We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Clareville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We travelled to Tasmania for 1 month in December 2013 and had a pretty tight budget but when we saw this hotel and the proximity to Cradle Mountain we were very happy to blow the budget for one night of luxury. I'm not quite sure of the criteria for stars in a hotels ranking but Cradle Mountain Chateau deserves at least 5. The rooms are first class and all of the common rooms with fire places make this hotel a must stay if want a little indulgence in your holiday experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for providing such a positive review of your stay with us. I’m delighted to hear that we were able to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    410
    205
    61
    42
See reviews for
186
554
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lovely 5 star hotel with all disabled access features at top quality. Big room plenty of room to maneuver. My partner uses a manual wheelchair and we travel with a shower chair. All of the hotel was accessible. Parking was reasonably close to entrance. The staff were very helpful

Room Tip: Excellent disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us here at Cradle Mountain Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were fully able to cater to your and your partner's specific needs.

We'd love to welcome you back if you ever return to the area.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed two nights in one of the standard queen rooms. The room was well appointed, clean and not as 'dated' as some of the other reviews suggest. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly, even when they were flat out catering to any number of large Chinese groups in house. The food is expensive (I had the buffet both nights, and one breakfast), and not fantastic quality but given the overheads of running a remotely located property I was satisfied enough. The accommodation for me was just a means to an end - I was there to climb Cradle Mountain and have somewhere convenient and warm to 'lick my wounds' afterwards. This property fit the bill in every sense!

Room Tip: Maybe try and request an 'end' room - away from the lounge and walkways. There wasn't mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our property. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff.

We’d be delighted to welcome you back next time you’re in the area.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

With snow on the ground outside, you would hope for a little cosy lounge, room or restaurant but unfortunately this hotel provides none of those. In fact we ended up just getting into bed to get some warmth. The bar lounge resembles an airport lounge. The log fires they advertise are closed stove fires, no real warmth or ambiance. Best to spend as much of the day as you can out walking and lunch or drinks at nearby Peppers.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akachloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank your for providing us with feedback relating to your recent stay with us, I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience on this occasion.

As the new owners of the property, we are aware of the need to upgrade current facilities. We are reviewing visitor feedback in order to determine where we can improve in future, and what urgent upgrades are required. Thank you for providing us with information we can use to help us update and position our properties into the future.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel. The room was clean, well equipped and comfortable. The bathrooms were extremely clean, but probably a little more outdated than I would have thought. The casual lounges with roaring fires were relaxed and comfortable, especially on a day that it snowed!
Had buffet dinner which had a good selection, but would probably do Al la carte if I returned as the food looked amazing and the restaurant had more of an atmosphere. The bar/pool room with fire was great. Breakfast was rather overpriced. Also couldn't believe that a service fee was applied due to it being a public holiday, would have thought this would have been waived at a hotel, and absorbed by them.
The gallery was a great place to spend an hour, great photography!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beejay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for comments relating to your recent stay with us here at Cradle Mountain Hotel. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to make you feel relaxed and at home.

We’d be delighted to welcome you back if you ever return to the area.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were there for a night after doing the cradle mountain hike, and en route to Freycinet. For the price we paid ($220/night), we got what we expected. The rooms were quite spacious and clean, but very dated. Lobby staff were friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was passable at best, but service was extremely poor and staff clearly needs more training.

Overall, an OK experience for the price-point. In need of an updating very soon, but I doubt there is impetus for any change given there are not many other accommodation options around the region.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theboutiquetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. I’m glad to hear that overall you were happy with your stay with us, and that you were pleased with the service provided by our Reception staff.

As the new owners of the hotel, we are aware of the need to improve current facilities. As such, we are reviewing the feedback provided to us by our guests, and will be taking this on board as we determine the future improvements necessary. Thank you for your feedback; it will greatly assist us in updating and positioning our properties into the future.

Sincerely
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I see why they have renamed the establishment to a hotel. The split level king room was spacious and could easily accommodate an extra child if needed. The rooms are close together - the only down point, so noise was a constant. There was ample relax areas with warm fires and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast was good value and they even had a take away booze area for convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our service delivery to be friendly and accommodating. We’d love to welcome you back if you’re ever in the area!

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
24.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
719 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Property: Cradle Mountain Hotel
Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing