We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A demonstration in how to welcome guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We broke our drive from Coles Bay to Strahan at Derwent Bridge so that we could spend more time at various places on the way. Stayed in "Narcissus" Studio. Everything about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios is very welcoming and professional. On booking direct, emails were replied to near instantaneously and when booking by phone the information that John provided was very useful to planning our trip. Checking in was a similar experience with Louise.

The studio was very well appointed, with the bottle of port & chocolates a very nice touch. Although the studio is nearest the highway, given that there is next to no traffic during the night, our sleep was not interrupted. Highly recommended; value for money, particularly given the relative isolation of the location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

No trip to Tasmania is complete without visiting the "Wall in the Wilderness" and Lake Saint Clair. Not a lot of choices with regards to accommodation in the area but with facilities like those offered at the Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios there is no need to look further. The one room chalet we stayed in more than met our requirements with good facilities, a full kitchen etc, TV, ensuite & small verandah.

The room was clean, warm and comfortable and the plunger coffee, port & mints were a welcoming touch. It was also very quiet making for a good nights sleep.

The owner / manager, John, also provided some excellent advice on places of interest around Lake St Clair and further on towards Queenstown. John, you were right - the veiws from Donaghy's Hill were worth the slog up the hill.

Thank you for a very enjoyable visit - would gladly return if we make it back to Tassie & would highly recommend the chalets to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

These cute self-contained one-room chalets are an excellent choice if you're on the way to somewhere or want to be near Lake St Clair. The chocolates and port are a great addition. They're clean, private and modern. Only complaint is the price, it is a little high, given that they are only one-room and next to the main road. 5 star Wrest Point rooms were the same price as this, but I suppose it was high season and there are few options in the region.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pezoporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

John made us feel so welcome. Spending time with us to point out all the must see places on our holiday. Our cabin was very clean and warm and we really enjoyed the complimentary port and chocolates that evening. Unfortunately we stayed one night only but would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Our studio cabin was more than adequate for the two of us. With a little kitchenette as well.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hms22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Dropped in without a reservation on a drive back to Hobart, though I was planning to stay there based on previous TripAdvisor reviews and the location. The cabin was spacious, spotless and well-equipped. The proprietor offered plenty of good recommendations on sightseeing in the region and left me with breakfast for the morning. Since each unit is a free-standing cabin, you should not have to worry about noise from neighbors. And there was virtually no nighttime traffic on the highway during my stay.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

On arrival, I was made feel so welcome. John went over all there was do in Tassie, and then walked me to our cabin, and in his hand was a basket containing Port and Choccies. When we walked in the cabin had been heated and you immediately felt at home. All the facilities were very clean and the bed was comfy too. The local Hotel was ridiculously expensive, however the food was nice. The owner needs to review his prices! He has the monopoly and is cruel to his clients.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were travelling to the West coast (Corinna Wilderness Cabins) fron Hobart airport mid day so needed an overnight stop and Lake St Clair Wilderness Resort too expensive (have stayed there previously!)
This place was a very pleasant surprise,very friendly welcome, the studio chalets very new,warm and very nice beds, kitchen and bathroom.Not to mention the complimentary port and ground espresso coffee.Couldn't have been happier,and our friends who also had their own one agreed wholeheartedly.
They also recommended the hotel 500 metres down the road for an evening meal and it was great. Built like a lodge with a huge fireplace with friendly staff and locals with large interesting menu-- the 4 of us had different mains and all rated very tasty.
Also down the main highway a few klms was an attraction called 'THE WALL' which is a MUST see !! A familly has built a beautiful large builing which houses long walls of Huon Pine on which are carved the most beautiful historical sculptures. This is a work in progress but large amounts have been completed so do youself a favour and have a look.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank benthebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.5 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
361 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
421 reviews
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range: $142 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing