We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude and Dirty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devonport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mersey Bluff Caravan Park
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rude and Dirty”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

First argument was about the prices on the window it say $12 for no power cam site we been told it is $12 per person instead , we got the keys for the bathroom and never use it ( Dirty ,Dirty Dirty) then we have to be abuse by a real rude woman when we complain about it.
Next Time I will follow the Trip adviser and don't go in places like this one is a west of money, shame because the site itself is real nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Giuseppe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBCPManager, Manager at Mersey Bluff Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
To answer your complaint I would like to advise not just yourself but everyone else that our unpowered tent sites ARE $12 per person per night. As for the ameneites being dirty that is so far from the truth its not even funny. Our ameneties are cleaned EVERY DAY, very throughly and to high standards - we wouldnt stay somewhere dirty so we wouldn't want anyone else to either.
And you say you were abused by a real rude woman??? Who?? We dont abuse any of our campers. If you had made a complaint about the ameneties or anything else within our park and we found that complaint to be justified we would have rectified the situation immeditely.
How about next time you have something to say you do so in person - not from behind a comnputer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    3
    7
    26
See reviews for
20
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Camping sites are absolutly disguasting , the tpilets are clean once a day at 11am and at 1 pm they alrady filfy smelly and so disguasting that we use the bushes arround, Managers keep arguing with th costumers, and the wife of the owner show her racism torword asian peopple refusing them to rent camp size, shame,shame,shame.
Never go there again and you should not too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chef66Launceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBCPManager, Manager at Mersey Bluff Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We do not appreciate being called 'racist', that is one thing we are not! We welcome people from all over the world - including people of Asian nationality. Over the fruit and vegetable picking seasons we have many, many 'Asian' people staying here for long periods of time whilst they work on the local farms. Our ameneties are not filthy and smelly either - they are cleaner than most peoples own home bathrooms. Next time you want to slander and defame someone - think twice because you can find yourself in big trouble.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Devonport hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

First we were greeted in the outer part of the office by 3 dogs - not good for people nervous of dogs. We booked an onsite caravan which was very dirty with insects on beds and tables, dirt in cupboards, walls and windowsills, roof, floor and carpet. We didnt dare try to open any windows because when pulling curtains, dust flew up. There were extension leads joined together within reach of children and dangling and no powerpoint in annexe (lounge area) for the heater. It was far too expensive for the shabbiness of the accomodation. When we asked for it to be cleaned again we were told it was clean !!!!

Room Tip: Look for yourself first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times as we find it to be a very handy location for kids. We have our own van and have found the amenities to be fine. It is very well located directly above a surf beach with another one a lovely walk away. The kids love it, there is a fantastic playground for them nearby, a cafe on the beach with the option of fish and chips or a fancier cafe meal. There are lovely walkways that the kids can ride with ease. One of their favourite things to do is to ride alongside the Spirit of Tasmania as it heads down the river and watch it go out to sea. If the weather is bad you are right in town and can go to the movies, do some shopping etc. There is also mtb riding in the area which we enjoy. It is not the most beautiful place in Tasmania, but a great place to stay for a couple of nights with the kids.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well it was a place to stay but I would like to think that the plans for the furure have a few updates with the price we paid. Staff were helpful and the park was tidy. All in all 3/5 price on the high side.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevKenDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Staying a week in our own van. The grounds arent up to the usual standard. The amenities Never get cleaned properly (stall walls haad fecies wiped on them and never cleaned for the whole week) staff that seem confused in bookings and arguementative when questioned. No kiosk or shops in walking distance ( not counting a returant or a rip off take away) price overall is high for whats on offer. We wont be back unless price is dropped and cleaning done properly and staff work with guests not just for a pay cheque. Lucky i havent called the health dept.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank taveling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

After reading the reviews we decided to give them the benefit of the doubt. For $80 we had an on site' van with annex that reminded me of the vans I stayed in during my honeymoon in the 1970;s. The windows would not open and if some did would not stay opened. No air circulation. The door on the ensuite would not close. The bed was a double even though we were told would be a queen and as my husband is 6'2" he had about 2 hours sleep with his legs hanging over the edge of the bed. There was a space of around 6 inches all around the bed so to get off to go to the toilet we would have to crawl across the bed to the bottom. No hot water tap in the kitchen. We had to boil the kettle to wash the dishes. The freezer in the fridge was so full of built up ice it would be hard to fit any food in. There were 2 very skinny pillows and no spares. There was a large gap between the wall and the top of the bed and my husband said that his pillow kept slipping into the gap leaving him with no support for his head. The location is absolutely spectacular so it is very unfortunate that the onsite accommodation is so poor. I would not charge anymore than $40 for the van. I would only recommend this place to those who wanted to camp or who had their own van, although I cannot vouch for the showers and toilets as I had no need to visit them.

Room Tip: Bring your own van
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zholsz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Devonport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bay View Holiday Village
Bay View Holiday Village
#3 of 14 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
9.0 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mersey Bluff Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mersey Bluff Caravan Park

Property: Mersey Bluff Caravan Park
Address: 41 Bluff Road, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach; adjacent to tennis courts and play grounds, and skate park; 1.5km to CBD; 100m to Bluff Lighthouse and Tiagarra Museum; 500m to Maratime Museum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mersey Bluff Caravan Park Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing