We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place in devonport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only place in devonport”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stay here every 1-2 months and the staff remember me every time. Though I only stay on the top floor as the standard rooms can be quite noisy and compact for my liking. Nicest place in Devonport though.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kay7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    252
    71
    27
    13
See reviews for
61
253
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is very noisy if you stay in the front. And when you close the windows to keep the noise out it gets stuffy because there is no airconditioner in the room. The fan in the bathroom is extremely noisy, the bathroom door doesn't close. The rooms and bathroom are clean though. The food in the restaurant is average but overpriced. The restaurant service is poor. I would definitely try not to stay here again but unfortunately in Devonport there is not too many places to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

In town for business with a colleague we booked a double room and ended up being put in a single room when we asked for it to be fixed we were treated like idiots and the problem wasn't fixed we ended up having to share a room for 2 nights.
When we asked for our room to be serviced our towels  weren't  replaced they were just hung up from the bathtub. Housekeeping also hid our belongings and when we asked where they were we were greeted with another patronising blank face. 
Finally the straw that broke the camels back! Upon  checkout they asked us to pay more as there was two in the room.

I'd  rather sleep in my car next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy88157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for a number of years for work. Staff are lovely and location is great and especially close to where The Spirit of Tasmania docks. Although a 'motel' feel, the rooms have slowly been upgraded in the last couple of years. For an extra special experience, the Executive rooms on the top floor offer a spa. If you are lucky you will also have a view of the River.
There is a Cider bar downstairs with a cosy fireplace. Drinks are reasonable and the dinner menu is also not bad.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poochiebluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Ticked all the boxes as far as Devonport goes. No need tro venture outside if you don't need to.
Dinner & breakfast was good quality as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obsrvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My partner and i didn't actually stay at the hotel because the price for a standard room was $183 which was a bit to pricey for us, but we decided to eat at the resturant one of the nights we were there,
I payed $26 for salmon with 4 asparagus and some salsa underneath it, the piece of salmon i recieved was about the size of an old nokia mobile phone and was very dry, my partner ordered chicken breast with root vegetables and pesto, unfortunately most of it was zucchini and it was a chicken leg instead of brest and he said it was also dry.

people that came in after us and after we had ordered got their food before us, and it wasn't busy at all.

overall we were very disappointed with the food for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lyana95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
0.4 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Gateway

Property: Quality Hotel Gateway
Address: 16 Fenton St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia (Formerly Gateway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Gateway offers a wide selection of contemporary accommodation, centrally located in the heart of Devonport's CBD in Tasmania - the Apple Isle. We are the largest Devenport hotel and the gateway to Tasmania's Cradle region. We are a 6 minute drive to the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal, 10 minutes to Devonport Airport, only 1 hour from Launceston and 3 hours from Hobart. Our top floor contains deluxe rooms, superbly appointed with luxury fittings, and magnificent views across the river and out to sea. Our top floor Deluxe Spa and Deluxe Junior Suites offer the luxury of first class style without the first class price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Gateway Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing