We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, needs refurbishment but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed April 26, 2014

With snow on the ground outside, you would hope for a little cosy lounge, room or restaurant but unfortunately this hotel provides none of those. In fact we ended up just getting into bed to get some warmth. The bar lounge resembles an airport lounge. The log fires they advertise are closed stove fires, no real warmth or ambiance. Best to spend as much of the day as you can out walking and lunch or drinks at nearby Peppers.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akachloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank your for providing us with feedback relating to your recent stay with us, I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience on this occasion.

As the new owners of the property, we are aware of the need to upgrade current facilities. We are reviewing visitor feedback in order to determine where we can improve in future, and what urgent upgrades are required. Thank you for providing us with information we can use to help us update and position our properties into the future.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel. The room was clean, well equipped and comfortable. The bathrooms were extremely clean, but probably a little more outdated than I would have thought. The casual lounges with roaring fires were relaxed and comfortable, especially on a day that it snowed!
Had buffet dinner which had a good selection, but would probably do Al la carte if I returned as the food looked amazing and the restaurant had more of an atmosphere. The bar/pool room with fire was great. Breakfast was rather overpriced. Also couldn't believe that a service fee was applied due to it being a public holiday, would have thought this would have been waived at a hotel, and absorbed by them.
The gallery was a great place to spend an hour, great photography!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beejay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for comments relating to your recent stay with us here at Cradle Mountain Hotel. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to make you feel relaxed and at home.

We’d be delighted to welcome you back if you ever return to the area.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were there for a night after doing the cradle mountain hike, and en route to Freycinet. For the price we paid ($220/night), we got what we expected. The rooms were quite spacious and clean, but very dated. Lobby staff were friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was passable at best, but service was extremely poor and staff clearly needs more training.

Overall, an OK experience for the price-point. In need of an updating very soon, but I doubt there is impetus for any change given there are not many other accommodation options around the region.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theboutiquetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. I’m glad to hear that overall you were happy with your stay with us, and that you were pleased with the service provided by our Reception staff.

As the new owners of the hotel, we are aware of the need to improve current facilities. As such, we are reviewing the feedback provided to us by our guests, and will be taking this on board as we determine the future improvements necessary. Thank you for your feedback; it will greatly assist us in updating and positioning our properties into the future.

Sincerely
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I see why they have renamed the establishment to a hotel. The split level king room was spacious and could easily accommodate an extra child if needed. The rooms are close together - the only down point, so noise was a constant. There was ample relax areas with warm fires and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast was good value and they even had a take away booze area for convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our service delivery to be friendly and accommodating. We’d love to welcome you back if you’re ever in the area!

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Hmmm, I have some pros and cons for this place:
PROS:
-This place is in a lovely location, nestled right in the bush. Stunning.
-Our room was perfectly clean and functional, although I would say it was a bit older looking than I was expecting.
- Really good breakfast buffet
- Lovely staff
- Nice common areas with fire places
- The gallery was wonderful and well worth a visit.
CONS
-Most of the rooms all come off one long hall. We were there over Easter and people let their children treat the hallway like a playground. It was SO NOISY. This isn't the hotel's fault, obviously, but just something for people to be aware of.
- The dinner buffet was extremely average. We paid $50 each for a 'seafood buffet' (because it was Good Friday) and by the time we got there at 7:15 they were out of oysters and a couple of the dessert options. The dessert that was left just looked like someone's scraps. It wasn't very nice - especially for the price. I mean, this stuff happens and we still got plenty of food, it was just a bit disappointing.
Having said that, there is an a la carte option which is in a separate room and the food we saw bering delivered there looked amazing!!


In summary, I think this is probably a good hotel for families but maybe not so much for couples if you're after something a bit special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateARobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Cradle Mountain Hotel. I’m glad to hear that you were pleased with our service delivery, location and other facilities, but am disappointed to hear that some aspects of your experience were not satisfactory.

If you are back in Cradle Mountain please drop in and say hello and let us show you how we can fully match our standards of service to your expectations.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My partner and I stayed in a king split spa room for $289.00. We were extremely disappointed with the room. The room was old and outdated and would advise others that this hotel is well overpriced for the room type. The balcony was extremely small allowing only one person room to stand on it, the appliances were outdated e.g. box television with poor reception, linen was outdated e.g. old style bedspreads and furniture was outdated and looked well used. The restaurants were over priced and we ate at other establishments in the area. I would stingily advise others that there is better value for money at other establishments in Cradle Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that on this occasion you were dissatisfied with your experience.

As the new owners of this property, we acknowledge that current facilities are in need of certain improvements. We are currently reviewing visitor feedback in order to determine what urgent upgrades are required, and where we can further improve in the future. The advice you have given us will certainly be taken on board, and we thank you for the opportunity to improve our property – and your next experience.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

great rooms, great place to stay, friendly staff, great food, ripper location, we thoroughly enjoyed it, would certainly return and recommend to friends thank you. Laundry great. Overlooking bush and tree tops, just beautiful..Warm and cosy and log fire in library beautiful thank you

Room Tip: split level rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 950marlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments relating to your recent experience at Cradle Mountain Hotel. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we’d be delighted to welcome you back when you’re next in the area.

Sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
24.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
734 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $157 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing