We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit”
Review of La Lucha - CLOSED

La Lucha
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Authentic Mexican Restaurant specialising in local and imported Beers, Wines and Spirits. Our Authentic cuisine is sourced from the Oaxaca Region of Mexico. We pride ourselves on providing a welcoming and personable dining experience and with our team of highly qualified chefs and service staff, we will ensure that your dining experience will be one to remember.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

On a business trip to a place I find it difficult to find a venue to have a quality meal I read wih interest a review about La Lucha. I was not disappointed. I was greeted warmly, once seated offered a free hors d'oeuvre. Service was excellent, attentive but not overly so. The food was great as was the recommended wine. The only slight negative was it is a very noisy place, not one to go to for a quiet conversation. I will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allenent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Bring back the old Mexican...over priced...small servings terrible service you would think on your second night of trading you would know to have plenty of stock on hand yet you ran out of quiet a few items on you menu.. very unhappy and won't be returning..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kel2671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, Manager at La Lucha, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate feedback that you have provided.

I'd like to take the time to apologise for the experience you had with us. I understand that you visited us on our second night of opening and it is clear that you were very unsatisfied with what you received and the service that was provided on the evening.

We are new small business in the area and have been opened since the end of April this year. The owner of this business is new to the area as well, having recently moved from Sydney to a new and exciting location on the Northwest coast of Tasmania. Since opening, he has secured the employment of some well regarded Sydney-based chefs who specialise in Authentic mexican cuisine. In this time he has also sourced a variety of local and reliable suppliers in order to guarantee that we rarely fall short of menu items or products.

This process has taken a couple of months and now with everything secured we are able to produce the high quality and quantity of food that patrons of our venue expect.

In this time we have also received feedback directly from our customers and this has shaped our delivery of service and what we wish to provide. After taking the time to work on our service strategy and our menu options and pricing, it is with great satisfaction that the 'teething' problems of a new business, indeed restaurant, have all but been ironed out.

It is with this in mind that we warmly invite you to come in and try us again. We ensure that your second experience will far surpass the first.

Kind regards,

La Lucha Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is coming up as a Latrobe restaurant, but it's actually in Devonport.
Great atmosphere, my only complaint is that it's very noisy with the concrete floor.
The food and service were fabulous, well priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SWVicWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arriving at 9.30pm on Saturday night, our group was fully expecting to be turned away, however the great staff at La Lucha were happy to find us a table. Fantastic, authentic food, exceptional staff and a great vibe. A very welcome addition to Devonport!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teezee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, Manager at La Lucha, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with positive feedback. We were very happy to accommodate you and your guests and are delighted that you had a fantastic evening! We look forward to seeing you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lucha also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing