We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to stay in summer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Hotel Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a place to stay in summer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The first thing that hit me when I walked into the room was the heat, and this was on a day of 20C. There was no air conditioner. My room had huge plate glass windows but looked out onto a flat tin roof, as well as the heat of the sun I had it reflected off of that as well. Luckily by the time I went to bed it had cooled down. It was very clean and very well presented. I was with a tour group and we stayed in five hotels on the island tour, this was the worst organised when we arrived. It was chaos. The staff were friendly though, and the meal was nice - what there was of it. I'd just come from the hearty home meals of a mining town hotel and these were minute. I ordered poached pear and expected to see a pear standing on my plate, is had two of the thinnest slices they could manage to cut without it turning to lace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that doesn't get the hot afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    227
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
54
235
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I was in Devonport to catch the ferry to Melbourne. The rooms were great and the hotel is in the town center. There isn't much to do in Devonport but there is a lot to see within driving distance.

The fact they had a washer and dryer and don't charge you for it was a plus for me. The hotel is worth the money. I recommend it.

If you are taking the ferry, it would be a long walk to the terminal. It would take you an hour to walk there. You can see it but there a river like Harbour between you and it.
If you are renting or hireling a car they have kiosks inside the terminal where you can return your keys. You just park your car in the terminal parking lot and the rental company does the rest.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4375sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here two nights (Club King Room) and it was great. We were on the third floor and our room was lovely, we had one that looked out over the back of the property and didn't have any noise issues. It was tastefully decorated and spacious enough for the two of us and our three suitcases. It is an easy walk into the city centre and down to the waterfront where there is an excellent walk or sit and watch the Spirit of Tasmania if it's the right time of day.

We decided to eat in the restaurant the first night we stayed here and enjoyed our meals so much that we dined here again on our second night. The meals were very large and were excellent value for money. The restaurant staff were very friendly as well. We also had breakfast here both mornings and there was plenty to choose from.

If staying in Devonport again we would choose this property.

Room Tip: Club King Room (Third Floor - overlooking the back of the property)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not a lot of competition in Devonport but we were very pleasantly surprised by the high level of room renovation since our last visit. Very well finished throughout with a very modern bathroom. Central location is very convenient. However not overjoyed with the pricing structure. Club rooms are supposed to be above levels 1 & 2 and we paid $137 for a club room that turned out to be on level 2. Wasn't really a problem, just not what we were told. You can still get very decent rooms in say Melbourne for about the same if you know how. Our traveling companions asked about a senior's discount and were told no, it had already been heavily discounted from the rack rate of $240. Come on, who charges a rack rate these days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockabillyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stay here every 1-2 months and the staff remember me every time. Though I only stay on the top floor as the standard rooms can be quite noisy and compact for my liking. Nicest place in Devonport though.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kay7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is very noisy if you stay in the front. And when you close the windows to keep the noise out it gets stuffy because there is no airconditioner in the room. The fan in the bathroom is extremely noisy, the bathroom door doesn't close. The rooms and bathroom are clean though. The food in the restaurant is average but overpriced. The restaurant service is poor. I would definitely try not to stay here again but unfortunately in Devonport there is not too many places to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GUK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#5 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
#4 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Gateway

Property: Quality Hotel Gateway
Address: 16 Fenton St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia (Formerly Gateway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Gateway offers a wide selection of contemporary accommodation, centrally located in the heart of Devonport's CBD in Tasmania - the Apple Isle. We are the largest Devenport hotel and the gateway to Tasmania's Cradle region. We are a 6 minute drive to the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal, 10 minutes to Devonport Airport, only 1 hour from Launceston and 3 hours from Hobart. Our top floor contains deluxe rooms, superbly appointed with luxury fittings, and magnificent views across the river and out to sea. Our top floor Deluxe Spa and Deluxe Junior Suites offer the luxury of first class style without the first class price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Hotel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Gateway Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing