We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming accommodation in beautiful surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming accommodation in beautiful surrounding”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 6 spend a few nights in the "Olympus Chalet" in January. The chalet had a rustic wooden charm that perfectly blends into the beautiful Tasmanian Nature and was yet immaculately neat and clean with all amenities that one could possibly need ( incl. fireplace, dishwasher & complimentary morning paper). We particularly enjoyed our afternoon tea on the lovely terrace and all the wildlife that's around after dark. The chalets are very close to all the beautiful hikes around Lake St. Claire and we had a tremendous time exploring the area. The hosts gave loads of advice on how to make the most if our trip and were more than accommodating when we had to change our travel plans due to a highway closure and spontaneously prolonged our stay. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepenguin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    48
    30
    21
    21
See reviews for
48
133
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We only stayed one night, after visiting Lake St Clair, First impression was the later than everywhere else check-in time of 3pm and the grumpy lady, who I assumed was the owner. I found the little sign about the cleaning fee rude, as well as the sign on the cereals, which were measured and if any was found missing the whole breakfast charge would apply. Apart from that, the Chalet was clean, well stocked and maintained and we enjoyed the complimentary port wine and chocolates!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jurina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hello again from the Central Highlands of Tasmania,

And thank you for your comments.

We introduced a 3pm check-in, particularly in our high season, simply to enable us to more successfully complete the refurbishment of all our buildings on time. Located in the middle of Tasmania, we are one of the most isolated communities in Australia and as such there is a severe shortage of available staff.

There simply is not a population base from which to obtain staff, therefore, more often than not, it is just Louise and I to do all that is required to be ready from one day to the next.

All guests are informed of our 3pm check-in, either via email, on-line bookings, website information or phone discussions, so occasionally, when guests arrive earlier, trying to check- in earlier, it can cause frustrations on both sides, as is the case here. We have to be ready for everybody, not just the odd one or two. Stopping to check-in someone earlier (if it is finished) means time not spent completing the others successfully on time.

The sign regarding breakfast and dishes is there for a reason, to stop guests from doing the wrong thing and not create an extra work load, which is not of our making. If every guest did the right thing, we would remove the sign, but sadly they do not.

The cereal jars are not marked, just kept full as it is a much neater, a more professional presentation and naturally shows us any usage.

The sign has stopped 98.5% of breakfast thefts and dirty dishes since its introduction.

We are pleased to note, you did enjoy your stay with us and thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Regards,

John & Louise
Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a beautiful cottage with a fireplace to boot. The location affords so many fun walks and a challenging on from Cradle Mountain too.

But the hosts were a quite sour and uncommunicative... too bad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonPalestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Greetings from the "Bull's Eye of Tasmania",

What can we say!

Expecting the guests to arrive earlier, we had lit the fire in their accommodation to ensure it was warm. They arrived at 9pm (check-in is between 3pm to 7pm, which the guests had been informed) and at this time it was obvious they were very tired and kept the information on the area brief, so they and the children could settle for the night. We expected to be able to give more info on departure.

At 10.10 am they came to reception asking for a late check-out (check-out is by 10am), which we had to decline as it simply was not possible. They did not leave the property ‘til 11am.

If this means we are “sour and uncommunicative hosts”, so be it.

Cheers,

John & Louise
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As others have reported here, the owners have a nice little money earner going where they will sting you for another $50 after you have left.

They have a sign in the kitchen saying that a cleaning fee will be charged if the place is left messy. Pedantic and bossy, but fine. We got up early and made an extra effort to clean the kitchen. I'm finding it hard to describe how disgusted we were to get home months later and see that we had been charged the cleaning fee with a long list claims made by the owners. These included a colander with pasta bits (we didn't have pasta) and burns marks on the ironing board cover. Not only did we not do any ironing, the power went out half an hour after we arrived and never came back. The rest of the list was equally ludicrous.

The owners will reply to this saying they only charge fee in extreme cases and other such rubbish. This is a lie. We are conscientious and courteous and they are in the wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms at other places will be much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillyMFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello again from Central Tasmania,

The assertion (made some 10 mths after staying) that these guests are not responsible for the mess they left, defies all creditability. We always conduct a 100% “stock take” for exactly these reasons, for the fear there will be denial of what actually took place.

There was no complaint by the guests of any problem in their accommodation – everything must have been OK, as they used most of what is available to do their own cooking etc – without power??

So, to set the record straight, this is what we were confronted with when cleaning commenced. It is also the list sent to them.

• Microwave – food splattering
• Small saucepan – not cleaned properly
• Grater – food scraps
• Colander – pasta stuck to it
• Saucepan – dripping wet – put away
• Large pot – food residue
• Lid – oil splattering
• 4 x cereal bowls – food scraps
• 2 x diner plates – not cleaned – grimy
• Small hot plate – spillage - cooked onto plate
• Washing machine/dryer – full of sand
• Ironing board cover – burn marks. (This was a brand new replacement, only put into the building the day of their arrival.)

And this is after admitting to the sign placed in each accommodation unit.

Owning up to one’s responsibility and mistakes is often hard, as in this case. How can all this be without power? The toilet worked, the shower worked, the lights worked, TV worked.

The statement made “the power went out half an hour after we arrived and never came back” really sums up the validity of this blog, which is to say the least - ultra vindictive and quite frankly rubbish. And to suggest we have made this up just to obtain an extra $50 is even more "out of line". We have considerably more to do than that!

As most of our previous guest’s postings show, we are not anything like what is being asserted here, far from it. We are one of Tassie’s “leading lights” and extremely proud of what we offer to our guests, especially with the cleanliness and condition of our accommodation. How else would we receive such positive TripAdvisor feedback and ranking?

Regards,
John & Louise
Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed only 1 night in Hugel one of the smaller units. The photos on the web and brochure don't really do the place justice. They are well presented and very clean with nice little touches such as the offer of fresh coffee and a drop of port in for the evening. A great location for exploring Lake Saint Clair NP. Would stay again. Owner was very helpful and knowledgeable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikingbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family just spent two great nights at the Derwent Bridge Chalets. The hosts were very welcoming and provided some great tourist advice. The Rufus Chalet was very comfortable, warm as toast with the wood heater lit for us each evening, and it is very well equipped (extensive selection of free DVDs provided). The setting and walks in nearby Lake St Clair National Park were stunning and not at all crowded. Also really enjoyed visiting the Wall in the Wilderness and had a good meal at nearby hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a very relaxing three nights in a chalet called "Ida." Our stay felt like a treat from the outset - assisted by John and Louse's helpfulness and friendliness. Our cosy chalet was full of nice touches, carefully and thoughtfully presented, and immaculately clean and tidy. Our balcony backed onto neatly kept grass, busy with birds. The forest, thick with gum trees, just metres beyond. A pleasure to sit out and take in the sights and sounds. The sort of place where you're happy to linger - the perfect retreat. We'll be back...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.5 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
362 reviews
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
2.3 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Property: Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing