We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well appointed and decorated chalets, very cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
373 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Well appointed and decorated chalets, very cosy”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Weary after 6 days walking the Overland Track with cold rainy weather on the first 2 days and with nothing more than a sponge bath and very basic dormitory accommodation, these rooms were like a palace to us! We appreciated that John and Louise collected our motley crew from 5km away at Lake St Clair and the rules of no backpacks inside the cabins seemed very reasonable given our recent trek and muddy boots and unwashed state. We appreciated the welcoming port as we unpacked outside and availed ourselves of the washing and dryer facilities and took turns in the luxury of a shower. There was a warm fireplace, brochures to read, soft inviting beds and plenty of space in our cabin. We walked the 700m to the Derwent Bridge pub for dinner and back. This was an interesting walk back on a moonless night with no streetlighting, so consider taking a pocket torch if you do this. All but one of us breakfasted at the next door Hungry Wombat the next morning. (A cold breakfast is available for an additional $13). John was a very pleasant and amenable host. We would love to return should we ever travel to this part of the country again but hope to see Louise genuinely smile more next time. When you book, note that the tariff is per head not per room. We had a small misunderstanding about this when we invited some extra people to stay who finished the trek after 8pm, who were not originally on our booking, but this was sorted out amicably. I could not complain about John and Louise, who were very reasonable in approaching us for the extra payment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beetrootears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    48
    30
    20
    21
See reviews for
47
133
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 3 happy nights in a very warm and cosy chalet. Clean, well presented and John had put the heater on for us every afternoon so when we came back from a day of hiking our place was toasty warm! The Port also helped us to unwind! Very peaceful and relaxing and plenty of tips and advice from John for us first time visitors to Tassie. We would definatley stay here the next time we are passing by. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greggykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were driving from Hobart to Strahan and thought we'd stop in Derwent Bridge to cut up the trip. We booked ahead of time and I was led to believe that we would be paying for a studio, something like $175 for the night. When we booked in, John charged us $200. I told him I had understood that the price would be less than that. He said, "You're wrong." He took my husband's credit card out of his hand, swiped it, and that was that.
I would have appreciated 1) some courtesy, and 2) two minutes of John's time to clarify the misunderstanding. If it was a problem of miscommunication to begin with, I wouldn't have minded, but as it was, John brushed us off and I felt cheated.
Then, for the one room cabin (the term "chalet" is a joke), we had a dark and dreary lodgings where the only nice thing was the bathroom sink. John came to the cabin later with some port wine and suggestions for the rest of our trip. I was too mad to stay and listen to him.
Derwent Bridge consists of a gas station/cafe, a down-scale hotel/pub down the road, and this bunch of road-side shacks. We paid more for this lodgings than we did for a beautiful room at the Hotel Windsor in the center of Melbourne. A cabin like this in the US would go for $60 a night. If there were a next time, I would either stay at some other destination on the way, or drive straight through from Hobart to Strahan. Nasty man. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Greetings from the Central Highlands of Tasmania.

There is something not right here. In fact, we are highly suspicious of the motives behind this blog - indeed its validity and why it has been posted.

The reasons behind our thoughts are:-

1. This guest booked our chalet via an on-line booking service, which means they were in total control of their accommodation selection. In doing so, a full description of their choice, pictures etc (along with all other accommodation available), together with the tariffs is shown on the website. It is a guest’s choice – totally. (The tariff shown was $AU195 - this is not a studio, but a chalet, again their choice and clearly shown. It should also be noted, this was accepted at the time of booking.)

2. At the time of check-in they were charged $AU120 (not $200 as mentioned) as a deposit of $AU75 was taken at the time of booking - 30 Dec 12.

3. We do not recall any of the allegations regarding the snatching of the credit card or conversations regarding the studios, tariffs etc.

4. And, would we even attempt to, as alleged, in front of other guests waiting in reception? (This guest check-in at 15.05pm. Others at 15.13 and 15.27pm.) You must be joking!

5. To compare us with the Hotel Windsor beggars belief – main capital city, 5 star rated, to a very isolated, 3 ½ star outback property. Their current “Stay and Save” special is basically an upmarket motel room (heavily discounted, as are all their tariffs), very different to fully self-catering accommodation we offer - hardly a fair comparison. Having been to the US, we are more than confident in saying $60 does not buy very much!

6. Our only comment is we are currently a 4 star rating with TripAdvisor, have received TripAdvisors “Certificate of Excellence” award for 2012, rated 3 ½ star AAAT and have the “green tick” - awarded by TICT, together with the Australian Standard TQAL certification.

These awards are not issued to operators whose properties are not of the highest standard and whose owners are not dedicated to their guests. To make these allegations against us and to say they were “just brushed off”, “cheated” etc, we totally repudiate. And I take particular offence at being called a “nasty man” and this being allowed to appear in this blog!

If they were so put out why did they allow the charge to proceed? If they were so disappointed with their accommodation standard - check-in at 15.05pm, why not advise us, as we would (and have) gladly refunded their payment to allow them to find more suitable accommodation. (Again, nothing said even in their accommodation when offering helpful information and delivering their complementary basket of “goodies”.)

And to describe our architecturally designed property as “this bunch of road-side shacks”, well rest assured, thousands of former guests would absolutely disagree with these words, as will the majority of future visitors.

They did not have to stay – but chose to. So, what is really happening here?

John Wendt
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for one night in March passing through on our way around Tassie. The rooms are good sized with comfortable beds and nice and clean. There is a TV (a very small TV) and DVD player and at last - a remote with a sleep timer for the TV. The cabin also has a small lounge chair and dining table but the room isn't cluttered. Our cabin had a small bar fridge whilst our friends cabin had a much larger fridge. Each cabin also has a nice little landing with a small table and two chairs, an excellent spot to watch the world pass you by and enjoy the serenity. When researching where to stay, we checked out the reviews here and were aware of the "Cleaning Fee" but it does make you feel slightly uneasy when you actually get there and read it. The welcome with the Port and Chocolate is a nice touch though. The cabins are quiet as there is little or no passing traffic and we can recommend the walk to the pub for dinner. The bathroom is clean and the water pressure is quite good. The floor of the cabin looks like tiles but is some form of carpet, which is good to walk on on a chilly morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger fridge if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caggsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwint Bridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Arrived in pouring rain and was told not to enter the property - NOT the room - till after 3 pm. No undercover parking and nowhere to shelter from the rain. Staff were EXTREMELY RUDE and beligerent - I assume they can do this as they have a monopoly on accomidation. BEWARE - you are required to pay a $100 key deposit in addition to the tarrif - and it will only be refunded on your departure PROVIDED that the owners inspect the room and are happy that you have fully cleaned it and put it into the same condition it was before you arrived.

A blight on tasmanian tourism!!!

I understand that the present owners have only recently taken over the property

Room Tip: STAY somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Greetings from the “Bull’s Eye of Tasmania”.

This guest is very clever. He has married 2 x other conversations he overheard, plus his own, to construct this blog, to cast doubt on our property.

The guest (and his friend) first arrived at around 12.15pm and yes, in the pouring rain. Reminding them check-in was not until 3pm, they asked a number of questions regarding their motor bikes - undercover parking, storage on their balconies etc. As their accommodation only has off street parking, it was suggested they could talk to others in their group, whose accommodation had a carport. They were informed there would be no bikes on the balconies, because of the possibility of dripping oil. (This did not go down very well!)

Because we were still cleaning, we had to leave them, otherwise we would not be ready on time for what was a “full house”. At around 2pm this guest came back and was seen to be making his way to his accommodation – which was still to be completed. When challenged, he wanted to see if any others in the group had been checked in. Again, the guest was told 3pm was the time and to leave us to complete our tasks.

Twice we mentioned our 3pm check-in time. At no time were they told not to enter the property. They were told of undercover parking adjacent to where they were staying, but they would have to negotiate with others in their group.

A $100 “bond” was taken, because the guest would not provide credit card details as security. (This is one of the few times in 6 years we have had to take this step.) Naturally, in order to refund the “bond”, his room was checked.

As far as the comment on cleaning is concerned, accommodation signage clearly states we are only concerned about dirty dishes being left. There is no other reference to cleaning and certainly we do not expect guests to clean their accommodation.

Sadly, we were unable to please this guest.

John & Louise
Owners – since 2006
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First time here and recommended to us from the Visitor Centre in Strahan. Friendly welcome by owners with coffee and chocolates to settle us in for the night, the experience was a true delight. Beautiful bush setting with thoughtfully appointed Studio. Everything you could wish for in accommodation for 1 night or a week. We will return, soon I hope. Also, the nearby pub has wonderful meals and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ordriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and found the cabins clean,quiet and comfortable.This time was no exception. We stayed here in 2010 after 5 days on a wet and cold Overland Track and were picked up at Lake St Clair by Louise and brought here to dry out. This time we were heading into Pine Valley for a few days, so using this as a base-camp made perfect sense.
John, Thanks for looking after our bags while we were hiking and having them in the room for our return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.5 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
343 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
15.8 mi away
Tarraleah Lodge
Tarraleah Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tarraleah
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Property: Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing