We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Gateway(Devonport)(Great Value!)
$116
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Devonport)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Devonport(Devonport)(Great Value!)
$80
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn(Ulverstone)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachway(Ulverstone)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
61
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homethe riverexcellent hostscity centrewithin walking distanceeasy accessgreat place to stayoff street parkingrexbeechwoodapartmentjulienneretreatfurniturelolliesproximitycleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 71 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The room that I had was excellent great view of the river, morning sun, beautiful garden outlook. Plenty of room to move about excellent shower and bathroom, bed very comfortable. great place to go for walks as there is a walking path straight across from the apartment and you can walk into town or around to the bluff overall a great spot difficult to find better anywhere. I stayed for 3 weeks and the hosts were very friendly helpful andi would highly recommend the Birchwood on the river as a great place to stay Peter B :)

Room Tip: The room that I had was excellent great view of the river, morning sun, beautiful garden outlook. Plenty of room to move about excellent shower and bathroom, bed very comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

We at Birchwood Devonport self contained accommodation find great pleasure in meeting nice people, we enjoy being able to offer not only comfortable, just like home accommodation, but try to assist long and short term business and visiting guests to enjoy the beauty of Devonport and surrounds, a great place to base yourself and do day trips to Cradle Mountain, The Nut at Stanley and Tasmania's most scenic attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed with our bub recently in the garden view suite.
As soon as I walked in I felt at home. It was so clean, warm and inviting and the garden outside was immaculate! Our little bub loved the greetings by the cats in the morning. We wanted to stay another night but they were booked out. Such a shame! Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank FreqFlyers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

A pleasure always to make people comfortable, encourage them to relax and enjoy our pleasant facilities and surrounds at Birchwood, Devonport self contained Accommodation.
Being in such a wonderful Mersey river parklands setting, being able to watch the beauty of Spirit of Tasmania passenger ferry sail past at least twice a day is so enchanting and exciting.
There is so many relaxing things to do in Devonport and surrounds, stroll the river / ocean landscaped walking paths, take in the beauty of The Bluff beach and headland with the landmark lighthouse, where you have a view of Devonport & surrounds with Mount Roland as a beautiful background.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night only and didn't book ,but loved the look from the outside,So in we went and met our Host Rex who was only too happy to show us what was available for the Night.
We decided on the apartment with the river views and was tastefully appointed throughout for a great quiet sleep. The gardens are beautifully maintained by Rex's wife and was so nice too wake up to all the colours in the garden.Would certainly recommend a stay there! Rod and Michelle,Melb.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rod I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Yes Devonport and surrounds is a great place, centre of the North west coast and easy travel distance to some of the best Tasmanian attractions, Cradle Mountain, the Western Tiers and Mount Roland, Lake Barrington world class rowing course, Tasmazia Lower Crackpot village and pancake parlour, Sheffield town of murals, Latrobe a wonderful historic and antique mecca.
The Cradle coast tasting trail is wonderful, local wines and fare - products of Raspberries, Strawberries, Blueberries, Cherries and so much more, award winning cheeses and local and exotic farm produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a great stay at Birchwood, Rex is such a lovely guy!
The apartment was massive with great views, and it is in a awesome spot right on the water.
We were really happy with everything.
Would definitely recommend. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannijscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Yes, we at Birchwood Devonport self contained Accommodation are so lucky to live in such a lovely natural spot, some units have a view over the Mersey River and Victoria Parade park lands, where you can watch Spirit of Tasmania sail past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is nice when you are away on business to stay somewhere that feels a bit like home. Birchwood on the river is certainly just like this. The apartment is homely, comfortable and clean. Rex is a very friendly and only too eager to help. You can enjoy a peaceful and relaxing walk along the river or admire the lovely garden at Birchwood. Birchwood is well located on the Mersey River and is reasonably priced. I intend to continue to stay on my twice yearly visit to Devonport in the future.

Alan - Victoria

Room Tip: The Garden View Room is very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchwoodAccomm, Owner at Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

It is always rewarding to have regular business people return to Birchwood Devonport self contained Accommodation, it indicates we are doing things right.
We are keen to ensure our high standards are maintained and we enjoy comments on our gardens as we like such a lovely hobby of seeing mother nature at work, bringing beauty and colour into our gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews