We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding and memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An outstanding and memorable stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had such a warm welcome and we felt like a part of the family with Louise and John. The love and passion they put into this home away from home can be seen and experienced in every little detail of this high quality and cozy place.

Cleanliness and atmosphere is in all rooms. We got a tour through their property and loved every little bit.
Everything is very spacious with tasteful interior and equipped for all requirements and needs.

Louise and John are incredible hosts with big hearts and a big honest smile. We got so many great advise and tips. It was like being with family! We can highly recommend Derwent Bridge and it's a must stop on the beautiful west coast route. You will have many opportunities to enjoy a few days in this amazing place and explore the surrounding whilst being in good hands with Louise and John. Enjoy the stay with them.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    48
    30
    21
    21
See reviews for
48
133
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed just the one night in a studio unit to break up the drive. I booked online before we left to go to Tasmania, but still needed to phone to give credit card details to secure the booking (I refuse to fax or email my credit card details as security may be compromised).

We like to take our time exploring when on holiday - not driving all day to get to a destination. Our studio was closest to the road but didn't hear any traffic noise. The studio was very clean, compact and included a comfortable sofa which was suitable for one night.

One thing that was missing was the compendium - the reception area however is well stocked with leaflets and things to do, and good advice given by Louise when I checked in about the walks to do (which accurately reflected what I had planned anyway as I had purchased a map of Lake St Clair before leaving for Tasmania). We declined the complimentary port, but accepted the chocolates being 2 afterdinner mints.

Once opening the sliding door on entry to the unit, there was a bath mat towel on the inside - I wasn't expecting that as it wasn't raining nor muddy.

We enjoyed our stay at Derwent Bridge - did 3 enjoyable walks at Lake St Clair. The National Park Visitor Centre is very good there, and had a coffee at the hotel adjacent to Lake St Clair. Saw wallabies and an echidna (our first in the wild) in the national park.

We walked to the pub at Derwent Bridge and enjoyed their evening meal - I had the Wallaby Stack and my partner had the stuffed chicken - they were one of the best meals we had during our 2 week stay in Tasmania. Walking back, saw wallabies again near the road.

We self catered for our breakfast and ensured our dishes were spotless before departing early. Breakfasts can be supplied by the property and we didn't use their provisions on the bench - there is a note indicating that if you do, a charge will be made. I suppose some travellers are dishonest and will try and sneak a few ricies or weetbix which is why the sign is there.

It was daylight saving ending the morning we left, so we made the most of having an extra hour in the day in Hobart. As we left early didn't get a chance to see the Wall in the Wilderness as recommended. Next time though.

We enjoyed Derwent Bridge Chalets and Studios and I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiev25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review - it is very pleasing to know guests are happy with their stay with us.

Your comment "bath mat towel on the inside - wasn't raining or muddy" requires a little explanation. We place these mats in all our accommodation, not only for the weather conditions, but for the wallaby and possum dropings, which can be found every where, especially in the carparks adjacent to the accommodation.

This assists us being able to present as much as we can, clean, stain free carpets, thus adding to the appearance of the guest rooms. Trust this answers your comment.

Again, we thank you for choosing our property.

Cheers,

John & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

On 11th &12th Feb we stayed at the above chalets .In the kitchen we found a sign warning us that $50 would be deducted from our credit card if the kitchen was not left in the condition that it was found.
We were surprised because in all our collective travels (we're in our late 50's) we've never encountered such a requirement and it cerainly wasn't in the terms & conditions when we booked and paid.However,as always,we washed and put away all the kitchen equipment that we used
Imagine our surprise when we returned to Sydney to find that we'd been charged the aforementioned $50.The pettiness of the claims:'smears', 'finger marks', 'stains','wet', 'oily was offensive especially as we paid $270 a night (for this sum one might expect a little bit of house keeping from the proprietor).It is absurd to suggest that we left the kitchen in a mess.
(It might also be mentioned , in view of his exacting standards, he didn't seem overly bothered by the two piles of bird droppings on the verandah,which,apart from their unsightliness,could well present a health hazard to young children).
The number of reviews that refer to the $50 charge in a negative way suggest the proprietor is being over zealous,both in his criticism of peoples cleanliness and his pursuit of profit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank denise580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Greetings from Central Highlands of Tasmania,

We responded to this guest, with the following letter, which we are happy to share with you. Please be aware, we are extremely cautious as to whether we charge the fee or not, as we are very conscious of the possible negativity it can bring. In this case, there was no hesitation in applying the fee, as the condition of the kitchen was simply disgraceful.

The fact these guests sent this threatening paragraph in their letter, gave us sufficient reason not to refund the fee and to expose just what type of persons they really are. They wrote:-

“Should there be no reimbursement, we will have no hesitation in contacting various tourist organisations, including the Tasmanian Tourist Bureau here in Sydney and The Crays, as they told us they recommend you. In fact, we will take every opportunity to spread our negative opinion of your management.”

Cheers, John & Louise


Dear Denise, February 26, 2012

Subject: Cleaning Fee Dispute.

We are in receipt of your mail and take this opportunity to respond.

Louise and I are “hands on operators” which entails all that is required to maintain and present our property to our guests. This includes all the bed making, cleaning etc on departure.

At this time, a 100% “stock take” is conducted, especially the kitchen area, when all items are checked to ensure their cleanliness etc for the next of our guests.

After your departure the following was found, put away, in the kitchen cupboards.

2 x Coffee Mugs – coffee stains.
3 x wineglasses – smeary, with finger marks.
4 x glass tumblers – smeary, with finger marks.
1 x dinner plate – not cleaned, with food scraps and butter.
1 x glass bowl – smeary, with finger marks.
1 x glass baking dish – not cleaned.
Fry Pan – oily.
Salad bowl – food scraps.
Colander – food scraps.
2 x large pots – food scraps – wet.
1 x pot lid – not cleaned – finger marks – smeary.
All cutlery – re-washed.

This is a large percentage of the items stocked in the kitchen and is by no means a small amount of housekeeping. Small amounts we do every day, without charge. In your case it was virtually the whole kitchen which took considerable time to rectify.

Because of previous indiscretions, we have been forced to place signage in all our kitchens which clearly states:-

“Dishes

Please be advised it is your responsibility to wash, dry and replace any utensil, plate, pot or pan used during your stay.

A cleaning fee of $50 will be applied should we have to tidy the kitchen after your departure.”

In your email you state: “perhaps not to your exacting standards, but then we were paying $275 per night which should cover a small amount of housekeeping when we left.” A small amount? We think not.

If we had presented the kitchen to you, in the condition you left it, we are sure you would have made (and have every right to make) a serious complaint about our standards. To have to soak food scraps from supposedly washed items…..

The comments in our Guest Comments Books are a testament to the effort we put in to offer the best possible experience when visitors stay with us. Being a self-catering property we do expect guests to leave what they have used in a clean, dry state. This did not occur in your case.

With regard to your threats should we fail to refund the fee. This letter is being forwarded to The Cray’s Accommodation Cottages, the CEO Tourism Tasmania and the CEO Tourist Industry Council.

And ask, when discussing your complaint with others - please show our response, to ensure a balanced view.

The fee stands.

Yours sincerely,

John Wendt and
Louise Forgie-Wendt

Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVENTRY, NORTHAMPTONSHIRE, ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

What a wonderful introduction to Tasmania, a state we had never visited before. Proprietors John and Louise were more than helpful on offering advice about places to visit.and onward travel. They even rang ahead and booked our next night's accommodation for us. The advice John gave on places to visit, which we hadn't considered, greatly enhanced our stay in Tasmania and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Derwent Bridge Chalets to anyone wishing to stay in good, clean, well equipped accommodation in the western widerness. We certainly hope to visit again one day

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JENIFERF671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed two nights here whilst on a group walking tour of western Tasmania. Loved it! We had a cabin with spa bath (think cabin was named 'CLAIR'). Plenty of space, and attention given to everything we could possibly need.
Chocolates and port were waiting for us in our room; there was a coffee plunger (no more sachets of dried instant rubbish, thank goodness); cabin was very spacious, with a separate lounge area (log fire - didn't need it this visit), TV and DVD player.
On our final night the owners put on a barbeque for the group - vegetarians catered for. On the other night we had dinner at the Derwent Bridge Hotel about 500m down the road.
We really felt the owners cared about their guests and the property. Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehavim
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We got great recommendations from the owner for our visit to Hobart. We completely changed our travel plans according to it and went to Bruni Island for a cruise on the yellow boats to see dolphins and seals. It was an unforgetable experience. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The chalet we stayed in was small but quite adequate for our needs. Several small touches were thoughtful and the room was clean and well cared for. The room was somewhat expensive but, then c'est la vie. The Pay-to-use washing machine was out of service was out of service replaced with a normal domestic machine, using an honesty system for guests at a reasonable rate. We used this honesty system twice during our short stay. We noticed the sign warning of the $50 charge for leaving the place in a mess, so we were particularly careful when we left. Unfortunately on our arrival back home we received the notice of the $50 fee being applied, in spite of us having washed, dried and put away every piece of cutlery, crockery and cooking utensil. The letter advised us that their was rice on the floor (there may have been, there was no broom to sweep the floor with) that there was a wine mark on a sheet (again, possible, but we had no mishaps with the wine that I can recall), that one of the glasses had a fingerprint on it (no comment) and that the room was smelly!! These are the actual complaints from the owner who then of course has the liberty to go ahead and debit our credit card,,, I wish to warn others that the proprietors are serious about making money and that due consideration should be given to accommodation alternatives before making a booking!! We are a mature couple who love to travel in Tasmanian B&Bs on our tenth trip to this lovely island. We have stayed in approximately forty of such establishments and never had any complaints of any nature, let alone that we have left the room smelly. $50 is a little sting, the real insult was reading the proprietors rationale for charging the fee (which we are helpless to avoid)

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Gypsy_K26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Hello from Central Tasmania,

We are “hands-on” owner/operators of this property, which entails the cleaning, bed making, in fact all that it takes to run our business. After guests depart, a 100% “stock take” is taken on each accommodation unit used, to ensure its correctness for the next guest’s arrival.
All appeared to be in order after departure, however, upon checking, we found although everything had been returned to the cupboards, on inspection, there were food scraps, finger marks, smears, on most of the kitchen/cooking/ glassware/fry pan and cutlery, necessitating in a complete re-wash of all kitchen equipment. In addition, there was rice all over the floor, not just by the rubbish bin, together with food scraps on the kitchen door handles with the fridge full of vegetable scraps.

Wine spillage was found on both bedside cupboards. Not mentioned to the guests, was wine spillage on the bed linen, which had penetrated to the mattress cover, snack pieces throughout the linen - all of this left whilst presumably watching an endless supply of free DVD’s.

In addition, a cigarette burn on the carpet by the rubbish bin, in what is clearly shown to be a non smoking building was found.

The guests were specifically asked to use the exhaust fan whilst cooking, however the stench in the room was so severe, we could not make it available to other guests the next night and a full can of deodorant spray was used to try to reduce the smell.

We take considerable pride in what we offer to our guests, as the majority of our guests comments show and do not shy away from the fact that there is a cleaning fee should guests fail to do their part.

The fee is not applied lightly, but rest assured, in this case, it was more than justified.

Cheers,

John & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.5 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
356 reviews
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
2.3 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
15.8 mi away
Tarraleah Lodge
Tarraleah Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tarraleah
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Property: Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing