We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice Beside the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devonport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Beside the Sea
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We found Alice's idyllic accommodation perfect. We were able to have our little dog with us and there was plenty of room for her to wander around outside while we sat and watched her from the patio. The unit was exceptionally comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. We would recommend Alice Beside the Sea to anyone planning a visit to Devonport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was looking for self catering accommodation and this is perfect. It felt like coming home, the Studio is very spacious, the kitchenette has everything you can think of, there were even salt & pepper shakers on the table as well as serviettes. It was nice and clean, has a small fridge and an incredibly comfortable rocker recliner which was nice to relax in after a long day at work.
The bed is comfy, there is a huge TV, plenty of DVDs, a little patio with garden furniture and all this directly across from the beach!
The hostess is lovely, and pays attention to the smallest detail.
I stay in a number of places when I travel around the state and this is by far the best. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed in the one bedroom apartment next to the main house, it was clean warm and comfortable. Kitchen was small but adequate, bathroom was also clean and adequate. I had work to do so I was able to sit out the front undercover while the sun slowly set. Left something behind and Alice gladly forwarded it on. This is my third stay here and is now my preferred accommodation.

Room Tip: This one bedroom unit has some limited wheelchair access, bathroom would be very tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tassiemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom unit for two nights . It felt like staying in our own home . The beach is on the other side of the road . There is no lack of tranquility and fresh air . A healthy 10-15 minutes walk takes you to tht little ferry which takes you to the center of the city. It costs only $2.30 for an adult/ &2.00 for a child . It is very regular. Love the old way of transporting !
The only down side is the hot water system . You have to run buckets of cold water before hot water comes out . Such a waste! There is a bucket in the carboard underneath the TV, with Alice's permit I ran the cold water into the bucket to water those thirsty pot plants .

Room Tip: With that location you can't get it wrong , so it is all down to how many rooms you need .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VickyB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for the last night of our 3 week magnificent Tasmanian holiday. How lucky for us we found Alice. We knocked on the door and Alice herself was charming and was able to give us the upstairs apartment. The bed was comfortable, the view stunning, to say it was spacious is an understatement. When back in Devonport in the future we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Thanks Alice.

Room Tip: Just speak to Alice herself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsywaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed in this B&B once. It is a very comfortable, well furnished, establishment, in a quiet location by the sea in East Devonport. Excellent for family groups. Hostess was great.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This Is a wonderful establishment, I stayed in the 2 bedroom unit and it was larger than some units I have lived in! Clean, homey and 4 star rating. Huge flat screen TV , DVD's included ( good variety) , right on the beachfront. parking and kids play area. Friendly staff that made you feel right at home.
This is not slick it is very very comfortable, little things count , full litre of milk in the full sized fridge, CD's to play.
Would recommend for a night or a week.

Room Tip: if there are a few of you take the upstairs 3 bedroom unit - views over bass strait and the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyscott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#5 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Devonport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Beside the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Beside the Sea

Property: Alice Beside the Sea
Address: 1 Wright St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Devonport
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from Spacious: Studio apartment, 2 bedroom apartment or 4 bedroom huge holiday house all self-contained - on the beach. Located 1km from the Spirit of Tasmania.This property sleeps 20.Free Wi Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alice Beside The Sea Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing