We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but getting a bit tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice but getting a bit tired.”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Have stayed there now twice – some years apart. There are not many other places to stay at Cradle Mountain and, whilst this place is quite large and still comfortable, it’s getting a bit tired. Management were helpful in swapping us over, after the first night, to a room on the forest side of the building, rather than the one that we checked into - with a nice view of nothing. And if they tell you that they have got wifi in the building, it might be in name only. It was truly hopeless. Food is OK but expensive – and there aren’t too many other places to eat on the Mountain. If you’re staying more than one night, for dinner try also the bistro up the road at Peppers.

Room Tip: If you want a view then make sure you ask for it - otherwise you will be on the carpark side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    405
    202
    60
    40
See reviews for
177
549
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Princeville, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Cradle Mtn lodge is in a beautiful & unique wooded property with pademelons, echidnas, brushtail possums & more marsupials wandering about the grounds. Rooms are nice & clean & those facing the woods are particularly appealing. The buffet is a reasonable price (considering Tassy restaurant high prices)& has a lot of fresh & tasty salads, several meats, fish, curries etc plus an array of desserts.
The Wilderness gallery across the driveway is an excellent assortment of local art & nature oriented pieces.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyG0Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It was disappointing. The style is motel-like, and rooms are simple with "balconies" of only 1/3 sqm. They close their two restaurants at 08.00pm already. One is a cantine-like buffet (AUD 38.- per pax) and one is a la carte, they are adjacent. We were three, and two of us wanted buffet so we asked if they can bring the a la carte food from next door. They refused. We left and found the much nicer Cradle Mountain Lodge. The hotel also owns a relatively inexpensive snack-bar next to the visitor centre - but they close it at 06.00pm. Guess why! Avoid the place and go for other options. It is obvious that the management just wants to squeeze a maximum out of their guests due to the remote location and lack of many alternatives. Best solution: bring your own food and do picnic!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RingoKringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here as part of an AAT bus tour and my room faced the wilderness, with hellos from a white kangaroo to singing birds. Large room with a spa, this was heaven after a half day walk along Dove Lake. It's great to relax in a comfy room set amid trees and wildlife as icing on the cake to a great day out. Woke up to a magical misty morning.

Took my own plates away; unfortunately slow service in clearing plates morning and evening.

Buffet dinner and breakfast were both done with fresh local produce, but the strawberries were sour, and the apples that I longed for non-existent- apples in Tasmania, where are they?

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a spa, great to relax tired muscles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We found the chateau very comfortable and the staff friendly and happy to help with any query. Grey Gum restaurant a la carte menu very interesting and some meals very well done but some not quite hitting the heights of one's expectations for this level of restaurant.

Room Tip: Split level King spa rooms with view of boardwalk good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Cradle Mountain is a National Park, so there is limited accommodation on the mountain, and I suppose it has to blend in with it's surroundings. The reception area is large and friendly with a log fire- needed even in Summer- it can be 20 degrees colder than in the east. The rooms are large clean and comfortable, but more middle range than chateau-like and rather old fashioned in décor. Shower room clean and functional- not luxurious. Great place to stay for access to Cradle Mountain walks.
What I would recommend is the Gum Tree ? restaurant- in the hotel. Most guests seem to use the buffet style restaurant which would suit families. However, for couples or a treat, the A la carte restaurant was beautiful. Food was well presented, delicious and with good choice. The waitress recommended a great wine and then called us as the sun set so we could take some amazing photographs. Truly lovely.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms overlook the bush. We were at the end of the corridor, so was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziehbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is quite a large hotel which provides great comfort in the pristine wilderness of Cradle Mountain Park. The hotel is well-appointed with excellent restaurant/cafes and the staff were very helpful. My only negative was the TV screen in our room, an older style encased in a cupboard which made it difficult to watch other that directly in front of it. However one does not visit this area to watch TV and the National Park surroundings rate to my mind as one of Australia's premiere attractions and are quite breathtaking. The Chateau is a great base to enjoy the wilderness surrounds.

Room Tip: Northern side looks out on bushland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hendrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
24.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
770 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
431 reviews
39.4 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Property: Cradle Mountain Hotel
Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing