We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tasmania”
Review of Antique Emporium

Antique Emporium
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WELCOME TO ANTIQUE EMPORIUM - IMPORTERS, RETAILERS, WHOLESALERS, ANTIQUE & BOOK DEALERS. You will find 1600 square meters of goods on 4 levels. The owner, John Cole, Personally travels for up to 3 months of the year going door to door & village to village in remote parts of the world. From factories to isolated villages; We find TREASURES, restore them and TRANSPORT them DIRECTLY to Tasmania.
Ulverstone, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in Tasmania”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am so lucky, I don't have to travel far to visit this awesome antique shop. Because they have a variety of vendors together, there is something for everyone. My husband and I visit antique shops everywhere we go - rarely find something better than at our own doorstep!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great antiques”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Provides an ever changing and enormous variety of quality antique china and collectables. We have visited many times and always find something new and interesting to puchase.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
1 review
“Locals Must See”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I am sure tourists find this great shop but so many locals on the coast do not know about it.
It is a great place to spend a few hours and find treasures to keep and gift.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Antique Emporium is Awesome!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What an experience! Like a Pandora's box!. Go to the Emporium and you won't be disappointed. We called in while on holiday from NSW. We didn't know what to look at first. The kids where blown away by the lolly shop and the displays, My husband loved the old books, antiques and cards. I was amazed at the second hand treasures, jewellery and memorabilia.The staff are very friendly and helpful and the place has a mystic kind off spiritual feeling to it. Its a great place to get that person who's hard to buy for something they will cherish. We had to drag the kids out and next time we will stay longer. We loved it and will be going back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fienefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is awesome. You could find anything and everything you need if you've got enough time to take it all in. So allow heaps of time. Set out in different sections on different levels, this emporium is an eclectic mix of old and new, much of it at near bargain prices. Assistance was forthcoming when we entered the building, and time for a smile and a joke from the assistant behind the counter. We were most impressed by this business, but it is HUGE by Tassie standards, so you will need at least an hour or two or more. All in all a wonderful near morning spent here amongst a huge array of stock and some interesting items bought at reasonable prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosiegirl233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antique Emporium also viewed

 

Been to Antique Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing