We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of Formby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Formby Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Devonport B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

called in for a lunch. Food was excellent, service a bit average, but all verry good given it wasnt overly expensive at lunch.
I tried to put in the restaurant but it didnt seem to be on here only the hotel.

Room Tip: Didnt stay here only ate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marty260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for your review Marty.
Pleased you enjoyed your lunch, as we are proud of our menu.
Sorry that the service you experienced was not up to par, but we will look to improve in that area. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
10
34
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hi, my husband and I have just left central restaurant very disappointed. I am filled with rage at the terrible breakfast I just experience. We were 2 of 4 people in the restaurant for breakfast and it took 30 minutes for my husband's cooked breakfast to arrive and another 10 for my $16 pancakes to arrive.
The pancakes!!! It was one big pancake, a bowl of maple syrup, half an over ripe(blackened) banana and frozen berries- where are the local berries and the fresh fruit?????. I would not pay $3 for it let alone $16, and what took 40 minutes???!!
Been there heaps for drinks in the bar and dinner in the restaurant (great meals and service), but would have to rate this breakfast as my worst dining experience ever!!
As locals, we will be spreading the word, $50 wasted!

What a crappy way to start a Sunday

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SezDanGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Manager at Formby Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are extremely sorry to hear about your recent breakfast dining experience. At the Central Restaurant in the Formby Hotel, we pride ourselves on offering fresh, seasonal and delicious breakfasts (and meals in general). Given that this was not your experience, we will certainly review the issue to ensure that no one, in the future, has a similar experience.
We are pleased to have spoken with you and rectified the problem and look forward to seeing you dine with us again soon.
Kinds Regards
Formby Hotel & Central Restaurant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Devonport hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent one night in Devonport before starting off on the Overland track. Traveling by the overnight ferry from Melbourne and arriving around 6am, we had to hang around till 11am for the Fromby doors to be opened. Rooms are passable and this 'hotel' worked as a stop-off. The location is what it has going for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with the Formby Hotel. We apologise that our check-in time did not suit you, but at all times we try to accommodate our guests requests. Please call ahead next time. Your visit is dated December 2012, and we continue to strive to improve our facilities and housekeeping standards, so we hope to see you if you visit the state this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrigan, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I found this place to be well located for bus stops and the Mersey ferry, as well as all the attractions of Central Devonport. My room was was quiet and comfortable enough and represented good value as did the food and liquor service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoderic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Formby. We hope to see you again soon... if only to sample our new menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeehan, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, comfy bed, hot shower, although no shampoo. The new menu started the night I arrived and with 2 others joining me for dinner we tried 3 different entrees & 3 different mains.AMAZING, DELICIOUS & YUMMY!!! HUGE size meals too. Will definatly stay here again, thank you to all for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaH315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Patricia and thank you for your kind review,. So pleased you enjoyed your meal and your accommodation. We try to keep our charges competitive, so no shampoo - sorry.
Our new menu is proving popular, so please visit again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had booked a room for 3 adults and 1 child one month prior to our stay, when we arrive we were told that the room didn't have enough beds for us all and that there were no more rooms available, my adult daughter had to sleep on pillows on the floor (We were discounted $10 for the mix up). Our room had a nice view of the Spirit of Tasmania but unfortunately it was also opposite a railway track and for the entire night there were trains shunting, we had no sleep at all as it was extremely loud and constant. The bedside light had no globe so I went down and told a worker of this problem we waited hours for someone to put a new one in but when she come to our room she told us she wasn't going to put one in as she didn't know if it was faulty or not. Not very reassuring considering the bedside light was inches away from my head. Apart from that the hotel was in a great location approximately 8 minute drive from airport across the road from the Spirit of Tasmania and close to many shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oompstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Formby Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
To "Sleepless Night"
We regret the mis-communication in regards to the number of guests that were to stay in your room. There must have been an error with the original reservation.
The Formby Hotel is over the road from the railway. To date no other guest has complained that the trains run all night.
Our staff will always do their best to ensure the safety and comfort of our guests.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Good location. Great value. Excellent dining. Woke up to see the Spirit berthing opposite. Very convenient. All good. Helpful and friendly staff especially as we arrived quite late. Perfect choice to board the morning ferry

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maff-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
0.7 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Elimatta Motor Inn
#12 of 14 in Devonport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formby Hotel

Property: Formby Hotel
Address: 82 Formby Rd, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Formby Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Formby Hotel offers comfortable, clean & affordable superior standard and budget accommodation. This hotel has just been renovated and boasts new carpet, curtains, beds and linen throughout. The Formby is located in the CBD of Devonport and on the shores of the Mersey River directly opposite the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal. We offer accommodation to suit your every requirement, whether it be a private double or family room with ensuite or shared dorm facilities for those on a budget. This property is clean, comfortable and affordable right in the heart of Devonport , and host to one of Devonport's finest restaurants The Central Restaurant. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy restaurant, bar/pub, and expansive car park. Hostel Rooms are all just 2 share, and include Locker, Linen (changed weekly), Towel, Sink, New beds, Free wifi, Heating, Communal Bathroom, Common room and Kitchen & Laundry Facilities Hotel Rooms enjoy Ensuite, Tea & Coffee Facilities, TV, Linen, towels, Fridge, Heating, Free Wifi, Spare Blankets and are welcome to use shared lounge and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Formby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formby Hotel Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing