We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosiest, cleanest, best value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cosiest, cleanest, best value for money!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at Derwent Bridge Chalets on several occasions. It makes a great base when visiting the beautiful Lake St Clair and surrounds. The owners, John and Louise, are the friendliest hosts and make you feel very welcome. They certainly pride themselves on the presentation of their rooms, they are spotless and have everything you need for your stay. The chalets are a very short drive to the beautiful Lake St Clair National Park and only a short stroll to the local pub! We will definitely be back...... Soon :-)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    48
    30
    21
    21
See reviews for
48
133
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I loved this little pass through town, very cold but cute and leafy! We arrived late after a very busy day to find our wee little cabin all toasty warm and inviting! There wasn't a lot of fuss in the cabins, a little outdated but very clean, cosy and comfy! The lovely lady who greeted us was very helpful and braved the cold to take us to our cabin. A little reminder of the good old days where the emphasis wasn't on "modern decor" and "airs and graces" but good old fashioned service, cleanliness and warmth. A lovely little experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hughsey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved staying in our Studio, here. It was a spur of the moment stop for the night and we ended up staying 2 nights, before we had to move on.
The bed was so comfortable, we both slept very well and the bathroom was perfect! No cold tiles on the floor and plenty of steady hot water. It was probably the cleanest place we stayed in during our four and a half weeks touring Tassie.
The kitchen had everything you could want for self catering and the little bottle of port and chocolates that John and Louise provided (complimentary) were just the thing after being out in the cold.
There was good food to be had nearby, and it was not far from The Wall (definitely a place to visit!) and Lake St Claire.
John and Louise were very friendly and helpful, with suggestions for the area and quite a bit of knowledge. They even made sure our heater was on before we got back, so that the studio would be lovely and warm.
We would highly recommend a stay here, even for one night, especially if heading west towards Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDI J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We found the Studio to be just what we wanted also, we were extremely happy to find that not only was it comfortable for 2 but clean clean and clean...
Very well presented, well provisioned and what can I say about the Hosts John and Louise friendly caring and above all professional in their management.
Thank you for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back
Adrian and Sue

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambah
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Thanks John - the chalet was fantastic, so clean and fresh. Could have stayed longer.... Close to Lake St Clair for walking and the local pub with great meals and atmosphere. It was really a home away from home with all mod cons. Complimentary port and chocolates very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way through from Strahan but wish we had stayed a week. We arrived late in the afternoon and on arriving in our Chalet we were greeted with a hot fire, port and some chocolates. The rooms were wonderfully presented, clean and had everything we needed. The bed was the comfiest we had on our trip thoughout Tasmania.
The service from John & Louise was impeccable, they not only gave us same great advise on what to see and do in the local area but helped us to plan our drive to Eaglehawk Neck on our depart.
We will definitely be back and recommending our friends and family to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisla_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great half way point between hobart and strahan. 5 min drive to Lake St Clair. the cottage was clean and comfortable and had everything you would need. The bonus port wine and choccies were a great treat.

Room Tip: check in is not until 3pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lphan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.5 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
412 reviews
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Property: Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing