We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view from the river side rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good view from the river side rooms.”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Comfortable bed in a clean and well maintained room with an opening window which is a plus. Great view if you get a river side room although that side also gets the morning sun which can be very bright very early. Central position to shops and eateries which is a bonus because the buffet breakfast is not always well supplied and the wait for eggs to be cooked can be lengthy. Great selection of teas available in the room. Free car parking. No swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezza501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Gateway.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Junior Suites, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    261
    74
    27
    13
See reviews for
61
257
24
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 401 the harbor view junior deluxe and we felt like movie stars! The staff are all lovely, friendly and so helpful, the restaurant is fantastic and has a superb menu. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling the north west of tas without hesitation, we were so impressed and will surely be back. Thanks for a wonderful and memorable stay guys you should be very proud of this establishment and your delightful selves, good on you and thanks again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LianJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your recent review following your stay at Quality Hotel Gateway.

It is great to read that you and your partner enjoyed your time in one of our Deluxe Junior Suites, and that you experienced an exceptional level of service from our team.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us - thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back very soon! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Room was small,the bed was hard as a rock,no air con only a small fan and we were in a room where there was noise coming from the dumping of bottles in the dumper behind our room.On the upside we found the people in Devonport to be very friendly,saw the Spirit of Tasmania but not much else to see in Devonport.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for sending through your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Gateway this month. We are disappointed to read that you were displeased with your stay, and for this, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.
We will certainly be taking all of your comments on board for further improvements. We apologise for the noise disturbance coming from outside your room. Kindly note that regarding our rubbish collection, we have arrangements in place to ensure that this is carried out when the number of guests around the property are at a minimum (normally around 12pm), to avoid any inconveniences to sleeping guests. We will ensure that this standard is maintained at all times moving forward.
Despite our shortcomings, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel should you find yourself in Devonport again in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Whilst I wouldn't reccomend Devonport itself, if you need a place to stay in the area this hotel was very nice. Large rooms and bathrooms with comfy beds, nice facilities (shortbread and hot chocolate, nice toiletries etc provide). Very nice bathroom although the frosted glass door was a litte odd! Lady on reception was friendly. We did eat in the restaurant (although we were the only ones) and it was nice but overpriced. Very comfortable and nice, has free parking and compares favourably in that price range (paid $100)

Room Tip: Stayed in the standard double room which was very nice but no view out of the window - was just at g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for submitting a review following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Gateway.

It is great to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, and appreciate your public recommendation of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Devonport. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oatlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

First impression of the spa deluxe room was 'WOW!' Room was beautiful, although very tiny. Love the electric blinds, nice touch. Bed was terrible. A king bed is not two singles pushed together with a hard thing in the middle... Mattresses extremely hard. Don't plonk yourself on the bed too hard you might break something... Wanted to jump straight in the spa! Some bubble bath would have been nice but even without it was very relaxing. But when we got out, oh my god the smell... As soon as we let the water out all we could smell was mould! The bathroom absolutely stunk. This definitely needs to be fixed... Had a very lovely night, watched the spirit of tasmania leave and spent the rest of the night watching the inhouse movie with some pizza from down the street. Shower the next morning was perfect, apart from the water smelling like low tide?
The water seems to be the only thing I could find that is letting down this lovely hotel... Would stay here again if the water wasn't so stinky!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasfrom_tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your stay at Quality Hotel Gateway this month.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our Spa Deluxe Room. Regarding your bed, kindly note that it is Industry Standard to allow our valued guests the option to split a King-Size bed if they wish. However, these are not intended to cause our guests any discomfort due to design, and so we will look into this for quality assurance purposes.

In regards to your experience with the smelling water, we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. It is unfortunate that our team did not have the opportunity to assist you on this occasion prior to check out with an available room move.

To inform you sufficiently, the hotel experienced a plumbing issue that afternoon which was fixed immediately. We were completely unaware that this would cause any further problems in our rooms. Please be advised that this issue is now resolved completely and in future, we can assure you that your stay will be a pleasant experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel, so we can restore your confidence in our hotel and service quality. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here a few times and always book a spa suite. These rooms are limited (2 only) and would be the best quality rooms available in Devonport. Clean and well appointed suites with terrific views of the surrounding town. Very comfortable indeed with enormous spa bath and quality fittings. If you are overnighting in Devonport and want some comfort then this accommodation is recommended.

Room Tip: Book a Junior Deluxe Spa Harbour suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonrock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Gateway.

We appreciate your business, and are thrilled to read that you and your wife have stayed at the hotel on a number of occasions, and that we are able to accommodate you comfortably in our Spa Suites.

We hope to welcome you and your wife back to Quality Hotel Gateway in the near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband, our 6 month old baby and I arrived in Devonport after a lovely trip on the Spirit of Tasmania and checked in to the Gateway. We requested a cot when we booked online and were annoyed when we found our room didn't have one on arrival (to put a cranky baby straight to bed) ... my husband visited the front desk to advise of the error only to be told by the female receptionist "nope, you never booked a cot" ... my husband kindly explained he did and showed the confirmation email to which she replied "oh, oh someone obviously stuffed up then." After trying to erect the first cot, another cot was brought in to replace it ... all the while I'm nursing a screaming baby. We then ordered room service, which was impressively prompt, and very good (compared to normal room service) only we had two pepper shakers and no salt (so off I went to the restaurant) only to return to find hubby squirming after he found a hair in his chips. This is a lovely hotel with well presented rooms and amenities but it really needs to brush up on some key services ... we expected more ...

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BAbbeyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Gateway.

First, please accept our sincerest apologies for an inconvenience you encountered during your time at the hotel. With your feedback, we have now commenced a service re-training, focusing on ensuring that cots and extra items required by our guests are allocated correctly at all times. Our General Manager has discussed your comments with the staff member involved, and has advised them of the correct procedures with meeting guest requests.

The kitchen and restaurant staff have also been notified of the error with your salt and pepper shakers, and the hair in your chips - please note that this is completely unacceptable by our standards, and will not be repeated with future guests. The strict adherence to food health and safety standards are non-negotiable.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the 'calamity of errors' that you experienced with us. Please be assured that we are taking the necessary steps to ensure that our commitment to quality service at all times is maintained, as well as our attention to detail for our valued guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity in the future to be your host once again and rectify our mistakes, to provide you with the level of service that you deserve. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
0.4 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Gateway

Property: Quality Hotel Gateway
Address: 16 Fenton St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia (Formerly Gateway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Gateway offers a wide selection of contemporary accommodation, centrally located in the heart of Devonport's CBD in Tasmania - the Apple Isle. We are the largest Devenport hotel and the gateway to Tasmania's Cradle region. We are a 6 minute drive to the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal, 10 minutes to Devonport Airport, only 1 hour from Launceston and 3 hours from Hobart. Our top floor contains deluxe rooms, superbly appointed with luxury fittings, and magnificent views across the river and out to sea. Our top floor Deluxe Spa and Deluxe Junior Suites offer the luxury of first class style without the first class price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Gateway Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing