We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Review Highlights
Great way to take your car to Tassie!

We decided to take our own car to Tasmania for our holiday - so convenient! We took an overnight... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
jenniferlM4478IP
,
Sydney, Australia
Last minute booking was good price and no fuss

Needed to bring a large car back from Tasmania so we booked car and 2 adults on a Saturday day trip... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
kazza0111
,
Brisbane Region, Australia
Read all 1,851 reviews
  
Reviews (1,851)
Filter reviews
1,851 results
Traveler rating
551
767
329
115
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
767
329
115
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews return trip deluxe cabin both ways sea sickness bass strait night crossing overnight trip hiring a car berth cabin day sail port melbourne pleasant trip rough seas inside cabin port hole market kitchen station pier
Filter
Updating list...
1,591 - 1,596 of 1,851 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have travelled on the spirit a few times. It is great as you can take your car and caravan if you wish. It is a bit expensive when you have a caravan but if you can stay in Tassie for a few months it is well worth it. We have travelled on a night sail and a day sail. We would always travel at night and take a cabin. We found the day sail quite long and tedious. I don't know how people with children manage. We would advise eating before boarding. The food is rather expensive and not that good. There is an on board theatre that does screen recent movies. The cabins are small but quite comfortable. You can book a deluxe cabin which gives you a queen size bed and a TV. The other cabins have bunks or 2 singles and no TV. The staff are very helpful. The bar prices are quite reasonable.

Date of experience: September 2013
8  Thank JanicenTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What I love about it is, comfort, and we can take our caravan across with us, If you have children there is something for them to do too. The cabins are a little small but it depends on what level of cabin one chooses, the Silver service restaurant is excellent and I love the way it showcases local Tassie food. There is also a buffet which serves reasonable food. The travel/tourist office staff are knowledgeable and just about every area of Tassie is covered. they also have maps of how to navigate one's way out of Melbourne.
The major drawback is the cost , there is a seniors discount available, It is necessary though to book your passage early as they book out quickly. Fares are cheaper in the winter months, Spring / summer Autumn are the best times to visit . The Autumn colour is amazing. Devonport is a great place to have breakfast before travelling South. There are some lovely eateries in Devonport.

Date of experience: April 2013
6  Thank jen44498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Traveling to Tasmania on the Spirit of Tasmania II is more expensive than flying but the conveniance of taking your own car with more lugage balance out the cost if you are going to spend a week or more in Tasmania. The food on the ship is over priced quality lacking, the ship offers a theatrette with a kids move at 8 and adult movie at 10pm which is free and is relaxing as the ship sways breaking through the waves. I recommend buying food before boarding the ship.

Date of experience: August 2013
4  Thank freelancer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

great idea to take car over, however we still had to wait in line for nearly 2 hours in the car to actually get on the boat. Small cabins ok for 2 people, cant imagine 4 in a room..definitely better than sitting on a seat all night though. We took travel sickness tablets and that helped, but the boat went through a bit of weather so it was hard to get used to the motion while trying to sleep. The Leatherwood restaurant had nice food, did not try the cafe. Not much in the way of sweeter styles of alcohol on offer, no ciders or moscatos..lots of beers. A lot smaller area to explore than I expected, would be better in summer when you could go onto decks

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank heatherthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's a lot more expensive than flying but for me the convenience of taking the car loaded up with whatever you want, takes the stress out of packing and going to the airport. On this occassion we took advantage of half price winter pricing.

Check in and car loading is very efficient, but be aware that loading starts 90 minutes before departure and there is no point getting there earlier unless you are happy to sit in a long queue. You must check in 45 minutes before departure.

On board eating is ok but we always eat before boarding and perhaps have a sandwich and beer on board, before watching a movie and going to bed.

Overnight sailing takes about 10 hours and we would recommend having a cabin. Get the cheapest available private cabin, there is no point paying extra for a window as there is nothing to see after the first hour or so.

Being winter it was still dark when we disembarked in Devonport, and rather than driving off into the dark we suggest you have breakfast at one of the many places that offer very early breakfasts in Devonport.

Date of experience: July 2013
6  Thank Ozblue_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews