We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really enjoyed our over night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Gold Coast australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really enjoyed our over night stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The studio we stayed in was modern, comfortable and warm. The facilities inside this lovely little cabin where very good. There was nice little extras provided. Would definitly stay there again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennyh0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    48
    30
    20
    21
See reviews for
47
133
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We found the accommodation overpriced for what it was - hardly the romantic getaway that they advertise! The owners were rude and unhelpful and made us wish that we had just stopped at Lake St Clair for lunch and kept driving to Hobart to spend the night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holidays05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Greetings from Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios - Tasmania.

An online booking was made for two adults only, requesting one of our studios, with a tariff of $AUD155. No mention was made of a child, however on arrival they had a baby of approximately 3-4 months of age, thus requiring a cot and more suitable accommodation. (Our website informs of the tariff for children 11 yrs or younger is $AUD25. We do not offer studios where a child is mentioned, as they are totally unsuitable.)

Luckily, we could arrange this, which not only has a higher tariff, because it is in our chalet range, but the child had to be paid for as well. Normally, this would have totalled $AUD220, but in view of the circumstances we offered a tariff of $AUD195.

The male partner became quite offensive – to the point of being outright rude to my wife, not only chastising her for the mix up, but for the increase in price, as they saw it as our fault. He even suggested calling the police, as he viewed we had messed up the booking, to which my wife said “by all means, please do.” Nothing said could calm the situation, however eventually they took the accommodation offered.

Upon returning late in the evening, I found my wife in a very distressed state, still numbed by the verbal abuse she was forced to suffer, for something that was not of her making. Because it was so late, we decided to speak to the guest the next morning regarding his rude attitude.

Eventually, it suggested to him, that if I had been available to check them in and he carried on with me, the same as he did with my wife, that he would not have stayed at our property, he became very argumentative, aggressive and threatening, calling me “every name under the sun”. He then said he would call the police, to which I said “by all means – I will do it now” and proceeded to enter our reception area to phone. He then became quite defensive and said “No, no, we have to be in Hobart”, walked back to his car and drove off.

We are particularly accommodating to our guests and their needs – our website guest’s comments, “in house” comment books and TripAdvisor comments are testament to this. Our business is based on guest satisfaction, something we are very proud of. But when guests become abusive, with matters not of our making and they cannot see reason or accept responsibility, then we feel have the right to defend ourselves.

Regards,

John & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The accommodation was comfortable though for a cabin it was quite small. The difficulty id that there is not much available in the area for accommodation. The sign saying that there would be any extra charge of somehting like $50 if any dirty dishes were left in the sink left a negative feel to the stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiet-Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Regretfully, because of previous guest’s behaviour, we have been forced to place a sign for both breakfast supplies disappearing and dirty dishes. We are aware that some guests may find this unpleasant. But if you could see the mess some people leave on departure, we are sure you too would agree with our need to remind guests, it is their responsibility to clean up after their stay in a self-catering property. The fee is only applied in the worst possible instances - which are few.

We have 3 x levels of accommodation. These guests chose to stay in one of our studios, which are the smallest in our range.

Regards, John & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra,Sunshine Coast,Qld.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed in a twin bed studio unit with kitchenette.Ensuite bathroom,TV and settee and heater for the cold. Complementry plunger coffee,chocolates and port were provided.It was very clean and comfortable.My advise is to make sure that you wash up all dishes and put them back in the cupboards if used otherwise they will charge you an extra $50 on your credit card after you leave [this happened to another traveller in a review that I read,so I made sure that I asked the manager about it when I arrived]

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Stayed here after walking with friends.
Brought food for an evening meal and found everything we needed to prepare the meal to be available and of the highest quality.
The owner met us and proudly showed us to the chalet and lit the fire ( yes I know, but this is Tasmania in February and expect anything).
The chalet contained two rooms for 5 people and was meticulously clean, the sign of a very good operator.
Located on the Lyell Highway, we were surprised at how quiet the rooms were at night.
A must see at Derwent Bridge is The Wall, a wonderful woodworking work in process

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Just finished a return stay for fishing in the nearby lakes. This is our 4th trip and always enjoy coming here. Good location, warm cabins which are well kitted out and friendly hosts. I will return next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherman-melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Fantastic! This best-kept secret getaway is situated between two large national parks. Words barely begin to describe the sheer beauty of this place.

Huge and cozy challet, had everything you could want or need. Apart from a covered car port for the rental, the challet boasted a full and very well-equpped kitchen with dining room table and service for four. Outside, a veranda with table/chairs offered great views of the local wildlife. Very nice sitting room, large bathroom and what had to be the most comfortable bed I've seen in my travels of 65+ countries in 20 years.

This would've been enough to feel like home away from home, but John & Louise went over the top; far exceeded my expectations. Personalized recommendations for sites to see and treks to take. Spot-on advice regarding the local area. Washer and dryer with daily washing powder provided. Even port wine and chocolates and my choice of French press or regular coffee! And just like John said, Four resident Kookaburras came to feed in the backyard each day between 1830-1930 (depening on when you travel, dusk times may vary). After sunset, the marsupials abounded! Brilliant!!

Very environmentally conscientious too. Recycle bins in the room and even the rain water was recycled for use. This is a huge plus in my book, esp in places such as those situated in or near national parks.

The food at the local pub was very nice... with wallabies in the backyard at dusk. There's a twice-daily (weather permitting) shuttle boat that'll take you to some of the trek sites for some of the most gorgeous scenes. John & Louise had on offer several types of lovely wine to buy for quite reasonable prices.

The thing that struck me most tho was the brilliant attention to detail; not a single thing was overlooked. The personal attention went far and above anything one could expect in the way of hospitality or guest service. I thought it was just 'me' until I picked up the guest book and read some of the others' comments.

Highly recommend a stay here... big hugs to Stella (John & Louise's toy poodle) if you do!

Theresa Price
Yank in Belgium

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgiumTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.5 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
343 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
15.8 mi away
Tarraleah Lodge
Tarraleah Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tarraleah
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Property: Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing