We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is 5 stars all I can give?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Fantastic! This best-kept secret getaway is situated between two large national parks. Words barely begin to describe the sheer beauty of this place.

Huge and cozy challet, had everything you could want or need. Apart from a covered car port for the rental, the challet boasted a full and very well-equpped kitchen with dining room table and service for four. Outside, a veranda with table/chairs offered great views of the local wildlife. Very nice sitting room, large bathroom and what had to be the most comfortable bed I've seen in my travels of 65+ countries in 20 years.

This would've been enough to feel like home away from home, but John & Louise went over the top; far exceeded my expectations. Personalized recommendations for sites to see and treks to take. Spot-on advice regarding the local area. Washer and dryer with daily washing powder provided. Even port wine and chocolates and my choice of French press or regular coffee! And just like John said, Four resident Kookaburras came to feed in the backyard each day between 1830-1930 (depening on when you travel, dusk times may vary). After sunset, the marsupials abounded! Brilliant!!

Very environmentally conscientious too. Recycle bins in the room and even the rain water was recycled for use. This is a huge plus in my book, esp in places such as those situated in or near national parks.

The food at the local pub was very nice... with wallabies in the backyard at dusk. There's a twice-daily (weather permitting) shuttle boat that'll take you to some of the trek sites for some of the most gorgeous scenes. John & Louise had on offer several types of lovely wine to buy for quite reasonable prices.

The thing that struck me most tho was the brilliant attention to detail; not a single thing was overlooked. The personal attention went far and above anything one could expect in the way of hospitality or guest service. I thought it was just 'me' until I picked up the guest book and read some of the others' comments.

Highly recommend a stay here... big hugs to Stella (John & Louise's toy poodle) if you do!

Theresa Price
Yank in Belgium

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelgiumTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 248 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

The units are nice. we chose to upgrade from a studio after the first night due to inclement weather and being boxed in a bit. We stayed three nights, a long stay according to Tourism Tasmania. On departure the spa unit we upgraded to was left with dishes washed, table wiped, towels etc in a pile on the bathroom floor, bedding covers folded on the bed, fire place tidy and swept the harth, and generally things left in a very suitable state ready for cleaners to prepare for new guests. We did not party there, no mess, all windows left ajar for ventilation in preparation for the house keeping to be done. On return to our home state we discovered a charge of $50 to our credit card for cleaning the dishes and bathroom. I and others I know have never expeced to be house keepers to leave accomodation in a state ready for for new guests. We were guests that chose this property for a tranqil stay in Tasmania's famed wilderness. We are insulted after thanking this operator for their hospitality, with no mention of any concerns leaving them to service the unit after the first day. This proprietor apparently had issues with the one night stay and failed to say anything to us about it. Like a coward waited until we left to process the charges.
We are in our 50's, and seasoned travellers.The attitude struck me as not suited to the hospitality industry and undermines the other very good operators of Derwent Bridge, not to mention Tourism Tasmania's marketing to interstate travellers.

I will post other reviews wherever possible and reccommend you seek a better destination for your wilderness experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller2006_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2009

“Empty vessels make the most noise”, especially when the truth is reshaped to suit the circumstance. We were happy to upgrade these guests, as we thought a three day stay in one of our studios was a little confined, compared to our chalet range. Overheard, as they passed a window, was the comment: “How long do you think it will take to pack?” - The answer was “minutes”!
Well, “minutes” it did because upon arrival to clean the facility, the kitchen equipment was dirty - just left for the cleaners to tidy up.

In all our accommodation this signage appears – “Dishes. Please be advised it is your responsibility to wash, dry and replace any utensil, plate, pot or pan used during your stay. A kitchen cleaning fee of $50 will be applied should we have to tidy after your departure. Your co-operation and understanding is appreciated.”
It is a kitchen cleaning sign, not a house-keeping sign and placed in the kitchen area to advise guests of their responsibility. It does not mention bathroom or anything else.
When the guest made his complaint by phone, he stated he did not even see the sign and infact had nothing to do with their cleaning up and had not checked the state the kitchen. For the record, every cup, plate, glass, pot, pan had to be rewashed - to bring the equipment up to standard. We do not accept food leftovers on cutlery, finger marks on glasses, dishes not wiped or cleaned, greasy pots and pans, micro-wave - with food “exploded” inside and we would suggest, neither would you. This resulted in a fee being charged, as it was of the guests own making.

The word ‘coward’ is far from the truth. Because they upgraded to the best of our accommodation, we decided not to say anything – the excitement of the upgrade pehaps! After departure is the first time we could enter the accommodation to clean and we were stunned to find the mess left behind. And of course we said goodbye – we had no idea what mess they had left.

By his own admission, the guest stated he believed it was the properties responsibility to clean after their departure - not theirs. We supply detergent, scourers, tea towels, hot water - every need possible for guests to succeed in cleaning up. Certainly, we check everything to ensure the next guests receive the same high standard offered to them. We cannot allow anything less. Only three cleaning fees have been applied in 2009, so one can see, it is not something we do lightly.

The judgement by these people is incorrect and not is how we operate. We have just been awarded a very high score in our annual industry assessment, which places us in the top 3.5 star properties in Tasmania. The other TripAdvisor comments and 100’s of guest comments in our books and website are the true indication of who we are and where our property sits in the market place. By threatening to do further damage to our reputation and business, only indicates what sort of people they are.

AND of course there is an underlying aspect to this saga. Funny, how they have not mentioned the fact they failed to pay their deposit of $AUD150. In “bleating” about an $AUD50 cleaning fee, we would never have found our error in not applying the deposit!

We sincerely thank them for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Had a two night stay here, John and Louise were helpful and friendly. Studio was cozy but fine for two. No closet or a real place to put luggage, one electric heater on the wall. Shower very nice, not a low flow, and hot, even temperature water. No maid service. Small fridge, sink, hot plate, dishes, but you must wash your own or face a $50 fee. Suggest bringing your own fixings if possible, this is a remote location (not even a post office). Next door is a breakfast spot, the Hungry Wombat Cafe. Had a good omlette, and they made us a box lunch that we ate on the trail. Dinner options are limited, only two options, so be flexible!
Beautiful national park, we saw many animals and birds, including delightful green rosellas right outside the window of Nive.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oregoniantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed at these chalets for one night en route from Hobart to Strahan.We were upgraded to the William chalet which was huge and had a spa bath.The port and chocolates were a lovely gesture.The owners were extremely helpful and friendly.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Recently stayed for a 2 night stop and found the chalets to be clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and the added extras (port and chocolates) were a nice touch.

However, Chalet was not serviced very well, and we felt that the place was far too pricy. We were expecting more from the price than what we got. Probably our error in lack of research as much as the owners, but have stayed in several places across Tasmania that offer bigger better cabins at a lower price.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank AlexOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

This was a terrific spontaneous stop. We decided to break the trip to Hobart from Strahan and the Lake St Clair Wilderness Resort was booked out, so we tried this. We're glad we did.

We had a little one room unit for two with ensuite bathroom and basic cooking facilities. There were plunger coffee, port and chocs on arrival, and friendly advice from the host. The beds were warm and comfortable - all you could expect for an overnight stop. The shower was lovely and hot.

We dined at the Derwent Bridge Hotel, which was enjoyable. The hotel is nicer on the inside than the exterior suggests.

Of course, the big attraction for staying here is not that it's halfway between Hobart and Strahan - but that it is close to the lovely alpine Lake St Clair, which marks one end of the famous five/six-day overland trek (Cradle Mountain is the other end).

The lake is the source of the Derwent River and fringed by mountain and bush. There are short walks for the less intrepid and a National Parks centre with helpful staff. We took a boat ride across the lake, which was most scenic - overland walkers use the boat to start/end the trek.

You could easily spend a few days here, and we wished we had - but we had to get back to Hobart for our flight.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Well what a find, here is exceptionally good accommodation at a beautiful location. Congratulations to the owners John and Louise for providing a facility that other should aspire to. We had a chalet cottage, it is basically 2 rooms, one being the bathroom, basin, W.C. and shower(good). The other room serves as the lounge and bedroom. A comfortable 2 person settee is provided. Outside is a small patio overlooking the non busy road and the forest. In close proximity is Lake St Clair N.P again a lovely location. A 2 night stay is recommended. No internet facility at this time. Forget that this is rated in the Aussie system 3-3.5 stars in our opinion and most others who have stayed here it is a minimum 4star. If turning up early without arrangement you may be disappointed as the Chalets are cleaned by the owners to such a high standard that they wait till all are finished before releasing,

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
3.2 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
379 reviews
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
13.3 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range: $143 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing