We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard, uninspiring food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Food is boring, uninspiring and not worth the money you pay. We went during the school holidays to take advantage of the kids dinner special and play area - this is about the only worthwhile reason for going. I would rate the children's $2 meals better than my $24 chicken filo with veg - Cold, dry, creamy potato, peas, corn and carrots...very basic.
Service depends on who you get, long term employees show little or no interest.
I had a sponsorship discount voucher for this venue, which no-one knew nothing about and was very reluctant to honour (for the second time ?)...not good enough, too many second chances.
Don't bother wasting your money.
Totally agree with traveldreamer1979.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 252Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We apologise if you felt your meal was not to an acceptable standard. In regards to the staff and voucher issues we would be happy to discuss if you like to call to the hotel on a weekday and ask to speak to the Manager - Vanessa.
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Argosy is located on the main road running to the ferry terminal and about 2kms from the terminal itself. Very convenient if you have to catch the morning ferry (which opens check-in at 6.30 a.m.) or if getting off the ferry at night from Devonport.
Rooms and carpets are dated, in need of a renovation (as noted by other travellers and also acknowledged by the management on this site), but rooms were large and the beds comfortable. It is perfectly okay for one night, and serves the purpose well.
Didn't have breakfast, but there seemed to be a cheap offer for cooked brekkie although the picture on the menu showed it may be inadequate.
Overall, good value, large rooms, and you cannot complain if you're only staying here for one night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you Yasiru for your review of the Argosy Motor Inn. We are in an excellent location for passengers on the Spirit of Tasmania Ferry.
Your accommodation was in one of our Executive rooms and they are a larger size. The refurbishment of our Executive rooms is on our radar, so hopefully next time you visit our renovation will be complete.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and had everything we needed and the staff were friendly. Our only complaint was with the misleading breakfast menu and prices. Outside the sign says breakfast from $7.95. When you get to the table there is a special menu card with the price for a cooked breakfast $8.95. We assumed wrongly that a cooked breakfast would be the more expensive option...well apparently we should have turned one of the two cards over to see that a continental breakfast is $11. You can get better value on the Spirit of Tasmania or maccas.....so wait.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank elliehey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We apologise if there was some confusion over our breakfast menu. We do promote a special breakfast offer to TT Line passengers and the passing traffic. The $7.95 offer is a 'set plate' breakfast offer. Our Continental Breakfast is an unlimited buffet, and therefore more expensive at $11 per head.
Our staff would have been happy to explain the different offers.
thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sure the original early 80s decor, carpet, furniture etc might be looking dated, but does it really make that much difference to your comfort? Quite reasonable value for the price. Trucks were noisy during the day, but not during sleeping hours (NB might depend on timing of shipping movements). Bed fairly firm, which I didn't mind. Bathroom could use a radiant heater on a cold winter's morning, though the low ceiling in there might be the reason it doesn't have one. Split system a/c was quite effective in keeping the main room at a comfortable temperature.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms behind bistro (i.e. on eastern side, furthest from road) if traffic noise is likely to...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duffer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at The Argosy. All our rooms have new beds and we have tried hard to select a model that would suit almost everyone. We are on a main road and always hope the traffic does not affect our house guests comfort too much. Stage 2 of of our renovation programme is to commence soon. This will see new soft furnishings fitted. Hope you visit next time you are in Devonport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I agree with many of the the reviews. Yes it is close to the ship and yes its ok for one night. The room was tired and way out of date, really needs to be refurbished as it was very dingy. Our bed was comfortable and clean and we slept well until bar shut and noise from patrons was terrible. Got up to check car several times. Photos on booking site are really decieving, was very dissappointed by the actual look of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieselt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The Argosy is part way through a complete accommodation renovation.
Shortly all rooms will be complete with LCD TV,s, new linen and fittings. We have updated our photos on Trip Advisor, and our website. We look forward to you visiting us again when next in the area.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our expectation wasn't high from a motor inn, and overall the large room and cleanness were satisfying. On the negative side the window is just few meters away from the highway access road, the bistro closed very early, and the inn is rather far from the city centre. It was very expensive and poor value for a short overnight stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elek_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Mmm, what can i say.. I have never stayed here but have had a few meals here over the years and they are getting worse. Two mains an ocean platter and garlic prawns, both with soggy chips and salad. Salad was varied but the same selection you got when you were 8. ocean platter was cooked in old oil was chewy in places and sparce in others x2 prawns and one cold one ok oyster(1) was fresh BUT not at all worth 30 bucks! My friends prawns looked good but for 26 dollars would think maybe at least a bit more, big soggy chips and prawns drenched in cream. Staff were, some nice, some nice because they had to be, thanks to the genuine nice staff. :) we were asked how our meals were and we said nice as the reason we were there was for the company of friends and an awesone kids play section(mostly :)).... would this bring me back..... no way sorry variety is growing in this area. More places cater for kids will eat else where in future travels to my hometown ( of tassie) Tassie has so much good local produce a food heaven.. don't sacrifice this for a kids play area find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank traveldreamer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
1.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Formby Hotel
Formby Hotel
#7 of 14 in Devonport
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
75 reviews
10.1 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argosy Motor Inn Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argosy Motor Inn Devonport

Address: 221 Tarleton St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argosy Motor Inn Devonport 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 mins from the Spirit of Tasmania, 10 mins from the Devonport AirportAmple parkingFacilities; ALL 7 Days a week; Bistro, Breakfast, Cut Lunches, Bottleshop, Gaming Lounge Bar, TOTE, Keno, Guest Laundry, function facilities, kids playroom.Renovated rooms, queen size beds, freshly painted, Flat screen digital TV”s, Microwave & Toaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argosy Motor Inn Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing