We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service detracts from beautiful location and accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The accommodation itself was very comfortable, well furnished and we enjoyed having the use of a washing machine and dryer for the night. We left Tassie with only fond memories of our holiday - only to return home to find a letter from the owners stating the $50 cleaning fee had been charged. We were shocked - we have travelled extensively, both in Australia and overseas, and we have never been treated in this manner. As a teacher I value highly leaving rooms in an acceptable condition - I drum this into my students every day. We simply did not leave the chalet in a condition warranting this fee. The letter went on about very trivial things, including finger marks on glasses which we did not even use during our stay.
Please choose carefully - even if you are a tidy, respectable person, you may find yourself $50 poorer. There is no recourse for complaint and the owners will not listen (in fact they will be downright rude, I was in tears) if you give logical reasons why the cleaning fee being applied is simply unfair.
Unfortunately this establishment reflects poorly upon tourism in Tasmania. No amount of beautiful scenery can make you forget downright rudeness.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rwillo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Hello again,

If anyone believes we make all of this up, they are very much mistaken. We know exactly who has stayed, when they stayed and in what condition they left their accommodation – because we do the cleaning etc ourselves! We see this as a blatant attempt to discredit us, because they were literally caught out and because of the severity, charged accordingly. Rude – no, firm – yes – especially when they are being rude to you. It should be noted these guests stayed November 2012, not November 2013! Why have they waited so long to blog?

The following is part of the letter these guests received after their departure and is true and accurate record of the occurrence.

Subject: Cleaning Fee. 21 November 2012
“After your departure the following was found, put away, in the kitchen cupboards.
Cutting board – clear stain marks and food residue
Glass casserole dish – dirty finger marks
Colander – dirty streaks – not cleaned
Glass bowl – not cleaned
Pepper grinder – dirty marks
2 x Glass tumblers – not cleaned – finger marks and wet
Pepper/Salt shakers – dirty
2 x Wine glasses – dirty marks
1 x Champagne glass – dirty marks
1 x Dessert bowl – food scraps and wet
1 x Side plate – food scraps and wet
1 x Dinner plate – food scraps and marks
1 x Microwave Casserole dish and lid – not cleaned – food scraps
Pyrex measuring jug/bowl – finger marks – smeary
Fry pan lid – not cleaned
Grater – not cleaned
Whisk – dirty handle
Can opener – smeary – finger marks.”

The cleaning fee is more than justified in these circumstances.
John & Louise
Owner/operators

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We recently stayed as a group at this establishment and while we were all very pleased with the standard of accomadation we were all less than impressed by the managers attitudes. After an abrupt check-in we were shown to our rooms and all instructed to wipe our feet on a towel that was outside the entrance door before entering, (our feet were clean, no mud) only to be confronted by another sign inside stating that there were to be no dirty feet in the bathroom, as if we would anyway. The most disturbing event happened later when we went out to dinner our rooms were entered, we were not impressed by this invasion of privacy at all. We departed the next morning feeling as if they didn'y really want us there in the first place. Also we were all given a menacing lecture on the operations of a slow combustion fire, we pointed out that we all have one in our own homes and were completely familiar with their operation and pointed out to him that if he was so concerned about his fire that he leave a set of instructions on the wall above the fireplace.
P:S a smoking fire is a polluting fire a good fire is a clean burning fire, good wood, no smoke!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

From the “Gateway to the Western Wilderness”,

On a warm, balmy afternoon, these guests lit their wood combustion heater and sat outside on the sundeck. Later they went out for dinner. It was evident their fire was not burning correctly and a “duty of care entry” was made to their building, where it was found that both heater air dampers were fully open and the fire roaring.

This is totally against the principle of how they operate and in fact extremely dangerous. Upon their return, the operating procedure was explained to them, which appeared to unsettle the group (8x) – two in particular. The statement “completely familiar with their operation” could not be further from the truth and brings into question their real motive for this blog. We have every right to enter our property, especially when fires have been lit, as it is our experience that guests do not necessarily have the knowledge of heaters they do not use, which certainly is the case here. Assuming knowledge, is both dangerous and irresponsible.

P.S. Sadly, not all guests are as dirty footwear conscious as these report to be, hence the comment and signs for all.

Regards,
John & Louise – Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location of the Chalets is great, even though you are right on the main road, it is not as thought it is a traffic hub.

The chalet was beautiful, very clean, good beds, the wood fireplace is lovely, nothing to fault with the room.

The downsides all came from the 'administrative' side. I had booked a room for two people (myself and my mum), and when we got there we were charged an extra $40 because we would be using two beds, and not one ($40 to change a set of sheets?). Then when we were shown our accommodation, the manager doing so told me I was to choose one of the bunks and stick with it, not use two (it is worth mentioning that I am 31). The manager was also generally rude and abrupt, simply voicing an opinion that it would be beneficial if the brochures listed distances, as well as times, for the walks, lead to a diatribe about how I was wrong and that it is the times that are most important. But, if nothing else, it gave mum and I a joke for the rest of the trip, and when mentioned to other proprietors during our trip they were similarly shocked at us being charged for using a second bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Dussumieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in Rufus chalet for one night on our way around Tassie and would highly recommend the chalets to anyone passing through that part of the world.
We arrived a bit late as we spent more time at Russell Falls than expected but had a warm reception and were impressed with Rufus which was incredibly clean, comfortable and well laid out. The kids enjoyed the bunks and we all loved the location right in the middle of nowhere. We had dinner at the café next door, the pasta and pizza were great - lots of carbs needed after all the exercise. We had planned to go to the pub and checked it out but the prices were crazy high so we opted for the café and were very glad we did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sujatojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a wonderful overnight stay visiting Lake St Clare and doing a few short walks in the afternoon and early evening. The chalet was fully equipped and very comfortable. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the next door cafe served up simple but good quality food ina friendly surrounding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This place would have to be one of the best places for cleanliness, comfort and style that I've stayed at in Tassie. The gardens surrounding the chalet are absolutely beautiful and it looks like a natural rain forest area. It's so quiet and peaceful, and it was so delightful to wake to the kookaburras singing.
The kitchen is very well equipped and functional. the bathroom is very spacious & clean. I found the beds very comfortable and was able to have a great night's sleep.
And we had a carport as well.
The host made us feel very welcome and I cannot recommend this place highly enough.
Definitely the place to stay and it's only 5 minutes from Lake St Claire.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wonderfully located just a few minutes from Lake St Clair. We had a quiet, relaxing and enjoyable 3 night stay. The chalet was very clean and perfectly equipped. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and even the local wombat wandered by. We highly recommend, it has been the highlight of our Tassie holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
3.2 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
366 reviews
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
108 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range: $139 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing