We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we can now say "we've done it"”
Review of Spirit of Tasmania

Spirit of Tasmania
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Devonport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spirit of Tasmania’s Melbourne-Devonport service provides you flexibility and convenience when planning your holiday. Our twin ships depart from both ports at 7.30pm and arrive the following morning at 6.00am. During peak season, we also operate day sailings departing from each port at 9.00am and arriving the same day at 6.00pm.On board, you can experience spectacular views, delicious food, great entertainment, relaxation and so much more!
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“we can now say "we've done it"”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The 4 of us decided to go on Spirit of Tasmania for an experience and adventure over to Tassie rather than flying, and we took our car because of the recent sales campaign so it was slightly cheaper than flying & hiring a car. From Melbourne we had to queue for about an hour to board the car but other reviews mentioned about that so it wasnt a suprise. We highly recommend getting the cabins instead of the recliners and make sure you pack an overnight bag with toiletries as cabins too small for large bags. the porthole cabins arent really any better than the inside ones unless you want an early view of devonport. Going over weather mild so no sea sickness, but we all found it hard to get to sleep as beds were vibrating with the ship engine. cafe food was like all buffet restaurants so its only OK. The ship has a little shop, pokies area and a silver service restaurant and also two bar areas and Tv's located throughout. In the morning you have to be up early as you leave ship at 06.30 there is a wake up general announcement at 5.50 so don't worry about sleeping in.
Overall worth doing at least once, particularly for convience of having your own car or caravan,but check the weather beforehand to see if you need any motion sickness tablets

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BDTBdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    576
    281
    98
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Start your trip off with the Spirit”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go on Spirit of Tasmania as part of our adventure over to Tasmania rather than flying as you can take your car. It is much more expensive than flying but we thought it would be a different experience. On the way over from Melbourne we had to queue for about an hour to board the car but this is to be expected and kids excited about getting on the boat so they were entertained watching people in other vehicles etc. Be mindful once the boat sets sail you can't return to car so ensure medications etc are taken with you. Also pack an overnight bag as cabins too small to house large luggage. You will need to take all toiletries as no shampoo,conditioner etc provided in cabins. We booked a 4 bed cabin with porthole and they are compact. Two people standing up feels crushed and on a night sailing the porthole is only good for arriving in the mornings when daylight comes to see lights on land at Devonport. Going over weather mild so no sea sickness. We all found it hard to sleep as beds were vibrating with the ship engine. cafe food like all buffet restaurants so we ate prior to boarding and just had a snack. There's a little theatrette on board showing movies around 7.30 & 10pm. For little kids you need to get in early to get a seat at front as the chairs are not situated on tiered levels and the backs of the chairs are high which blocks the view for the children and no booster seats available. It's a great idea though to pass away a few hrs. The ship has a little shop, pokies area and a silver service restaurant and also two bar areas and Tv's located throughout. In the morning you have to be up early as you leave ship at 06.30 there is a wake up general announcement about 05.55 so don't worry about sleeping in. On our return trip we encountered bad weather and one of the kids suffered sea sickness so Kewells tablets came in handy. It is hard to sleep with the vibrations and general movement of the ship but the shower in the morning has good pressure to revitalize you. Overall worth doing at least once,particularly for convience of having your own car or caravan,but check the weather to see if the kids need to take a Kewells prior to boarding!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great way to travel to tassie with your own car”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The boarding in Melbourne was quite confusing...don't hold off lining up in your car thinking that you can't board until 1.5hrs before departure as you will wait in line for about two hours anyway. Food is a rip off. I travelled with 12 yo son on ocean recliner with no probs - we both slept fine, however we r used to "roughing it"; an ocean recliner may not suit those who definitely need a bed for sleep

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go at night”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have travelled on the spirit a few times. It is great as you can take your car and caravan if you wish. It is a bit expensive when you have a caravan but if you can stay in Tassie for a few months it is well worth it. We have travelled on a night sail and a day sail. We would always travel at night and take a cabin. We found the day sail quite long and tedious. I don't know how people with children manage. We would advise eating before boarding. The food is rather expensive and not that good. There is an on board theatre that does screen recent movies. The cabins are small but quite comfortable. You can book a deluxe cabin which gives you a queen size bed and a TV. The other cabins have bunks or 2 singles and no TV. The staff are very helpful. The bar prices are quite reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank JanicenTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Crossing Bass Strait on the 'Spirit'”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What I love about it is, comfort, and we can take our caravan across with us, If you have children there is something for them to do too. The cabins are a little small but it depends on what level of cabin one chooses, the Silver service restaurant is excellent and I love the way it showcases local Tassie food. There is also a buffet which serves reasonable food. The travel/tourist office staff are knowledgeable and just about every area of Tassie is covered. they also have maps of how to navigate one's way out of Melbourne.
The major drawback is the cost , there is a seniors discount available, It is necessary though to book your passage early as they book out quickly. Fares are cheaper in the winter months, Spring / summer Autumn are the best times to visit . The Autumn colour is amazing. Devonport is a great place to have breakfast before travelling South. There are some lovely eateries in Devonport.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank jen44498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Tasmania also viewed

 

Been to Spirit of Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing