We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2011

It is a nice little hotel, I stayed in the Deluxe Spa room facing what I think is the harbour, not the prettiest of views, but certainly industrial. But don't let that spoil your stay! The room itself is moderately sized and has a comfortable king size bed, and a spa bath as the room title says, and the jets aren't that powerful but it is still very relaxing!

I actually asked for their best room, which isn't this one, and I can only assume the hostess thought this is all I could afford, because as I look at wotif, ALL of the room types are available, and I would have preferred the upgrade...

The room fit-out is modern and clean, well spaced, I can't really say anything bad about the stay apart from there was no sugar for my coffee, and only water in the bar fridge. Also, walking down the street on a saturday night I had a bottle thrown *near* me from some drunk idiots across the road.. but that's any city on a Saturday night with drunk people I guess.

All said, it was a comfortable stay for $177 for the night, however I haven't checked out yet, so hopefully this review stands well and I don't have to write a conflicting review :)

Room Tip: I chose the Spa room, facing harbour, $177 night, can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller9372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 638 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

Let's remember - we aren't paying huge money to stay here. The rooms are clean and comfortable , thankfully renovated and the bathroom is fairly modern

Air conditioning would be nice and I wouldn't stay here if it was a hot day

My room service was ok, steak was overcooked and having a drink with my meal comprised of visiting the bottleshop next door ... Lack of car parking was also a worry

But - again, not too expensive

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b747sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My Wife & I were quite impressed with this little gem. The renovated rooms are amazing, great facilities and an sensational night’s sleep. Hotel staff are very warm and friendly and the quality of the food and service in the restaurant was great. Also fantastic views of the harbour. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit Devonport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had been recommended this place by the Visitor Centre in Devonport, and were happy to accept their recommendation. The room was clean, big enough and well laid out, and the staff were friendly. The only niggle was the smell of paint from the ongoing refurbishment.

The trouble didn't begin until we were tucked up asleep at about 11pm that night. This was when the first guests leaving a party or bar downstairs congregated at the exit and talked very loudly amongst themselves. We were on the second floor but the noise was very clear. Our friends, who were staying in a room facing the other way, Fenton Street, had the same issue. When the party started again at midnight, we called reception and asked them to move the crowd on, and tried to get back to sleep (although the party people were obviously reluctant to move on).

At 2am the party started AGAIN! Our call to reception was a little less pleasant than before, but again action was slow in coming. In fact, we then had staff emptying bins full of bottles and cans outside our window.

All in all a shocking night's sleep for us and our friends, and little or no help from management on the noise issue.

Room Tip: Get as high up as possible, it may help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrib310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed 1 night and was very surprised how clean, new and modern it was. Had Dinner in Restaurant which was very nice and a good breakfast. Would stay again. Room was very nice, Staff great, had a problem with the noise in room and they changed it on the spot whitout any hassle.

Room Tip: We had first a room to front but the noise when cars left carpark was a bit to much, so we changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

From the outside it looked like an older hotel but we were very pleased upon arrival to find that refurbishments were taking place inside.

Check-in was very smooth and the woman at the front desk was incredibly helpful with information about room service, restaurant and breakfast times and even recommended what to try from the room service menu. There was ample (free) parking and an easily accessable lift.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and looked brand new. It was spacious with a king size bed, large desk area and a large modern bathroom complete with sensor lights. My only concern here was that the door was frosted glass and had I not been staying with my partner it could have been a bit awkward as although you werent totally visible through the glass you could still be seen in shadow form. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the view was nice.

Room service was quick - 20 minutes for a full 2 course meal which was fantastic. The steak & french chicken were both cooked to perfection and VERY reasonably priced. We were able to purchase a bottle of wine from the bar downstairs and avoided paying mini-bar price which was great.

A full buffet breakfast was included in the price and it was fantastic. There was a lot to choose from and it was all top quality and perfectly cooked. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant clean & modern.

All in all we were very impressed and if we have to opportunity to head back to Tasmania we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

After arriving on the ferry it was a short journey to our hotel. Good disabled room on the ground floor however large hill from rear car park. Small pub attached which is pleasent for a drink but found trying to get a meal after hotel hours in devonprt slightly difficult. Stayed two nights one on start of trip and one at end and found staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is available and looked quite good but as we were leaving early did not partake

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironsideMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
122 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
76 reviews
9.3 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Gateway

Address: 16 Fenton St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia (Formerly Gateway Inn)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range: $100 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Gateway offers a wide selection of contemporary accommodation, centrally located in the heart of Devonport's CBD in Tasmania - the Apple Isle. We are the largest Devenport hotel and the gateway to Tasmania's Cradle region. We are a 6 minute drive to the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal, 10 minutes to Devonport Airport, only 1 hour from Launceston and 3 hours from Hobart. Our top floor contains deluxe rooms, superbly appointed with luxury fittings, and magnificent views across the river and out to sea. Our top floor Deluxe Spa and Deluxe Junior Suites offer the luxury of first class style without the first class price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Gateway Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing