way through our time away. We were offered a choice of accommodation, but on our first look at the Beach House, decided that it was for us. A magnificent view across the water, two generous bedrooms, a modern bathroom, a well-equipped kitchen, a brand-new barbecue and even a spa (which we didn't use). Two highlights - a potbellied wood-fired heater, and a welcoming gift of a loaf of delicious bread. The hostess, Rachel, was extremely welcoming and helpful, as was her replacement Marie when Rachel was away in the last couple of days of our stay. Roadworks, referred to in another review, did make access a little more difficult, but this is hardly Driftwood's fault, and all the other excellent aspects of our stay far more than compensated. If we were to return to that part of Tasmania, we would definitely want to stay at Beach House.

Room Tip: Views across the water are fabulous
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi Barrie B, good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write us a review. You'll be happy to know that the roadworks are all finished now, and we have a lovely new road in front, completing our superb outlook over the bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Over and above our expectations! We stayed at 'Esperance Landing' a beautifully situated, well presented, carefully put together home away from home. What we loved most was how child friendly this property was. We wanted something a little more luxurious for a family getaway but had difficulty finding somewhere that would accommodate 2 young children. Esperance landing was perfect, I felt our children were catered for (books,games,DVDs, cutlery etc, even a swig set outside!) which made it so welcoming. And then at the end of the day when the kids were in bed we could sit back in the hot tub and
relax! One morning we even spotted from the balcony a group of dolphins playing in the water. Just paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi Tarm1, Thank you for the lovely review- Esperance Landing certainly is a special spot- One of those few places where complete luxury is combined with a child friendly property! Hope we see you back in the Far South again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Old and out dated. Checked in to a studio waterfront apartment, overlooking roadworks, beds weren't even made correctly.
Told receptionist it wasn't what we were expecting, she said she wouldn't refund because she had been turning people away all day for that room... Yet the big sign out the front said Vacancy and so did her website.. Hmmm. She had a bad attitude and was rude. As a business owner myself i know it's all about customer service and trying to talk to this receptionist was like banging your head on a brick wall. She didn't listen and she couldn't seem to comprehend that the studio water front apartments weren't that amazing as she seems to feel they are. Don't stay here, save your money. Keep driving and find somewhere that isn't ripping you off and is properly run.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the driftwood cottages. They say waterfront but there is a road in between you and...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your response- it was certainly expected! We rarely have an unsatisfied guest so when we do it is easily remembered. It was clear that you were not happy that we did not offer you a full refund, after checking in to your studio and enjoying our facilities for an hour. Our policy is first and foremost to ensure complete guest satisfaction, and I am sorry that we did not meet your needs on this occasion. You are quite right- customer service is paramount and as you will see from the many other reviews we do this very well. Occasionally we are presented with a customer who is simply unpleasable despite our best efforts! Our studio apartments are on Bay View Road, about 30 metres from the water and looking straight out over Dover’s beautiful bay. Our website indicates this and our images are very true to life- we take pride in ensuring that we deliver what we promise. I certainly must apologise to several of our recent guests for the roadworks that have been taking place- on certain weekdays we have suffered some disruption due to the upgrade of Bay View Road, but this almost complete now and we are excited about the new road and footpaths that have been installed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed three nights and the studio apartment was very comfortable. The heated floor was a bonus. We had everything we needed and the view over the bay was a delight. Perhaps a bit pricey but Tassie can be like that. We loved exploring this part of Tassie, did the Tahune Airwalk, Hartz NP and Cockle Creek. This area is another Tassie gem. Dinner at the DoverRSL/Bowling Club was very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi KI10, thank you for taking the time post a review, and very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do think we have the best of Tassie in the Far South!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The 4 of us stayed in Tides Reach for 3 nights in February. We loved the absolute waterfront position, plus, the peace and quiet, a truly calming holiday. The house is well set up for 2 couples and is very clean and modern. There is plenty to see in the far south, and we would especially recommend a trip to Bruny Island, with Bruny Island Cruises. A priceless experience.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Maree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi Maree, thank you for your lovely review- Tides Reach is certainly a special spot- there are not too many places where the sandy beaches are right at your doorstep! We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Tides Reach again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just stopped for one night in Dover and found this place. Very friendly receptionist. Nice waterfront studio cottage. Spacious, clean, balcony, comfortable, good kitchenette. And being winter the underfloor heating was lovely. We also had an extra electrical heater in case it was needed. The handcrafted soap was a very nice touch.
Off street parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I planned a suprise getaway weekend for my partner for his birthday and originally selected Driftwood Cottages based on its location. There are a number of activities available in the far south to do. We had a wonderful time doing the Cockle Creek walk and the Ida Bay train. The cottage was in a superb location. Private beach and private location. We sat on the deck for hours, drinking wine, eating nibbles and watching the sun set over the beach that was 50 metres away from the back door. The cottage had everything you needed and was very modern. We cooked ourselves dinner and ate in, but there are places to also eat out in the area. There is a second bedroom so would also be fun to get away with another couple.
Highly recommend and would visit again, although not on the cheap side.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica10mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
79 reviews
23.1 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
207 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Bruny
Hotel Bruny
#1 of 4 in Bruny Island
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tranquil Point Retreat
Tranquil Point Retreat
#1 of 1 in Deep Bay
11 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Peninsula Experience
16.7 mi away
Adventure Bay Retreat
Adventure Bay Retreat
#2 of 9 in Bruny Island
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Cottages

Address: Bay View Road, Dover, Tasmania 7117, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Dover
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range: $120 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Driftwood Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Waterfront accommodation in Tasmania's beautiful far South. All fully self-contained, with spectacular water views, choose from cozy studios with under floor heating to luxury cottages with jacuzzi and wood fire. Driftwood is central to the Huon Valley and southern regions in Tasmania, and makes the perfect base to explore the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Driftwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Cottages Dover, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing