We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arborists delight”

The Tasmanian Arboretum
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open daily 9AM to sunset. Entry $5.00 Per adult, children free. 66Ha landscape Arboretum displays interpreted collections of trees and shrubs from the temperate world. Tasmanian woody plants a feature. Walk along old railway formation among local birds in season. Platypus may be seen on Founders' Lake. Visitor Guide Map suggests walks including the Limestone Heritage Walk. Audio Tour available for $3.00 Hire. Tree Park Kiosk offers light refreshments from October to the end of May 11AM to 4PM. Wi-fi available. Unfortunately, no public transport available.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Outstanding wander through various outcrops of trees... all of which have labels! Platypus in the lake too!

2  Thank Jolly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for The Tasmanian Arboretum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

It clearly needs a helping hand- too many weeds, signs either lacking or hard to read and not that much to see. Not really worth the detour.

2  Thank DonnaW834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmanian A, Manager at The Tasmanian Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

The 66ha is managed with a largely volunteer workforce and a small budget we raise. Many people comment to us in a positive way. Yes, we have woody weeds, but fewer than before as our program to replace them with local species moves forward. Perhaps the 'weeds' are the areas we have left as shelter for animals and birds. This is the first time we have had a lack of signs drawn to our attention. Maybe they missed the Vistor Guide Map or didn't take the Audio Tour. We are 16km from the Devonport PO with Limestone Heritage, over 60 birds species, platypus and 4750 plants in the collections. there is as much here as at many comparable botanical institutions in Australia. Yes I've seen a few

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

pleasant spot to vist not too far from the city and easy access, quiet spot for a wander around and a look at many flora species

Thank 2012Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

few trees but not real interesting I live local and did not think I would bother to take my vividtors there

1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmanian A, General Manager at The Tasmanian Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

The Arboretum contains over 900 tree species, all with some features every month of the year. Amusing visitors, whilst important to us, is secondary to the purpose of botanical colections. perhaps more would be explained by taking the audio tour. Beyond walks, wildlife and peaceful we offer a site for family and community events such as Music in the Park on the last Sunday in February and March 2013. These events, like the Arboretum itself, is dependent on the efforts of local volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

That the Tasmanian Arboretum is run entirely by volunteers is simply amazing. This is a great place to unwind and enjoy a stroll through trees and shrubs from both hemispheres. And a walk around the lake late in the afternoon is more than likely to yield a glimpse of platypus going about the feeding.

1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasmanian Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to The Tasmanian Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing