We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - but beware ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the “Nive” studio accommodation for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. The studio was very nice having everything that we required.

However, upon first encountering Louise in the reception area, she was distinctly unfriendly. She showed us to our accommodation and then when exiting the room she turned around and went to the blinds and closed them explaining that the sun fades the linen and then shook out and rearranged the rug that was in front of the sliding door. The sliding door was a bit difficult to open and close and she was very impatient as she showed us the correct method.

Further, after returning from our walk on the first day we noticed that some of our belongings had been shifted. We enquired as to why this was done – John apologised and assured us that he would inform the cleaning staff not to touch our items but offered no explanation as to why they were moved at all. We enquired as to why it was necessary to enter our accommodation in the first place – he replied that the rubbish bins and toilet paper needed to be checked! We then requested that no-one enter our accommodation during our stay which was respected.

If you don’t mind some-one coming into your room and potentially moving your luggage then all is well. However, if you do have reservations regarding this behaviour, then we would suggest that you request that no-one enter your accommodation during your stay.

By the way, our toilet paper held out and our rubbish bins did not floweth over!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Don’t know how to respond to this! “Distinctly unfriendly” at the start of a 3 x day stay – doubt it! Because you were going out, yes, Louise closed the blind to stop the sun beating down on the bed spread, suggesting it was best to avoid the UV rays and did straighten the “mud mat” which was all crumbled. You were slamming the door so hard, it was bouncing back out of alignment and it would not close - there was a great fear you might break it. Your husband even suggested to do it more gently! Impatient - yes.

We have, do and will continue to service rooms that are occupied. Our experience is guests expect it. And we will continue to do so, to ensure cooking smells etc are kept to a minimum and other essentials are maintained. This is the 1st instance in 7 yrs of ownership, such a comment has been made. And this is not the 1st time we have taken luggage off beds (to protect our linen), placed them on the luggage racks provided and in your case shifted a carton so the curtains could be closed (UV protection). To insinuate any other motive is totally out of order.

We are more than happy to comply with guests’ requests – it is our role to do so, however, we do need to know what they are in the first place.

John & Louise
Owner/Operators

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 246 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in the "Olympus" chalet for 2 nights in January 2014. Despite being "summer", it was cold and wet (max 9!!), so we really appreciated the wood fire which was already lit when we checked in. Port and chocolates were also appreciated! The chalet was beautifully designed and fitted out. Beds were very comfortable, bathroom excellent, Wi-Fi worked fine in "Olympus". This is a good base to visit glorious Lake St Clair NP, and we would also recommend visiting "The Wall"- absolutely stunning. We walked to the Derwent Bridge Hotel one night, where we had an excellent meal. John and Louise were very helpful. We would like to return some day, and spend longer here.

Room Tip: "Olympus" chalet is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a "Studio Cabin" for three night in early January 2014.
The layout and fitout of the cabin was very good and there was some very nice touches too: Port and Chocolates on arrival, Ground Coffee and Plunger and the heater was on when we arrived, so the cabin was cosy from the outset.
This complex makes a great base from which to explore the area.
The Lake St Clair National Park is about 5km away and the Derwent Bridge Hotel is about 350m from the cabins and "The Wall" is about 1km away - all very handy.
I would definitely recommend this to fellow travellers who are visiting the era, or just passing through and in need of a comfortable and enjoyable break in their journey

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shooternoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in Nive studio for 3 nights, paying $175 per night which is A LOT but in-line with the few other options available in Derwent Bridge (all over-priced). The studio is small but well-appointed; the beds (two extra-long singles) very comfortable, good heating, excellent shower. John is very welcoming and gave us useful advice concerning the hiking options in the area. A few things niggled; a $10 charge for the use of the guest laundry (which again, seems over-the-top) and John taking our credit-card details (including the 3-digits CCV) AFTER we paid in advance and in full (which made us feel as if we can't be trusted?). There is Wi-Fi connection in the vicinity of reception, but not elsewhere. It felt weird sitting just out of the rain (leaning on the office's locked door) and using my laptop. Overall a good, but not a great, stay. I feel that our money buys us more elsewhere in Tasmania.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

When I booked our family stay at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios I thought it would be a good place to stop in order to access Lake St Clair and break the journey to Cradle Mountain from Hobart, which indeed it was. What I hadn't fully expected was the beauty of the Rufus Chalet we stayed in. John and Louise have given really thoughtful attention to the aesthetic and functional quality of the furnishings and utensils, adding welcome personal touches left, right and centre - including the much appreciated port and chocolates! The wood-based heater in the living/dining area adds a very warm glow and was generously tended by John, though it proved at times a little too warm for us during the mild weather we experienced. The gardens in this chalet complex have also been lovingly designed and maintained, and while it is located on a highway, it was surprisingly peaceful. During our walk up to the nearby family-friendly pub, we enjoyed seeing a number of animals, including a very game echidna. We are very thankful to John for giving us such terrific advice about what to see during our journey, not only to Cradle Mountain, but also from there on to the East Coast. We visited nearly all of the places he suggested, and every one of them was fascinating. To my mind this accommodation offers much more than its current 3.5 star rating suggests, and I thoroughly recommend it as not only a terrific stopover venue, but also place to linger a little longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a studio for two nights just before Christmas. Although quite small it was perfect for our requirements. I couldn't speak more favourably of the cleanliness of this property as it was particularly well maintained. We cooked our evening meals both nights and everything I needed was available in the kitchen. This property is well located if you are wanting to spend a day walking at Lake St Clair, being only five minutes away. For better value I would recommend sharing a two bedroom Chalet as there would be a better outlook (the studio looked onto the main highway) and a much better tariff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DossieHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had 2 nights in Cuvier studio and was really impressed. Although small, the studio was incredibly comfortable and very well equipped. We appreciated John having the heating on so that the studio was lovely and warm before our arrival on a cold, wet day. The complimentary plunger coffee and chocolates were appreciated. Lake St Clair is a short drive away and there are lots of lovely walks to do. John was really helpful with information about places to see on our way to our next stop.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
3.2 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
368 reviews
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
108 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range: $138 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing