We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Devonport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway(Ulverstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
61
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homethe riverexcellent hostscity centrewithin walking distanceeasy accessgreat place to stayoff street parkingrexbeechwoodapartmentjulienneretreatfurniturelolliesproximitycleanliness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 71 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Burke Cottage. We found the accommodation was wonderfully clean, roomy and had everything we need. The hosts were helpful and very friendly. We also found the location was as good as you get close to pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

We pride ourselves in helping guests get the best out of their holidays, Our central location allows easy car travel on day trips to Cradle Mountain, The Nut at Stanley and so many other of Tasmania's most scenic attractions.
Enjoy the experience of Tasmania;s beauty and relaxing atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

First and foremost, Rex and Julianne are great hosts, when we first arrived they made us feel welcome, even showed us their cats and new puppy. The rooms were some of the most cleanest places i have been in, furnished with everything you could possibly need, very homely. Location wise you couldn't find better, nice short stroll to the city center, restaurants nearby, river and parks across the road. I even had made the mistake of leaving my wedding ring behind, contacted Rex and he mailed it via registered post immediately and received it in the mail the following week, I highly recommend anyone who is staying at Devonport to stay at Birchwood on the river.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philliusphog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

That is what it is all about !!!
When people return to stay with us Time & time again, you know we are doing something right.
We appreciate guests need privacy but also that we are accessable to help and assist in making holidays to Tasmania and Devonport enjoyable.
Tasmania is a great place to Visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

When we go to any city in our travels we go to the tourist information centre and they find us a place to stay and they have not let us down once again.Could not fault in any way.One of the cleanest and friendly places we have stayed. Would highly recommend.Thanks again to hosts Rex & Julianne. Trev and Alma Rutherford. Mackay QLD.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Devonport is a wonderful place to live!
Our aim is to provide the best facility for the most people, our style is comfort and cleanliness, our taste is generally homely not necessarily ultra modern.
We have a program in place of upgrades and are proud of Birchwood, Devonport self contained Accommodation achievements over past 10 years of operation.
Visit and enjoy Devonport and surrounds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

From the minute we entered the apartment we just said, ' Wow!'. We wanted to book somewhere special since we were celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary and Birchwood on the River did not disappoint. I was a little concerned booking it over the internet and relying on pictures posted on the web; we were so pleasantly surprised when we got there to find that it was just like the photos, if not better. Rex is the perfect host, going out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. Julieann has done an amazing job with the soft furnishings, the décor is just beautiful - the cottage style we love, so homey! We have previously stayed in apartments, hotels, motels, holiday homes - nothing has ever been as nice as this. We had never been to Devonport before but will definitely be going back again - just so we can spend more time at Birchwood. Just loved it! Thanks Rex & Julieann - and Beau! The trip across Bass Strait is well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrie-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Birchwood loves excitement.
It is exciting to get reactions from guests regarding our self contained apartments and our delightful gardens and surrounds.
We do all our own service of apartments, have a strict policy on comfort and cleanliness, we enjoy maintaining and adding colour to our gardens.
Love the experience of meeting nice people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Rex & Julianne are excellent hosts and the Studio we stayed in & Burke Cottage occupied by other family members were both spotless. It was also lovely & quiet (away from passing traffic noise) & overlooks beautiful gardens.

My only suggestion would be updating the furniture to reflect a more modern style in both these units, as I felt this detracted somewhat from what is otherwise very nice accommodation. Advertising the family home (which is not part of the accommodation) also gives a false impression of the accommodation on offer (i.e. no photos of Burke Cottage are shown in the advertisement).

Room Tip: Studio has river view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Comfort, cleanliness and helping people enjoy Devonport and surrounds is a pleasure for us at Birchwood, Devonport self contained Accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews