We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Review Highlights
A right of passage

I came to Tasmania with my car and some belongings on board what we in Tassie affectionately call... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Debbydoodardar
,
Penguin, Australia
via mobile
Holiday

This was the beginning of a planned holiday in the island state. The trip surprised us as the last... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Juliemta18
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 1,834 reviews
  
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveler rating
547
759
328
112
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
759
328
112
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews return trip deluxe cabin both ways sea sickness bass strait hiring a car overnight trip night crossing day sail berth cabin port melbourne pleasant trip rough seas recliner seats inside cabin port hole market kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,648 - 1,653 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Spirit of tasmania was quite average - on need of an upgrade and needs so money pumped into it - no outdoor chairs and no real entertainment - kids had done face paint n activities n there was singer who ayes briefly. Paid $130 -$160 for a day ticket - food n drinks average n quite pricey - played cards majority of the time. Lucky we were a group of friends to keep eachother entertained. It's a tick of the "to do" list but don't really feel the value in the trip

1  Thank Meakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went across to Tasmania on the Spirit by night and came back via daytime. If you need to get your car across to Tasmania, as we did, this is pretty much the only way, and we found the trip to be hassle free both ways. Whilst the service and food was average, it was nothing I did not expect.

I would recommend getting a cabin. They are clean and a good place to relax. We slept pretty much the whole way over. There are lots of activities during the day, particularly if you have children, including movies, face painting, badge making and colouring. It makes the day pass quickly.

The food is average and priced reasonably high – as we expected. The breakfast is poor quality in range with cold / warm food. The lunch buffet is ok but is $25 for a large plate. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was a much better experience, with good service, however it was very expensive.

The service overall is quite poor – sometimes it feels a little like they are doing you a favour to serve you, but most are friendly and its not unpleasant.

It is a lengthy process to get your car on board. The gates open 2.5 hours from departure, but you do not board until 1.5 hours before departure. That said, its hard to see how they can do it faster. Maybe try turning up later, or just be prepared for some time sitting in the car and if you have kids bring some entertainment.

Date of experience: January 2013
3  Thank mr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We travelled to Tasmania on the Spirit in early January, and returned after two glorious weeks travelling around. We paid just shy of $1,300 for two adults and a child, with a four berth cabin for three persons (exclusive occupancy). It was a little on the expensive side, but as it was our first trip, we decided to try a night crossing. We had a very smooth crossing from Melbourne to Devonport, and slept soundly in the comfortable room. We ate in a small cafe in Port Melbourne prior to boarding as we had read previous reviews on Trip Advisor in relation to the catering. As indicated by others its quite a wait for boarding, so no point in being first in the queue; best to wait until a bit later. It was a warm day and sitting around in the car isn't much fun, so make sure you have something to while away the time and a cool drink. Checks prior to boarding were swift and well executed. We were given the magic green card in Melbourne, which made our exit at Devonport fast. The Tourism place on board was a great bonus and staff were very helpful. We spent some money in the shop on souvenirs and the like and customer service was exemplary. Purchased drinks and light snacks from the bar and found them to be a little high in price, but it is what it is. Its not a cruise ship, its a ferry as alluded to in earlier reviews, however, we enjoyed the experience. Seating around the boat is comfortable and tv's are a distraction to stave off boredom.

On the return trip the weather was a little less kind, than our trip over, however, the ferry was more than comfortable, and we were able to sleep.

Some tips:

(a) Wait as long as you can prior to heading to the boarding queue.
(b) Have something to do/read/watch/play while in the queue, and definitely if its a warmish day, take cold drinks.
(c) Book to travel on the night crossing.
(d) Treat yourself to a cabin. Its worth the extra money. The recliners look really uncomfortable and not very private.
(e) If travelling with children, take their pillow from home.
(f) Don't eat breakfast on board. Its too early anyway. Get through the exit process, then drive until you come across somewhere at a reasonable hour that serves good breakfasts. (For us that was at Wynyard.)
(g) Pray that you don't have any rude, inconsiderate nuff heads that think chatting to all and sundry takes precedence over your egress/exit from the boat in a timely manner..... Yes, it does happen......

Date of experience: January 2013
9  Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip on the Spirit of Tasmania. We did the day sailing journey with a cabin. The kids found it fun with the playroom and cinema keeping them entertained. The only thing different I would do for next time is make a night trip instead, the day sailing was a bit long, and after all the initial excitement wears off and everything has been seen and done, it gets a tad boring. The restaurants and bars are fantastic, reasonably priced. Gift shop was great for souvenirs and stocking up on magazines and snacks for the trip. Looking forward to the next journey.

1  Thank Lara Jayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's been my umpteenth trip on the Spirit. It never changes. I always get a porthole cabin so the sleeping is that little bit nicer. Bring some padding (leather jacket, camping mat, etc) before the staff tie down your motorbike. Ask to be parked on level 6 or 4 if you have an expensive car. On the main vehicle deck, all cars are tightly parked, so passengers with their baggage walk past in and out.
The restaurants are ok with typical tourist prices. No food is freshly cooked in any restaurant on the Spirit. It is all pre packed/cooked and then simply heated and served. You can take your own food and drinks (not alcohol) on board and to your cabin if you desire. A great way to save money on the ship. Definately book as soon as you know your travel plans. Also, get onto the Spirit of Tasmania website to see for specials and black-out periods, double sailings, etc.
Enjoy the service it offers (with no competition to take your vehicle).
I prefer any airline anyday and a lot cheaper too. It's just, I need to move my vehicle at times.

Date of experience: August 2012
5  Thank LouTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews