We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Review Highlights
Cheap Option

The ferry was a great option to get over to Tassie!! We just had s recliner chair which was... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
cmzajicek88
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Great way to take your car to Tassie!

We decided to take our own car to Tasmania for our holiday - so convenient! We took an overnight... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
jenniferlM4478IP
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 1,853 reviews
  
Reviews (1,853)
Filter reviews
1,853 results
Traveler rating
551
768
329
115
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
768
329
115
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews return trip deluxe cabin both ways sea sickness bass strait night crossing overnight trip hiring a car berth cabin day sail port melbourne pleasant trip rough seas inside cabin port hole market kitchen station pier
Filter
Updating list...
1,504 - 1,509 of 1,853 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We wanted to travel for three weeks and using our own car already packed was best alternative for us. No 2 1/2 drive to airport, wait and checkin, same other end, load hire car with limited luggage, from plane, then buy food and essentials.

We booked a deluxe cabin, which surprised us with the space we had and comfort. The trip was not rough so we really needed a good nights rest, which we had, we brought our own breakfast as car owners are told by deck and you are called on your deck number.

We have travelled all over the world and also ferries so know about car loading etc. the staff organised us very well.

We managed to book the Leatherwood restaurant, another review.

Tasmanians are a delightful people, great sense of humour and kindly nature, we enjoyed the staff in the shop as well. Great service.

Some previous reviews are negative and I can understand the expense for them. For us it was cheaper option after travelling only an hour and half to ship.

Save up and the deluxe and two bed cabins are the way for a night sailing. Although we saw other cabins on way off and they seemed ok too. Day sailings would be alright in chairs too.

I recommend the Spirit of Tasmania and look forward to our return trip, with all our clothes etc. we have flown before so this was fun for us!

Date of experience: May 2014
5  Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I dragged my 57 yo Taswegian born and bred partner out of Tasmania for his first time (kicking and screaming)..day sailing over to Melbourne and "deluxe" cabin back to Tasmania with the car. We loved it $774 we were happy to pay, diidn't bother with food on either trip (awful and expensive). The next year we wanted to do the same thing (no day sailing - had to sleep in a bus seat), it was going to cost us over $1300 and $1800 with a cabin both ways - that's an airfare to LA or London. Told them to get stuffed and decided to fly and drive, saved over $400 dollars and got two extra days on the Great Ocean Road. They price gouge over the holiday periods - they wanted $422 per person return for night sailings in a bus seat WITHOUT the car this Easter (good luck trying to get it on). They don't put on extra sailings or staff, I expect to pay a bit more on the holiday season but not blatant extortion rates. Complained to the ACCC - don't expect any response. The same with Jetstar, $69 to fly into Hobart but a min of $269 to get out of Tasmania. Again, no extra flights or staff. Tasmanians are held to ransom on an island due to corporate greed and, you could say, profiteering. Anyhoo, unless something changes with TT Line, we'll never darken their decks again. Shameful price gouging that should be stopped by the Tasmanian Government.

Date of experience: June 2013
7  Thank nemohobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Well the return trip itself is good, very efficient and pretty comfortable. On board it is pretty expensive and on the way to Tasmania the main restaurant was fully booked as there were a bunch of Rolls Royce owners travelling so we had no choice as to go buffet restaurant. Nor the food nor the service was great. We took a meal and a dessert and had to pay more than the specials offer for am meal, dessert en a drink. Our drink (alcohol) was on top of that as that was not included which is nowhere mentioned, so basically we had to take a soft drink and throw it away to be cheaper ..... We skipped breakfast as we were told there were plenty of options on arrival by fellow travelers. On the way back we did not dine at all and we had a great lunch and took our own food on board. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: April 2014
8  Thank JohanandWilanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Just had a meal if that is what you call it on the spirit of Tasmania traveling from Melbourne to Devonport.

Absolutely disgusting.

Not only the meal Of Undercooked vegetables and tough meat but the $31 per plate as well.

Give us a break.

Take my advice and pack a feed before you get on board. You will save heaps.

A few wraps or a bucket of KFC and some refreshments and you would be the envy of every poor. Soul who ate here tonight.

Breakfast be buggered.

I'll wait till I'm off the boat.

Your loss TT LINE.

15  Thank SLACKESTBLADDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We got coped 1750 k for car and camper trailer and neally missed it because unions wouldn't accept extra trailer size . I'll be flying next time and renting vehicle there . This was mid December before holidays

Date of experience: December 2013
3  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews