We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great base to explore the Cradle Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great base to explore the Cradle Mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is at a perfect location, so close to Dove lake. The staff is very co-operative and friendly.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Considering other reviews, we asked for an "upgrade" to avoid a room with car park view, however the "upgraded" room was not worth the price difference they charged. May be it was a clear weather and lack of snow when we visited last week, not giving us the best possible views and experience!

The food is incredible at a very reasonably priced menu and we loved it. Their Salmon is to die for....

Overall, very pleasant experience and would sure return in the future!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Techbuspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the customer service provided by our staff. I'll pass on your kind feedback regarding the food to our chef and the rest of our restaurant team, they'll be very happy indeed to hear that you were so pleased with our food, the salmon in particular!

I do apologise that you were unhappy with the value of your room upgrade. We'll definitely take on board your feedback.

Kind regards,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    399
    198
    57
    38
See reviews for
174
538
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We arrived last Wednesday in cold rainy weather for a two night winter getaway hoping to see snow. It rained instead until Thursday lunch time when the first snow flakes started falling. We had decided to walk around Dove Lake and were thrilled to start our walk with the landscape all green and by the end of the 2 hour walk everything was covered in snow. Our drive back to Hobart on Friday was via Queenstown and we drove through beautiful snow covered hills for over half of our trip. It was a winter wonderland. Accomodation, staff and food was great! We will go back again.

Room Tip: As it is their quiet season we got a 40% discount on a spa room. These rooms face onto the landscap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazza0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for your review, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular that you found our accommodation, staff & food to be "great".

You definitely chose the perfect time to visit Cradle Mountain, the mountain never looks as beautiful as it does when covered in snow.

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Me & my partner needed a simple getaway for the night so we booked the hotel on the way there. Were very positively surprised by the 30% discount offer on their website and chose the double room with a spa bath. On arrival we found out that the price also includes breakfast - which was amazing, so many proper choices at the buffet + eggs made to order! Pleasant service, nice rooms - no complaints and would recommend it to anyone. Just unfortunate that the weather was horrible so we couldn't discover the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirliNiidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully in the future you're able to visit us again when the weather is more agreeable, as the area is really quite special.

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our second stay here in twelve months, both times for functions, last weekend for a wedding.
The ceremony was held in the Wilderness Gallery amongst huge photos of Humpback Whales and the reception in one of the restaurants, the whole thing worked very well.
Reports from the bridal couple indicated the young lady, events co-ordinator, did an exceptional job in making this whole event work perfectly, and the general staff were all excellent, right throughout our stay.
The staff also offer friendly smiles and a hello over the whole day in all parts of the venue, something that may seem simple, but unfortunately does not exist in many far more upmarket venues, so top marks for this.

Somebody mentioned "dated" in an appraisal previously, but in this cold (outside winter time) environment, the original owner/builder was no doubt trying to create an ambience of visual warmth by painting the walls and ceiling an earthy/mustard colour and fitting dark stained timber furniture which gives a 1980's appearance of a building little more than ten years old.
I need to add here that inside temperatures are kept very warm indeed, and to be honest, many more visually modern venues give a quite clinical appearance.

Perhaps the hotel management should invoke a usage curfew on the accomodation lounges, as socialising late at night can be noisy for guests in close by rooms.

A tiny criticism, but something the previous operators always include in all their properties, is plenty of tea/coffee/hot chocolate and enough sweet biscuits for ALL the room guests. A little goes a long way in this area!

As this hotel is owned by RACV/RACT, we received a ten percent discount.

Room Tip: Away from the "residential" lounges for a quieter option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal555tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the customer service provided by our staff. I'll definitely pass that on to the team.

I'm also pleased to hear that the wedding you attended was well organised, and will pass on your kind comments to our events coordinator. She'll be delighted to hear that the couple were so pleased with her assistance in the organisation of their special day.

I'll definitely take on board your comments regarding the in-room refreshments, and the noise problem with rooms close to communal areas.

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We spent a very pleasant weekend here last weekend enjoying a special Xmas in July at the hotel.
It was a package deal which included mulled wine on arrival in the Gallery with hot nibblies to go with it as we wandered through the gallery admiring the art on display.
The accommodation was clean, spacious and very scenic looking out over the snow covered mountainside.
The buffet meal catered for all tastes with a range of sea food, roast lamb, turkey and ham plus a host of side dishes and sweets.
Santa appeared to the enjoyment of all the young ones, along with Rudolph by his side.

The lounge was available the whole time with live music being played and log fires added to the comfort throughout the night.
In all, the whole night was very well organised and the atmosphere was pleasant and lay-back.

Most enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms have views and are very comfortable. Choose toward the end of the wings if you want extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevandYvonne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your stay here at Cradle Mountain Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Christmas in July special package, and in particular that you found the event to be well-organised and enjoyable. I'll pass your feedback on to the team.

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We started our visit to Tasmania with 2 nights at Cradle Mountain Hotel. The hotel was very conveniently located, and an easy drive to many of the scenic walks around Cradle Mountain and Dove Lake. The hotel room was comfortable and roomy enough for our family of 3. The restaurant was busy (there aren't too many eating alternatives in the area) and the staff were busy, but the service was good and the food reasonably priced. We attended the nearby night session and learnt about Tasmanian Devils and Quolls, which we and our 8 year old son enjoyed. We would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chattie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room to be comfortable & spacious. I'll pass on your feedback regarding the service you received in our restaurant to the team, they'll be pleased to hear that you were happy with the service they provided.

We'd be more than delighted to welcome you back if you decide to return to the area.

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Waking up to a beautiful snowy vista was magic for my grandchildren and we would have loved to stay a 3rd night, but unfortunatly they were booked solid so we could not extend our stay.
Reception was friendly, housekeepingwas most obliging when we needed extra towels for the children and along with that came extra soap, shampoo,biscuits and hot chocolate sachets with the comment " I thought you might like these for the children". Every where we went within the Hotel was clean and well presented and nothing was " too much trouble" and if you passed a staff member you were acknowledged. The common areas were kept warm and cosy with staff regularly stoking the fires. The food was good and reasonably priced. This hotel doesn't have all the bells and whistles, but what it does have is, warm and welcoming staff and ambience

Room Tip: On the opposite side from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular that you found our staff to be helpful and welcoming. I'll definitely pass on your kind feedback to the team, they'll be very pleased to hear that you were happy with the service they provided during your stay.

I'm glad to hear you were able to experience Cradle Mountain in the snow, it certainly is a magical place this time of year!

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
24.1 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
39.4 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Property: Cradle Mountain Hotel
Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing