We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much wasted potential...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Cradle Mountain Chateau in October 2013.
The Chateau's are in a fantastic location, and there is so much potential, but in the end, we were quite disappointed.

The rooms are very tired and old, from the carpet, to the caravan style bathrooms, to the 80-yr old bedding cover, to the tiny heater in the corner of the room (which did very little).
It felt a little like a nursing home and we were really uncomfortable which we found really unpleasant.

The buffet breakfast was plain appalling. We paid around $26-$30 each for breakfast, so I expected quality, and received flavourless food, with very little choice, and I didn't even know it was possible to ruin scrambled eggs. Buffet dinner was marginally better, but still very expensive for very minimal choice.

We ended up going to Peppers (The Lodge) for buffet breakfast every morning after our bad experience at the Chateau. It's cheaper, better and there is so much more choice at Cradle Mountain Lodge for breakfast - the staff are much friendlier too!

On our second last morning at 9am, the fire alarm went off. We all exited our rooms to witness the owner running frantically down the hall. She didn't answer any questions and instilled quite a bit of panic in the guests. We didn't know whether to evacuate or wait, gather somewhere else, and we never got an answer in the end.
It's a shamed the hotel doesn't have better management as it has such massive potential and is in such a beautiful area.

We plan to return to Cradle Mountain next year, but will certainly base ourselves at the Peppers lodge as it is better value and a much more comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Internet and phone connection is non-existant while you're up the mountain. Grab your grocerie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petrhyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice place to stay, friendly staff but the breakfast and buffet at Quolls was a bit too pricey in my opinion. We got snowed in for a day and there wasn't much to do if you didn't read or play pool but overall it was nice

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The staff were great...especially Trudy! But I have to say the rooms need to be updated. The balcony is nice looking at nature, if you don't get the car park. The food was great also. A few tours that came were in 50-60 age group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goobertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The chateau is well placed to get you into the park. Plenty of walks and scenery to die for. The hotel is dated, but in great condition and perfectly clean, comfortable and quiet. It is well appointed with WiFi and jacuzzis in the bath rooms. Lovely views and great food. Great attentive and helpful staff. A delight.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a spa suite, with a great view. Clean room, lovely meal at Gum Tree but Quolls restaurant felt and smelt like a nursing home. Not worth the $38 per person Buffett. Gallery on site also wanted to charge an additional $7 entry fee. No snacks and really not much to do if weather isn't great! Thank goodness for a great view and warm spa.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bilski81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Reception not all that flash as training new personnel, but accommodation was warm and clean and roomy, bedding very comfortable, and bathroom spotless. Room service and guest laundry facilities are available. A la carte menus for dinner were extensive and food was to die for, perhaps a little expensive, but then you are on holiday. Staff were most efficient. Every where you ventured in the hotel there was a warming log fire. From the bedroom their was smoking facility via a balcony platform from where you could view the forest and native wild life, such as birds, wallabies, echidna and wombats. Walking tracks into forest areas were numerous . For a restful almost peaceful holiday, I would recommend the single storey Cradle Mountain Chateau as the centre-point for a full holiday

Room Tip: All rooms have forest view in which you can watch native animals pass by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Big rooms very comfortable.
After a busy day exploring the mountain, this hotel is only a short drive back, just outside the park entrance.
There a few fireplaces to warm up reading a book with a nice glass of wine
Nice relaxing atmosphere all around with friendly staff.
Internet is a bit hopeless though if you really need it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruicaricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
24 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
743 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $154 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing