We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a change to the restaurant”
Review of Formby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Formby Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Devonport B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2012

It has been awhile since our last meal there, this was due to the fact the food was very average and while dinning they couldn't wait to get rid of us, 8pm.

Well we tried the restaurannt again on the advice of a friend, who stated it has changed dramatically. I can report it has changed dramatically, the food was to die for, the staff excellent and the new decor is inviting and warm.

Our meals were some of the best we've had in a very long time, and the price for two entree's, 2 good sized main meals and a couple of drinks were very competitive, to be exact $77. I can tell you it's been a very long time since we've walked a way very happy with our meals, fully satisfied and the price paid.

Well done keep up the good works, and we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We went for dinner, menu was extremely limited, 2 adults and a bottle of wine later $175 we walked 2 minutes to McDonald's for desert and cheeseburgers, has a nice clean at,osphere but food was a big miss!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Aimsta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We went on the Monday the 9 April 2012 waiting for the ferry to get us back to Melbourne . Menu is great food presentation very good ,well presented flavor some and great value for pub food. The chefs must have some knowledge the trends in food currently. The waitress was extremely and professional would recommend this establishment to anybody stopping over in Devonport

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citizengastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We booked 9 rooms for the triathlon weekend and it was just what we need. Accom was basic but clean, food was cheap at the pub $10 meals. Right in the heart of town. The price for the room was thumbs up

Stayed: March 2012
Thank CBQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here on our arrival to Tas and then again the night before our departure. Arrived on a Thursday on Spirit of Tasmania and hotel was easy to find. Accomodation was basic but reasonably clean & comfortable. After our holiday we stayed again on the last night so that we didn't have far to go to board the ship the next morning. I think we must have had the same room this time as the other review, with the broken shower screen and big stains on the carpet. As this was a Saturday night we had completely different noise levels than when we stayed on the Thursday night. Young people drinking at this pub and the pub next door as well I think, until closing. A constant stream of people going through the car park to the night club around the corner started at around 11.00 pm. LOTS of yelling, screaming and carry on for hours and concerned about our car that was parked where they were all passing through. I would suggest not staying on a Friday or Saturday night as we only had a few hours sleep with all the yelling and screaming. On a good note, the meals downstairs were good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosleep_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The room was freezing cold with only a small heater not suitable for warming a room that size.
The shower screen was broken.
The exhaust fan in the bathroom was clogged by dust; obviously it hasn't been cleaned for months and maybe years!
The carpet was heavily stained with something that looked like vomit.
There was a half smoked cigarette behind the bed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieLover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank BombayGin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Formby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Elimatta Motor Inn
#12 of 14 in Devonport
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Discovery Parks - Devonport
0.3 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formby Hotel

Address: 82 Formby Rd, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range: $53 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Formby Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Formby Hotel offers comfortable, clean & affordable superior standard and budget accommodation. This hotel has just been renovated and boasts new carpet, curtains, beds and linen throughout. The Formby is located in the CBD of Devonport and on the shores of the Mersey River directly opposite the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal. We offer accommodation to suit your every requirement, whether it be a private double or family room with ensuite or shared dorm facilities for those on a budget. This property is clean, comfortable and affordable right in the heart of Devonport , and host to one of Devonport's finest restaurants The Central Restaurant. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy restaurant, bar/pub, and expansive car park. Hostel Rooms are all just 2 share, and include Locker, Linen (changed weekly), Towel, Sink, New beds, Free wifi, Heating, Communal Bathroom, Common room and Kitchen & Laundry Facilities Hotel Rooms enjoy Ensuite, Tea & Coffee Facilities, TV, Linen, towels, Fridge, Heating, Free Wifi, Spare Blankets and are welcome to use shared lounge and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Formby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formby Hotel Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing