We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and lovely service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essence - CLOSED

Essence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Tasmania
Level Contributor
296 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Essence restaurant is one os those unassuming places on the outside and so elegant on the inside. One of the towns original houses in bygone days the rooms have been turned into elegant dining rooms and relaxing bar. The menu and wine list are quality and the food is delicious. This is an ideal dining location for romantics or a great spot for a business dinner to impress.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonrock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service good but food lacked polish.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We went here as we were looking for a find dining restaurant.

It was a cold night and though they had a fire it wasn't lit.

My husband and I had entree and main. His quail was very nice and fillet steak cooked to his liking.

My cheese souffle was ok and risotto unedible. Having said that the staff were very friendly and did not charge for risotto.

All in all staff were the highlight. Food lacked polish if was pitched as fine dining.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmRaidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unfortunately the only fine dining restaurant in Devonport. Overpriced. Poor service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Came here to treat my partner who had travelled from Sydney. Our meals were nice , however we waited considerable time 45mins - 1 hour between courses for them to arrive. This is considering their were only 6 other people in the restaurant.
We also were looking forward to ordering cocktails at Essence as the owner has been known and awarded for his skills for his cocktails.
Unfortunately our drinks were forgotten, and when we reminded him 1 hour after the conclusion of our meal, he delivered both drinks complimentary. However the drinks themselves were not anything to rave about.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DimityVanderpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“why have we waited so long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

As a local I can not believe I havent tried this place before.It's Well hidden, and not locally advertised,but this has to be the best restuarant in Devonport and a must try for everybody.

The appearance and setting is beautiful,warm and welcominmg. From the period features, high ceilings and warm log fire to the Friendly and very helpful staff, always making sure you are assisted and comfortable at all times.

A good selection of local wines complimented the menu of in season ingredients and stands head and shoulders above any other restuarant in Devonport.......and we have tried them all.

The flavours,variety, origianality and presentation of the dishes we had were well worth the money

We paid for a 3 course meal $110 for the both of us (excluding wine) and thought it was great vaule for money.


Good sized portions for a restuarant of this type and didnt leave feeling hungry

Welldone to Essence, cant wait to come back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A great restaurant in Devonport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

A local told me about this restaurant. I think I would have had difficulty finding it on my own.

The restaurant has a great ambience, in a converted old house with fireplaces and high ceilings. The service was very good - friendly and attentive, but not stuffy or overwhelming. they had a good selection of Tasmanian wines.

I had chicken and my friend had duck. Both were very good. We shared as truly delicious panna cotta for dessert.

This restaurant is surely a hidden gem of Devonport.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence also viewed

Devonport, Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania
 
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing