We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dannebrog Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dannebrog Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have stayed here twice now for work and it is a pleasant, great value place with excellent hospitality. Rooms are simple but clean, comfortable beds and good cooked breakfast included. Good location on the waterfront and an easy walk to plenty of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradandlyndal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    35
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
27
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was lucky enough to book a room here on my last night in Tasmania - just wish I had allowed longer here. The Lodge and the service were both great, and the view from the breakfast room was delightful. I will stay here again if I get the chance

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Specialkaye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Milca & Jan are fantastic hosts, we stayed here on our first night and our last night in Tasmania and both nights we had a lovely stay. The value here is excellent, such clean, comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast. Would absolutely stay here again. Thank you so much! Bec & Chris.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Donnebrog as we were moving to Tasmania and waiting to get the keys for our new house. A few minutes after driving off the ferry we were there. Lovely big character house, spacious, clean, well appointed rooms. Our daughter loved the little bunk bed room. The bed was so comfy, really good quality. Had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Option of fully cooked or continental. Fab coffee machine and guest lounge with DVDs for the whole family. We were travelling with our dog and the owners kindly allowed her to stay although I am not sure they are officially a dog friendly B&B. Warm friendly welcome and Milca went out of her way to help - even heard her telling another guest she would give her a lift to the airport. Lovely place and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doglover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked into Dannebrog for our last night in Tas based on its very handy location near the Spirit of Tasmania departure point. A pleasant b&b and the hosts could not have done more to make our stay more pleasant. We asked if they could provide some sandwiches for the following day which was no trouble at all. We would also recommend the Cafe a few hundred meters down the road for a lovely evening meal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Western Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant one night stay while on a sales trip around Tasmania. I booked room 6 at the back of the Lodge to be away from the street noise. It is a fairly small room with a Queen bed, Tv, heater, small bar fridge, tea n coffee making facilities, desk with chair, small cupboard with extra blankets and space to hang a few clothes, ensuite bathroom with shower. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed watching TV in bed. The room is not large and I was glad we only had two small carry on suitcases with us. Our Host was warm and friendly and we enjoyed our cooked breakfast in the sun room overlooking the river. The fresh coffee with breakfast was a lovely touch.
I would consider this a budget B n B clean and comfortable, value for money. Our only concern was the shower pressure and the water was either hot or cold unless you timed it well on had a very quick shower.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This is our first review of a place that we have returned to after an excellent experience first time around. As a family of four, we were not disappointed. Great people and a wonderful place to stay. And, if you don't believe us, just look at how long some of their staff have been working with them, either at this B&B or their restaurant of the same name. Well done.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tomandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#5 of 5 in Devonport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birchwood, Devonport Self contained Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dannebrog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dannebrog Lodge

Property: Dannebrog Lodge
Address: 18 Victoria Parade, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dannebrog Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dannebrog lodge 8 clean and bright rooms all with private ensuite, free wireless internet, we are 2 min from CBD, we operate Dannebrog Bar & Grill a 160 seater restaurant 2 min away which can accommodate all you eating and meeting needs all charged to one bill. We got 2 printing companies 3 min away, for all your printing needs on a larger scale. Devonport Quanta's air link 7 min away, we even pick you up or drop you off FREE at devonport Airport or Spirit ferry terminal. Hot cooked breakfast is including in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dannebrog Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dannebrog Lodge Devonport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing