We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CASTAGNI Bed & Breakfast (Port Sorell) very highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castagni Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Devonport B&B and Inns
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
“CASTAGNI Bed & Breakfast (Port Sorell) very highly recommended”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our two night stay at Castagni could not have been any better! Spacious comfortable bedroom and en suite, super friendly hosts, fantastic breakfasts, wonderful common areas and facilities complete with a relaxing outlook over a dinki-di bush garden. Plenty of wallabies on show and a good variety of birds. Port Sorell itself has the scenic Rubicon River with coastal drive/walk, many picnic & BBQ spots, and more great birds on view. Very highly recommended by Tony & Fay Feb 2014.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Castagni lives up to all the great reviews. Simple but nicely decorated rooms, good shower and bed and lovely wallaby filled grounds are a good start, but the real cream on the homemade cake comes in the form of the hosts, Rosemary and David, who seem to know exactly how to strike the right balance between friendly and unobtrusive. Rosemary's three course dinner is another bonus; inexpensive and unashamedly home cooking, it was well cooked and wholesome.
Last time we travelled on the Spirit, we stayed in a junky hotel to be on site at the right time. Castagni is 20 minutes away in travel, but a world away in terms of warmth and welcome.
Probably the best decision of our Tassie tour.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were travelling by bicycle, Rosemary was a gracious host who provided an excellent three course meal at a very reasonable price. We loved the lounge with the massage chair, the lovely room and the breakfast provided. The outlook was amazing and the gardens charming. An excellent experience and highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I tend to provide long reviews... If you want a short version, here it is:

Stay here, you won't regret it as the place is phenomenal, the owners are super friendly, helpful and charming and the quality of your sleep is amazing.

Now... a longer version... I am not exaggerating when I say Castagni has been one of the best places we have stayed in so far and here are the reasons:

- The owners (David and Rosemary) are incredibly kind and friendly. They share their experience and give you suggestions of where to go.
- The rooms are top-notch. We got the opportunity to look at two of the rooms and both where amazing.
- The breakfast are fresh, good portions, tasty and home made.
- Everything is clean and spotless.
- The gardens are very appealing, full of flowers and plants; inducing you into a state of permanent relaxation.
- Is incredibly quiet, great for a good night of sleep.
- It has a cosy and family atmosphere. I (personally) felt like visiting my grandparents that want to spoil you.
- There are plenty wallabies, birds and other type of animals around the place, so be careful when driving into the area.
- Is very well located; at walking distance from Hawley Beach, 10 minutes from Devonport (or the Penguins if you want to go and take a look), or 20 minutes from Narawntapu National Park (excellent place to watch wild wombats, lots of different birds, echidnas and more wallabies... or do one of the multiple short/day long walks).
- Last but not least... is very affordable.

I could go on... but the best thing I can tell you is to experience it yourself. I am pretty sure my partner and I will stay with them every time we will be in Tasmania (and we liked it a lot).

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic. We got one of the back with view to the garden and it was beautiful to wake u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodrigoelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

David & Rosemary very welcoming & friendly. Arrived late eve on a cold night to a cosy room, electric blankets on & a hot drink in front of a fire. The bed was comfy, plenty of choice for breakfast, huge bathroom, would recommend

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allenent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Came here with my partner after coming off the spirit of Tasmania, only a short ride and easy to find. Cannot fault it at all, lovely owners, great property, reasonable price and excellent breakfast! Will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penola, SA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

David and Rosemary are so friendly. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. Highly recommend if you are in the area. Very large and comfortable common room. Abundant wildlife, had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pharmer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
8.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
115 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
95 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Formby Hotel
Formby Hotel
#7 of 14 in Devonport
73 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Port Masters Lodgings
The Port Masters Lodgings
#6 of 14 in Devonport
31 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castagni Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castagni Bed and Breakfast

Property: Castagni Bed and Breakfast
Address: 30 Arthur Street | Shearwater, Devonport, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castagni B&B is a beautiful large family home providing warm and friendly hospitality to visitors of this great area of Tasmania making this the ideal place for a break away from the rat race. Relax on the verandas or enjoy a barbecue in the spacious cottage style gardens. Explore our five acres of gardens and natural bushland which boasts a large variety of native plants, birds and wild life which we encourage to our land where they can safely live and breed. Guests can enjoy a generous continental breakfast served in an upstairs lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castagni Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castagni Bed And Breakfast Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing