We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accom for reasonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castagni Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Devonport B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good accom for reasonable price.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

David & Rosemary very welcoming & friendly. Arrived late eve on a cold night to a cosy room, electric blankets on & a hot drink in front of a fire. The bed was comfy, plenty of choice for breakfast, huge bathroom, would recommend

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allenent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Came here with my partner after coming off the spirit of Tasmania, only a short ride and easy to find. Cannot fault it at all, lovely owners, great property, reasonable price and excellent breakfast! Will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penola, SA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

David and Rosemary are so friendly. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. Highly recommend if you are in the area. Very large and comfortable common room. Abundant wildlife, had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pharmer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hosts were extremely friendly and went out of their way to accomodate me. The facilities were excellent allowing for some great 'quiet time' in the afternoon, wildlife viewing and a very comfortable room, beautifully appointed. A great bit of luxury to end my trip to Tassie. Thank you so much for dinner and conversation and welcoming me into your home. I'll be sure to visit again on my next trip to Tassie.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice stay with Rosemary and David. They were very gracious about having several couples check in late (Spirit of Tasmania late into Devonport). Their breakfast was simple but was lovely with the addition of yogurt and stewed fruit. The wildlife and flowers that surround their property is the highlight of the stay. Wish we could have hung out in the garden to enjoy a bit longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during Xmas 2012, had a fantastic time, Rosemary & David were wonderful. Very helpful about the surrounding area and what places of interest were close. The most amazing were the Potteroo's and Wallibies that were in reaching distance from the back door. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have wished for better hosts, Rosemary and David deserve a gold star.

We can recommend having dinner here, far superior to the Country Club down the road and half the price, also get to see the local wildlife, we especially enjoyed watching the poteroos.

Breakfasts were great and thank you Rosemary and David, for sharing the last of your Greengages with us!!

The amenities provided cater for all tastes, attention to detail is excellent and the bed was very comfortable.

We highly recommend Castagni and will have no hesitation on returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
8.7 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
115 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
95 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Formby Hotel
Formby Hotel
#7 of 14 in Devonport
73 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Port Masters Lodgings
The Port Masters Lodgings
#6 of 14 in Devonport
31 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castagni Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castagni Bed and Breakfast

Property: Castagni Bed and Breakfast
Address: 30 Arthur Street | Shearwater, Devonport, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castagni B&B is a beautiful large family home providing warm and friendly hospitality to visitors of this great area of Tasmania making this the ideal place for a break away from the rat race. Relax on the verandas or enjoy a barbecue in the spacious cottage style gardens. Explore our five acres of gardens and natural bushland which boasts a large variety of native plants, birds and wild life which we encourage to our land where they can safely live and breed. Guests can enjoy a generous continental breakfast served in an upstairs lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castagni Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castagni Bed And Breakfast Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing