We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Does the job adequately for a passing visit. Twin room, which i shared with my elderly father, was quite spacious and well maintained. Had all the basics we required. We actually enjoyed having opening windows and lack of aircon was no problem as weather was mild. I rarely decline a breakfast buffet but it was very poor value for the average-looking quality of fare on offer, so opted for tea and toast instead.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaHWithoutAnAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear reviewer. We thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay at Quality Hotel Gateway. Your comments are much appreciated, and your feedback regarding the breakfast buffet will be passed on to the relevant departments for consideration. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 665 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable stay- give me a motel like this one anywhere. Booked via booking.com and we had a great Easter rate. Tape ware in bathroom is dubious but works. 10 min to ferry and quiet location, just a few minutes walk to cafe's etc

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvhensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBHOC, Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Gateway. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Cannot believe that I've paid $183 for a room they class as 4 star without aircon!!!! Absolutely ridiculous, they have a small fan full of dust to use. The room is extremely stuffy. Tv keeps cutting out, $20 taken for mini bar yet only a bottle of water available? I'm a little confused. Stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tally1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBHOC, Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to your satisfaction. The information you have provided regarding your room standards and the costs you incurred will be passed on to the relevant departments for review. Nevertheless we would be pleased if we could be your host once again one day. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is my second review on this hotel. I felt it was worth reviewing again as when I stayed this time I was lucky enough to get one of the rooms on the fourth floor, these rooms are far superior to the other floors and have air conditioning. If you are staying here make sure it's on the fourth floor!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBHOC, Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for choosing to stay with Quality Hotel Gateway for the second time, and we welcome your feedback. We are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us this time around, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in junior penthouse suite - brilliant facilities and in room services great. Overlooks Spirit of Tasmania and harbour with best views of Devonport. Definitely recommend if visiting this city when in Tasmania.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBHOC, Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Gateway. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with the facilities and services on offer to you, and that you enjoyed the great view from your room! We hope to be your host again very soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Myself and my fellow car club members stayed here two nights. Sunday 17th February and Saturday 2nd March. We were delayed getting off the Spirit of Tasmania on the Sunday night but I kept them informed of our progress as they had especially opened their restaurant for us.
Meals were delivered efficiently and enjoyed by all. Accommodation has been updated and very good. Yes there is no air conditioning, however there are fans in the room so it is not a real problem. You are more likely to want warmth in Tasmania than cooling!

Saturday night our return meal was very good and enjoyed by all. Wine list could do with an overhaul but have to say a very pleasant place to stay and pardon the pun but most accommodating with breakfast being served from 6am on the Sunday we needed to be on the Spirit for our day sailing. Can definitely recommend the Quality Hotel Gateway for Spirit travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noddy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBHOC, Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Quality Hotel Gateway. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs despite any delays you may have had. Thank you for highlighting our central location, which is very convenient for travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with 5 other couples overnight as it was within close proximity of Spirit of Tasmania, roughly 10mins drive.......parking was out the back but told we couldn't be guaranteed a spot if we drove out for dinner....we'd have to park in the 'overflow' area.....that didn't appeal at all so we ate in the hotel restaurant...which surprisingly was very very good....I had a lovely chicken dish, others were also happy with their meals.....the rooms were fairly large but OMG it was SO stuffy and hot as there was NO aircon and we couldn't open the windows.....a fan on the side table was our only salvation.....a KS bed was lovely and a nice selection of Twinings tea as well as hot chocolate sachets provided....the bathroom was a bit 'arty' for me, but nice towels and toiletries supplied......sleeping was difficult due to the stuffiness as well as a lot of light coming in from under the door as well as from outside......if the hotel provided some kind of airconditioning in the rooms they'd have people knocking down the door for reservations........Wifi was available at a cost which was expensive

Room Tip: take a pair of eye shades for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBHOC, Manager at Quality Hotel Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Gateway. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us. We acknowledge your comments regarding the air conditioning in your room, and this information will be reviewed internally for further development. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
128 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
#3 of 3 in Ulverstone
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
77 reviews
9.3 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Gateway

Address: 16 Fenton St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia (Formerly Gateway Inn)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Gateway offers a wide selection of contemporary accommodation, centrally located in the heart of Devonport's CBD in Tasmania - the Apple Isle. We are the largest Devenport hotel and the gateway to Tasmania's Cradle region. We are a 6 minute drive to the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal, 10 minutes to Devonport Airport, only 1 hour from Launceston and 3 hours from Hobart. Our top floor contains deluxe rooms, superbly appointed with luxury fittings, and magnificent views across the river and out to sea. Our top floor Deluxe Spa and Deluxe Junior Suites offer the luxury of first class style without the first class price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Gateway Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing