We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic getaway!”
Review of Driftwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great romantic getaway!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We loved our stay at the Beach House! It was a pleasant surprise to walk into a warm house with the fire already stoked and the smell of warm, freshly baked bread. What a nice touch!

This was the perfect place to celebrate a romantic birthday getaway from town. Having a spa under the stars with a glass of red was amazing!

Will definitely look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieTiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
85
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Impressed by the cleanliness of the unit and friendly check in.
Great location and within walking distance of a restaurant and RSL club for meals.
Breakfast hamper was welcome and more than sufficient for 2 people.
Will certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Studio units at the water front are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What an absolute gem of a place. So private, the perfect hideaway for a couple trying to get away from it all. Just idyllic. The little touches meant a lot. Cd's, movies, candles, cards, games. We had the most wonderful time away from it all and can't wait to return .Swans, dolphins, ducks, geese. too beautiful. A little bit of unexpected luxury. We stayed at Tides Reach which is separate from the cottages and it was worth the bit extra for the privacy and seclusion. Perfect!!!

Room Tip: Stay at Tides Reach. So beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

These cottages are beautifully sited overlooking the water. The decor is a bit dated and the bed (one of our four critical "must pass" criteria for a good stay) was too hard. Check in was quick and friendly and check out was seamless.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bloke48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
glad you enjoyed our lovely location and sorry that you found the bed a little hard! Not sure which cottage you stayed in- the beds in our studios are all new and 4 star quality. We are continually upgrading our cottages so I trust that when you return to Driftwood you will enjoy our updated furnishings...and the same wonderful views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I booked this accommodation following the reviews here on tripadvisor. We spent 2 nights in the studio room overlooking the water, beautiful views.
The unserviced room was very clean and tidy, a good size room and bathroom.
The furbishings gave me the feel of a regional motor inn, with a laminate picture and exposed brick with tongue and groove wall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Esperance Landing (at Brooks Bay) with friends and what a lovely house this is. This is a new house (only 6 months old) overlooking the Huon Channel to the north of Dover. The facilities and fixtures in this house are first rate, full sized LCD screen in the lounge room and all the mod-cons (even a stocked wine fridge). The beds are so comfortable and as it is very quiet, it is so easy to have a sleep-in. But - there are plenty of reasons to get up, with the lovely views and to relax in the nice hot spa.

As the place is new, the landscaping is not yet finished and it can get a bit muddy getting to the house (and you wouldn't want to dirty the nice wooden floors), however this was only a minor irritation which is is easily overshadowed by the beauty of the house and the location.

This is a great house to escape from it all, there is erratic and very limited Telstra coverage which helps with escaping - there is Optus Coverage and the house does have internet (not cheap), so why not just enjoy the peace and tranquility. Although it is a waterfront location, there is no direct access to the water on the property - 25 meters of thick impenetrable scrub separates you from the water, but a short walk takes you to Brooks Bay where you can dangle your feet in the water.

The house is about 20 minutes from shops and restaurants (Dover) and if traveling at night, beware of the suicidal wildlife.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caggsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Esperance Landing...the landscaping is almost complete now! Good access to the watefront is on the agenda...but in the meantime we hope the gorgeous views over the Huon will suffice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Blackwood Waterfront Studio accommodation and it was perfect! The view over Esperance Bay was exactly as shown on the website. The loan of the fishing rod meant that my partner finally caught some fish! Accommodation clean and comfortable. Dover is simply beautiful and I highly recommend Driftwood Cottages. Rachel was very professional and also very friendly and helpful. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The 4 Waterfront Cottages have a direct view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annette_melb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and that you caught some fish...very plentiful in our bay! Hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
79 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Bruny
Hotel Bruny
#1 of 4 in Bruny Island
234 reviews
23.1 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Peninsula Experience
0.4 mi away
Ashdowns of Dover Boutique B&B
7.8 mi away
Southern Forest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Cottages

Property: Driftwood Cottages
Address: Bay View Road, Dover, Tasmania 7117, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Dover
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Driftwood Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Waterfront accommodation in Tasmania's beautiful far South. All fully self-contained, with spectacular water views, choose from cozy studios with under floor heating to luxury cottages with jacuzzi and wood fire. Driftwood is central to the Huon Valley and southern regions in Tasmania, and makes the perfect base to explore the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Driftwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Cottages Dover, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing