We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked through a discount site and were very pleased. The Chateau has numerous slow burning wood stoves throughout and this gave a very warm welcoming atmosphere. The rooms were very comfortable and the reading areas with wood heaters a lovely place to sit and look out at the bush. The meals were good; we ate at the bistro one night and the restaurant the other. After doing the boardwalk and Dove lake walk we certainly enjoyed a cold beer at the bar. The gallery is worth a visit and the entry to the exhibition was discounted for guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnneCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for Cradle Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently, the rooms were large. Bathroom was dated, bed and pillows uncomfortable and the heating in the room was insufficient. The location is great and the restaurant was fantastic with delicious food. Free wine tasting in the afternoon when we stayed and the gallery is worth a look. There is no television reception (only SBS) which didn't help with our young 18mth old. Laundry facilities esavaialble for a small fee of $3 per load.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

great place to stay, nature right at your door step. They were sanding the floors, but we spent all our time walking the trails of the national park, so this was not a problem, but you could hear noise from other rooms, The food was expensive. We found Peppers had a lovely bistro area, with log fires and the food was cheaper. The chateau was comfortable and was in a lovely location, one of the best things was the spa bath, was great after a day of trekking.The room was warm, had a good heater.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I did a bit of looking at all the accommodation in the area on line first, so I was still surprised on arrival. It is a harsh environment and it would be silly to expect everything to be spic and span.(Like new.) But, The foyer had a big warm fireplace, one in each meals area, and one at each half way point of the accommodation wings. Our was comfortable, plenty of spare blankets and pillows, great heater, ample choices on TV (If you want to was your time indoors). The bathroom could do with a freshen up, but with steamy hot showers in the cold climate, the moisture would dull the best kept places. Great choice of meals in the restaurant, and a fair range with room service. Friendly staff(most well travelled from other places working through)with a few tales to tell. Great range with the hot buffet breakfast, brewed coffee.
Great view out the window in the morning with padimelons(??) wallabies, wombats, currawongs, etc and just opposite with the gallery, Tassie devil exhibition and souvenir shop. It is the furtherest accommodation for the top car park, but that`s not a hassle. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I agree with what others have said on the dated decor. Apart from the pretty average buffet breakfast, I have nothing bad to say.
Service was wonderful, everyone was really friendly and helpful.
Dinner was delicious.
The room was warm and comfortable.
Our view was beautiful.
Cradle Mountain itself was fantastic. One the most amazing walks I have done. It comes highly recommeded from me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the carpark, otherwise your view will be...cars...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I read other reviews of Cradle Mountain Chateau before travelling. After reading those reviews, the Chateau exceeded my expectations. I would agree that the décor is somewhat dated and the rooms could do with a makeover but they are warm and comfortable. I would agree that if you can, upgrade to a loft bedroom - it is worth the few extra dollars. We had a nice bushland view and found the rooms quiet and relaxing. I could not fault the service of the establishment, staff at reception were more than happy to help with booking tours (with pick-up from the Chateau) and advising of various attractions in the area. Grey Gums restaurant is a must, reasonably priced, wonderful food and exceptional service. The facility includes a gift shop, Tasmanian Tiger exhibition and nature photography gallery, these are well worth a visit. We stayed a total of 4 nights and would recommend it.

Room Tip: I would recommend a loft room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_G255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed just 1 night and all was sensational although very quiet with few people about on a mid-week night. A room that had 2 lounge chairs and a writing desk all in wonderful timber matched the remainder of the property with old-world charm where there was Internet access alongside a library and wood fires.
Dining room served me a great dinner of Tasmanian delicacies - scallops and Tassie flathead, followed by a breakfast of perfectly done eggs benedict with smoked salmon.
Only fault with the lack of free wifi but who could complain this far out into the Tassie Wilderness.
Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
24.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
728 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
441 reviews
39.4 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $150 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing