We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Review Highlights
A right of passage

I came to Tasmania with my car and some belongings on board what we in Tassie affectionately call... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Debbydoodardar
,
Penguin, Australia
via mobile
Holiday

This was the beginning of a planned holiday in the island state. The trip surprised us as the last... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Juliemta18
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 1,834 reviews
  
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveler rating
547
759
328
112
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
759
328
112
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews return trip deluxe cabin both ways sea sickness bass strait hiring a car overnight trip night crossing day sail berth cabin port melbourne pleasant trip rough seas recliner seats inside cabin port hole market kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,572 - 1,577 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We decided to go on Spirit of Tasmania as part of our adventure over to Tasmania rather than flying as you can take your car. It is much more expensive than flying but we thought it would be a different experience. On the way over from Melbourne we had to queue for about an hour to board the car but this is to be expected and kids excited about getting on the boat so they were entertained watching people in other vehicles etc. Be mindful once the boat sets sail you can't return to car so ensure medications etc are taken with you. Also pack an overnight bag as cabins too small to house large luggage. You will need to take all toiletries as no shampoo,conditioner etc provided in cabins. We booked a 4 bed cabin with porthole and they are compact. Two people standing up feels crushed and on a night sailing the porthole is only good for arriving in the mornings when daylight comes to see lights on land at Devonport. Going over weather mild so no sea sickness. We all found it hard to sleep as beds were vibrating with the ship engine. cafe food like all buffet restaurants so we ate prior to boarding and just had a snack. There's a little theatrette on board showing movies around 7.30 & 10pm. For little kids you need to get in early to get a seat at front as the chairs are not situated on tiered levels and the backs of the chairs are high which blocks the view for the children and no booster seats available. It's a great idea though to pass away a few hrs. The ship has a little shop, pokies area and a silver service restaurant and also two bar areas and Tv's located throughout. In the morning you have to be up early as you leave ship at 06.30 there is a wake up general announcement about 05.55 so don't worry about sleeping in. On our return trip we encountered bad weather and one of the kids suffered sea sickness so Kewells tablets came in handy. It is hard to sleep with the vibrations and general movement of the ship but the shower in the morning has good pressure to revitalize you. Overall worth doing at least once,particularly for convience of having your own car or caravan,but check the weather to see if the kids need to take a Kewells prior to boarding!

Date of experience: September 2013
6  Thank 534wendyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The boarding in Melbourne was quite confusing...don't hold off lining up in your car thinking that you can't board until 1.5hrs before departure as you will wait in line for about two hours anyway. Food is a rip off. I travelled with 12 yo son on ocean recliner with no probs - we both slept fine, however we r used to "roughing it"; an ocean recliner may not suit those who definitely need a bed for sleep

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank SandraB424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have travelled on the spirit a few times. It is great as you can take your car and caravan if you wish. It is a bit expensive when you have a caravan but if you can stay in Tassie for a few months it is well worth it. We have travelled on a night sail and a day sail. We would always travel at night and take a cabin. We found the day sail quite long and tedious. I don't know how people with children manage. We would advise eating before boarding. The food is rather expensive and not that good. There is an on board theatre that does screen recent movies. The cabins are small but quite comfortable. You can book a deluxe cabin which gives you a queen size bed and a TV. The other cabins have bunks or 2 singles and no TV. The staff are very helpful. The bar prices are quite reasonable.

Date of experience: September 2013
8  Thank JanicenTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What I love about it is, comfort, and we can take our caravan across with us, If you have children there is something for them to do too. The cabins are a little small but it depends on what level of cabin one chooses, the Silver service restaurant is excellent and I love the way it showcases local Tassie food. There is also a buffet which serves reasonable food. The travel/tourist office staff are knowledgeable and just about every area of Tassie is covered. they also have maps of how to navigate one's way out of Melbourne.
The major drawback is the cost , there is a seniors discount available, It is necessary though to book your passage early as they book out quickly. Fares are cheaper in the winter months, Spring / summer Autumn are the best times to visit . The Autumn colour is amazing. Devonport is a great place to have breakfast before travelling South. There are some lovely eateries in Devonport.

Date of experience: April 2013
6  Thank jen44498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Traveling to Tasmania on the Spirit of Tasmania II is more expensive than flying but the conveniance of taking your own car with more lugage balance out the cost if you are going to spend a week or more in Tasmania. The food on the ship is over priced quality lacking, the ship offers a theatrette with a kids move at 8 and adult movie at 10pm which is free and is relaxing as the ship sways breaking through the waves. I recommend buying food before boarding the ship.

Date of experience: August 2013
4  Thank freelancer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews