We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting and great service”

Mrs Jones Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Nice setting and great service”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went for a saturday lunch and made reservations. We were given a table with seaview without asking for it while the restaurant seemed quite busy. Enjoyed the view and NZ Wild Rock wine by the glass for $9, generously poured. Had two lunch dishes for $26 each, so a little bit on the high side for lunch. Husbands fish and chips were ok, but my seafood risotto was awesome - lots of different seafood varieties cooked just right. Can`t fault this place and the service was genuinely friendly. We will be back when in Tasmania again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiccOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    77
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely space and the restaurant had been recommended to us by the hotel receptionist so we had high hopes. I had the special starter which was sea bass, rolled in cucumber. Good idea but the fish was so undercooked it was cold and inedible. It had to be sent back. We then had a LONG wait for a replacement, but to be fair they also replaced my husband's starter and gave us (at our request) a complimentary glass of white wine to keep us going while we waited for the new starters. When we eventually got to the main course, all was well except that the "complimentary veggies" were roast sweet potato. Now my main already had sweet potato with it and we didn't need more, and as we had been told the veggies were beans we had ordered garlic potatoes as an extra side. Well, since my husband had masses of rice with his curry dish, we just didn't need so many potatoes and would have loved some fresh green steamed veg!

After all that stodge, we couldn't face a pud so paid the LARGE bill and went home very disappointed.

We got the impression they were trying hard to be inventive but they need a much slicker operation to pull it off.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank mus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely space, but food was a little cold.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

A great space. We ordered 4 entrees at the same time between the 2 of us and a bottle of sparkling. The pork belly was full of favor, other meals were lacking and a little cold. Staff need to acknowledge all feedback not just the positive parts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 5bread4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mouth watering”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The views are breath taking and the menu is amazing without being over priced. Great selection of local wine. Great service

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMcPherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great meal with fantastic views”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Open Wednesday to Sunday. Offers a really good selection of food on the menu with varying prices. All dishes have really nice flavour and are presented in a very appealing way. They offer three different menus - lunch, afternoon and dinner. Good selection of wines and beers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluegirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Jones Restaurant also viewed

 
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to Mrs Jones Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing