We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable dining at Cradle Mountain-suitable for kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hellyers Restaurant

Hellyers Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hellyers restaurant offers a selection of small plates designed to share with family or friends. Our dishes are all made to order and contain fresh seasonal local produce which we believe highlights the best that our island state has to offer. There is a broad selection of dishes ranging from subtle seafood tastes to organic garden delights and a beautiful peppered steak. Please join us for a dining experience that we hope will encourage everyone to relax, enjoy some conversation and sample some wholesome Tasmanian cuisine accompanied by a locally produced beer or wine. Reservations are not required and our adjacent lounge bar with views to Cradle Mountain is available for a drink in front of the fireplace should you arrive at a busy time. The restaurant is open from Tuesday to Saturday and our dining hours are from 5:30pm until 9pm with a smaller selection of dishes available in the lounge bar from 2pm.
Wallington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining at Cradle Mountain-suitable for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good food, though not outstanding. We took our three children (7,10 &12) and it was quite suitable for them. We all enjoyed our meals. Staff had a good knowledge of local wines and whiskey.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Broadsabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    45
    31
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here just recently and had really excellent food. My partner had Lamb Shanks and it was a large, hearty and delicious meal.

I am a vegan and was able to get a delicious Thai soup and a cheese-less vegetarian pizza. The side of vegetable was also really good - it included purple carrots!

Staff were friendly, efficient and attentive.

The chai lattes were also really good.

It wasn't especially romantic, but it wasn't un-romantic by any standard. It was our ten year aniversary and it was perfect for us, but we're not fussy - as long as the food is good.

It had a log fire if that means anything to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Steak and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The service was great, had a very nice steak and wine dinner here with my boyfriend. The fireplace was really pretty. The only thing I would've changed was the music. It seemed to be on a radio station or something because one minute you had a romantic sweet song, the next it was rock! Seemed a bit strange.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelbuzz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautifully presented dishes and enough steak to keep the man filled! The dessert menu was hard to resist but I wanted it later, back in our nearby cabin. The obliging chef packaged up the wonderful sticky date pudding in one container and the accompanying sauce in another so that I could enjoy it all later in the comfort of pjs. Perfect!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We got a corner table by the window. Waitress recommended our wine which was excellent. Food was really good

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank v_liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellyers Restaurant also viewed

Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Hellyers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing