We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Dannebrog Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dannebrog Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

A delight from check-in to check-out. The room (1) was at front of the house and whilst the bedroom was small there was plenty of space with a lounge-room attached, with table and chairs and armchairs. Lovely view to the front, good heating and impeccably clean. It's the small things that make a difference though...lots of tissues, nice soaps, clean fresh linen, a nice breakfast area with coffee machine and biscuits and fruit available and then there is Milca. She is warm, caring and goes out of her way to make you comfortable, a real delight.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppy3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    35
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
27
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A comfortable bed and breakfast place overlooking the river. The room was missing a few things that i would have liked such as bath mat, bin in the bathroom and sanitary bags. We asked to have breakfast half an hour earlier than the earliest listed time and that was no problem. A filling cooked breakfast. We booked and paid via Wotif but it would have cost 25 dollars less had we gone direct.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shooshaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Seduced by the Dannebrog Lodge website's promise of Danish "hygge" - a sense of comfort and well being - we were sadly disappointed. This establishment is not so much a B&B, but more of a boarding house.

Originally a bungalow, first floor and ground floor extensions have been added to the building resulting in a somewhat eccentric layout. One room (no. 8) is accessed through the resident's lounge. Our room (no. 10) was one of two first floor rooms at the rear in what felt like a modular building perched over the ground floor utility area. Also, it was directly above the car park and only had an extremely oblique view of the river.

Our room was small and cramped with little comfort. The bed was so soft that it made my back ache and both occupants tended to roll towards the centre. Two wooden chairs and a desk like table were provided, but no easy chair for relaxing. No tea making facilities were provided in the room, contrary to what is said on the website. Also, there was no iron. Only one wine glass and one beer glass were provided, which seemed odd. Wi-Fi is free but the signal did not reach our room.

The room was very hot with no air conditioning, only a fan positioned on top of a tall chest. This was so noisy that it made a good night's sleep virtually impossible.

In the morning we were disturbed at 6:30 by another guest packing, unpacking and repacking his car immediately below our window. He then sat with his engine running for 10 minutes whilst waiting for the rest of his party.

The resident's lounge is rather a somber looking room with decor that has a 1930s feel and, as already mentioned, one room accessed off it.

The cooked breakfast was good, although the fruit juice was not fresh and we were not offered any cereal. Only cheap white sliced bread was available for toast.

We would not stay here again and having done some research found that far better value is available in Devonport.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank godders49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed one night in February 2013 - perfect, small but very clean queen room - with en-suite excellent hosts and great cooked breakfast - great location on waterfront and close to shops Would stay again- recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have stayed here twice now for work and it is a pleasant, great value place with excellent hospitality. Rooms are simple but clean, comfortable beds and good cooked breakfast included. Good location on the waterfront and an easy walk to plenty of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradandlyndal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was lucky enough to book a room here on my last night in Tasmania - just wish I had allowed longer here. The Lodge and the service were both great, and the view from the breakfast room was delightful. I will stay here again if I get the chance

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Specialkaye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Milca & Jan are fantastic hosts, we stayed here on our first night and our last night in Tasmania and both nights we had a lovely stay. The value here is excellent, such clean, comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast. Would absolutely stay here again. Thank you so much! Bec & Chris.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dannebrog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dannebrog Lodge

Property: Dannebrog Lodge
Address: 18 Victoria Pde, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dannebrog Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dannebrog lodge 8 clean and bright rooms all with private ensuite, free wireless internet, we are 2 min from CBD, we operate Dannebrog Bar & Grill a 160 seater restaurant 2 min away which can accommodate all you eating and meeting needs all charged to one bill. We got 2 printing companies 3 min away, for all your printing needs on a larger scale. Devonport Quanta's air link 7 min away, we even pick you up or drop you off FREE at devonport Airport or Spirit ferry terminal. Hot cooked breakfast is including in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dannebrog Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dannebrog Lodge Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing