We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy roadside retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Nice rooms in a rather remote location. This is a good place to break the trip from Hobart to the west coast, allowing an early start to experience the amazing short walks on the highway. Our host advised us of these great easy walks in the area, which we may have missed otherwise.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nodramafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 246 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

We first decided to stay at Derwent Bridge (Huegel)Chalets as we were travelling from Richmond to Strahan and with frequent sightseeing stops, would not have made it in the one day. We found the accommodation exactly as we had seen it on the web site and found that it was clean, cosy and very comfortable. The heater was put on for us as soon as we entered the cabin as it was cold (March) and we certainly enjoyed the Port and chocolates. We must thank John for his advice on things to see in this area and further afield, as we might have missed seeing some amazing things.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miki22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My family and I arrived this afternoon after undertaking several walks on the way from Hobart. We were welcomed by John who was generous with his time in exPlaining attractions both locally and as far away as Cradle Mountain. His advice on local fishing spots enabled us to catch a huge rainbow trout in Lake St Claire and John presented us with a lemon to cook with as a trophy for our magnificent catch. On arrival he also provided us with a welcome pack of freshly ground coffee, port and chocolate which was much appreciated. The facility has been renovated over the past couple of years with new carpet, linen, curtains, paint and appliances. It is in very good condition and ideally located near Lake St Claire (and fishing!). We were initially hesitant to book here because of an erroneous Trip Advisor review about the old hotel up the road which has been mistakenly attributed to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios; the error is obvious when you drive past the other establishment which is only 400m away. We would have no hesitation recommending Derwent Bridge Chalets and Studios to other travelers. Skya2005

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadicalCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This was the second this year. The studio accommodation was excellent. Well appointed, clean, warm, and private. Hosts John and Louise really try to go that little bit beyond expectations to make your stay a really enjoyable experience. We will be back and have no hesitation in recommending it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The studio we stayed in was modern, comfortable and warm. The facilities inside this lovely little cabin where very good. There was nice little extras provided. Would definitly stay there again.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank jennyh0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We found the accommodation overpriced for what it was - hardly the romantic getaway that they advertise! The owners were rude and unhelpful and made us wish that we had just stopped at Lake St Clair for lunch and kept driving to Hobart to spend the night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holidays05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

Greetings from Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios - Tasmania.

An online booking was made for two adults only, requesting one of our studios, with a tariff of $AUD155. No mention was made of a child, however on arrival they had a baby of approximately 3-4 months of age, thus requiring a cot and more suitable accommodation. (Our website informs of the tariff for children 11 yrs or younger is $AUD25. We do not offer studios where a child is mentioned, as they are totally unsuitable.)

Luckily, we could arrange this, which not only has a higher tariff, because it is in our chalet range, but the child had to be paid for as well. Normally, this would have totalled $AUD220, but in view of the circumstances we offered a tariff of $AUD195.

The male partner became quite offensive – to the point of being outright rude to my wife, not only chastising her for the mix up, but for the increase in price, as they saw it as our fault. He even suggested calling the police, as he viewed we had messed up the booking, to which my wife said “by all means, please do.” Nothing said could calm the situation, however eventually they took the accommodation offered.

Upon returning late in the evening, I found my wife in a very distressed state, still numbed by the verbal abuse she was forced to suffer, for something that was not of her making. Because it was so late, we decided to speak to the guest the next morning regarding his rude attitude.

Eventually, it suggested to him, that if I had been available to check them in and he carried on with me, the same as he did with my wife, that he would not have stayed at our property, he became very argumentative, aggressive and threatening, calling me “every name under the sun”. He then said he would call the police, to which I said “by all means – I will do it now” and proceeded to enter our reception area to phone. He then became quite defensive and said “No, no, we have to be in Hobart”, walked back to his car and drove off.

We are particularly accommodating to our guests and their needs – our website guest’s comments, “in house” comment books and TripAdvisor comments are testament to this. Our business is based on guest satisfaction, something we are very proud of. But when guests become abusive, with matters not of our making and they cannot see reason or accept responsibility, then we feel have the right to defend ourselves.

Regards,

John & Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The accommodation was comfortable though for a cabin it was quite small. The difficulty id that there is not much available in the area for accommodation. The sign saying that there would be any extra charge of somehting like $50 if any dirty dishes were left in the sink left a negative feel to the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiet-Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

Regretfully, because of previous guest’s behaviour, we have been forced to place a sign for both breakfast supplies disappearing and dirty dishes. We are aware that some guests may find this unpleasant. But if you could see the mess some people leave on departure, we are sure you too would agree with our need to remind guests, it is their responsibility to clean up after their stay in a self-catering property. The fee is only applied in the worst possible instances - which are few.

We have 3 x levels of accommodation. These guests chose to stay in one of our studios, which are the smallest in our range.

Regards, John & Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
3.2 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
368 reviews
13.2 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
108 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range: $138 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing